We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We dont usually return to a hotel more than once, as we like to travel around, and visit different places, but......

This was our third visit here, and as usual everything was perfect, in fact so good, that we will be back next year as well
Important things for us, Cleanliness, Bathroom, Shower power, Bed Linen, Breakfast all hit the spot, the room (3) Smelled gorgeous and fresh when we went through the door.
We were greeted with tea & cakes, while our hosts went through the best Restaurants to visit while we were in Brighton.
These two guys are doing a very good job here, and have hit the perfect balance of being good hosts, while not fussing too much.
The Strawberrys in chocolate which were left in our fridge each afternoon were a lovely treat when you returned form a day out.

Thanks for a great holiday Matt & Andy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,021
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
177
1,379
131
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a weekends break in Brighton and upon leaving the twenty one we had to book to return again. It is the little touches at this B&B that make it so speacial. Cakes in the room for afternoon tea, a delightful treat tray to tuck into when ever you feel like it and the host are just fantastic they make you feel like part of the family rather than a guest. Matt and Andy just can't do enough for you to ensure your stay is memorable. The rooms are very comfortable and unique and the breakfast is just amazing, the best full English I've ever had. If you go to Brighton don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

If want to stay at the best place in Brighton, Twenty One is it, and Matt and Andy are the guys that make sure it happens!!! The Twenty One sets the benchmark which all other hotels and B&B should aspire to. Matt and Andy make each guest feel special and everything about this B&B is done on a personal level. The exquisite toiletries in each en-suite through to the well stocked hospitality tray in each room, make it a pleasure to return to your room each day. Breakfast is cooked and presented to perfection, and it's just a shame that it's the only meal you can get there!!!! The only negative is eventually having to check out!!!!! Do yourself a favour and make sure you pick the Twenty One for your stay, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and I had such a pleasant stay here. Matt and Andy are delightful and really go above and beyond. They take such great pride in running the B&B and it shows through the spotless bedrooms, amazing breakfast, and making sure guests have a good idea of what Brighton has to offer. We highly recommend The Twenty One!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlegrl401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatochatter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This place is a gem. The service, efficiency and kindness of its owners Andy and Max is exceptional. They're superb professionals. They give good tips - and will help you make the best of Brighton. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable - though bathrooms small - but we didn't care - you have the possibility of doing tea/coffee/chocolate etc in your room. Breakfasts are very good - Most important it is a beautiful town-house in a quiet street in Brighton, close to the sea, that has been tastefully decorated. Great value - we felt like if we were at home from the first moment. It's an excellent place to spend a week-end in Brighton. You can park on the boulevard very close to the house for little money. Our room was #8, all way to the top, no elevator - quiet, very comfortable bed, you can glimpse the sea at the end of the street - a typical Brighton view. You can park the car in the boulevard, close to the house, for very little money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatochatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for one night in May and absolutely loved it - completely agree with all the other fantastic reviews. The room (Room 3) was amazing, the owners both fantastic, and we loved the breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC2011_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Twenty one while we were in Brighton. It is a great place to stay and relax. The owners of this place were great hosts. They were warm, friendly and helpful. The room provided to us was clean, beautiful, decorated, well ventilated, well aerated, large and comfortable. The bed was soft and cozy. There was a supply of chocolate bars, wine, beer, soft drinks, mineral water, cakes, etc which were replaced whenever we finished them off. The breakfast served was great and had a variety of delicacies in it. This is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saisoto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing