We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Boutique Hotel! - Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somerset
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Boutique Hotel! - Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I chose to stay at “The TwentyOne” due to its great reviews on Tripadvisor. So had high expectations. These were surpassed!! Both Matt and Andy went the extra mile, nothing was too much trouble.
From arrival both ere so friendly helped us with our bags, parking and chatted about the area (where to eat, things to do) and made us a very appreciated cup of tea!
Our room (no8, good view, but lots of stairs to the top floor) was spacious and very clean; as was the whole hotel. The super-king bed was really comfy! There was lots of extra touches, which we really appreciated, complimentary robes, slippers, mini fridge with mineral water, the hospitality tray was amazing, as was the plate of mini cakes every day!!
The breakfast was also delicious A wide choice including dorset cereals.
Parking can be tricky. A permit is £6 for 24 hours, but once parked everything is in walking distance or a short taxi ride away. So you will not need to use your car at all during your stay. As this is a convenient location. Situated in a quiet side street, opposite the seafront
I would recommend shopping in “The Lanes” there are also so many places to eat here. The Royal Pavilion is interesting to visit. Walk down to the Marina or take the Volks electric train along the seafront. There really is something for everyone in Brighton. The beach (not sand unfortunately) stretches for miles. The nightlife is also great.

Our first time in Brighton ……I can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: room no8 a huge super-king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyofSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
174
1,360
129
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed with my sister in Room 7 (at the top of the house) in August 2011. We had a really enjoyable stay - the double bed was really comfortable, the room was attractive and quiet, everything was immaculate and the food was abundant and excellent. The breakfast was extra special - about 9 different freshly prepared fruits, natural yogurts and fruit smoothies, about 15 (yes 15!) different cereals to choose from, plus freshly baked croissants and a wide choice of cooked breakfasts - I really recommend the lovely egg and mushrooms on toast. Matt and Andy could not have been more welcoming and it was so lovely to be offered a glass of chilled Sauvignon Blanc (and a top-up!) as we arrived, while they discussed a map of Brighton with us, including details of local restaurants offering a discount to their guests. Room 7 is at the top of the house up a few flights of stairs (the website does make this clear); it has a good sized bathroom with a large walk in shower and a nice view of the interesting rooftops of Brighton and courtyard gardens below. There is an extremely generous supply of biscuits in the room - will power is required not to scoff them all! There is a small fridge which is stocked with complimentary mineral water and in which, on our second night, we found strawberries dipped in chocolate and freshly made rum truffles - yet another thoughtful touch!
We made good use of buses in Brighton - you can get very close to this B&B on the Number 7 from Brighton station - nearest stop on the way to the B&B is called "Rock Gardens". If you want to walk a few miles on the South Downs (well recommended for the views if you get nice weather), consider getting bus 79 to Ditchling Beacon (weekends only) and walk 7 miles to Devil's Dyke then get bus 77 back to Brighton.
South Downs Way: For anyone walking parts of the South Downs Way and using public transport (as we were), you can use this B&B as a really lovely base with 4 choices of buses to/from the SD Way depending on how far you want to walk in a day: 1) get bus 29 from Brighton Pavilion towards Lewes, getting off at Housedean Farm nr Lewes; 2) bus 2A from Old Steine to near Upper Beeding / St Botolphs; 3) bus 77 from Old Steine to Devils Dyke; 4) bus 79 to Ditchling Beacon weekends only. It's lovely to come back to this B&B at the end of a day's walk.

Room Tip: Rms 7&8 are both at the top of the house and each sleep 2. You can close a door in the stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouvard WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just about everything there is to say about The Twenty One has already been said. We
stayed for 3 nights and were so impressed with the enthusiasm of Matt and Andy. They certainly know how to look after and spoil their guests, and they equally know how to look after and maintain their home. Our room was absolutely perfect and the home made cakes
were very much appreciated.
These guys deserve all the awards they receive, and if one day we return to Brighton we will be staying at The Twenty One.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We booked our stay here through the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor, all the positive reviews are more than justified. We were greeted by Andy who made us a pot of tea, there were biscuits on offer if you choose. He then presented us with a map of the are and gave us a run down of the best places to eat, some are 10% discount if you are staying The Twenty One, and an overview of the town, great shopping etc.

There is a fridge of wine/beer/soft drinks which are all complimentary if you fancy a drink before you go out at night.

After returning from an afternoon walking the streets we came back to find four complimentary cakes in our room, a very nice touch.

The room itself was spotlessly clean with a selection of toiletries, a bath robe and slippers. There was a drinks tray with Tea,Coffee and sachets of proper milk, fantastic!. To accompany this there is a fantastic selection of chocolate,biscuits and nuts.

We were greeted for breakfast with fresh tea, coffee is also available, fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt. Matt then brought out warm croissants. The choice of hot breakfast to follow this was fantastic, everything from a full english to a salmon bagel, all local free range ingredients.

If you are going to brighton and are thinking about staying here, then do, you will not regret it for one second. If we ever find ourselves in Brighton again The Twenty One will be our first call for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I don't know what I can say that hasn't already been said. Andy and Matt obviously love their work, and they work hard to make every guest feel very special, and very welcome. From the friendly and informative reception onwards we felt that we and our comfort genuinely mattered to them. Our room was beautiful and included everything you'd expect from top class accommodation, and a lot more. The breakfasts were excellent and generous, with plenty of choice. The Dorset cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit would have been a sensible start to the day, but I'm afraid I couldn't resist the cooked breakfast as well, which cancelled out any need for lunch! Delightful little touches, like finding the home-made biscuits, sweets and cakes on our return in the evening put this place way above anywhere we've stayed before. We hope to return before long. Thanks, both!x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Matt and Andy are very accomodating and nothing seems too much trouble. They provided us with a map and info when we arrived regarding places to eat, drink and visit. Although we considered there isn't alot around Charlotte Street there are plenty of pubs and restaurants within a 10 minute walk and a 15 minute walk for places to visit (unless you want the beach which is practically on the doorstep). The overall standard of The Twenty One was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. Our only tip would be - if you want to stay in Brighton make sure it's at THE TWENTY ONE. Cheers Guys.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed here with my sister in August 2011. Andy and Matt are lovely hosts and have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into their place.

We arrived at around 9pm and were immediately offered a glass of wine while the facilities and locality were explained to us, and our bags were taken upstairs.

Our room was lovely, modern, exceptionally clean and brilliantly stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and a massive range of sweet treats. Much more generous than any place I've ever stayed before. The shower room was modern and a really good size.

The breakfasts start at a humane time (8.30) and are brilliant. Everything you could ask for is there and the only danger is you could over-fill yourself and be incapable of movement for the rest of the day!

All in all, this is a fabulous place. I would love to stay there again and I can recommend it wholeheartedly.

Please note: The house is a typical townhouse and so the rooms are on various floors up several flights of stairs. That didn't bother me at all but is something to be aware of for those with dicky tickers.

Matt and Andy deserve every success and every good review. Fabulous!

Room Tip: This is a typical townhouse building so some rooms are up quite a few stairs. If you struggle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing