We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 5, 2007

This small hotel is an absolute delight and Andy and Matt work so hard to make it special. Nothing is too much trouble to them. Andy even moved his car when we arrived so we could use his parking space and not have to look for one in the next street. The Twenty One is within easy walking distance of everywhere you want to visit in Brighton but is at the quiet end of the front. We stayed in the Victorian Room at it was lovely with some special touches that turn a stay into a delight - large white fluffy towels, long bath, really hot water, powerful shower and bottles of water supplied. These 2 guys deserve to make this place a success, its not luck that puts it in the top rankings but sheer hard work and great customer service. Not only do they make you so welcome they are also great restaurant guides! We wanted a special anniversary meal and they suggested Havana -great food and great venue, we would never have found it ourselves. Wonderful very short one night stay but we will be back. Even the rain couldn't dampen the warmth this hotel generates.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2007

We stayed at "The Hotel Twenty One" with our niece to celebrate (very aptly) her "21st" birthday,and couldn't have wished for a nicer place!

We felt spoilt rotten with luxuries of soft white towels,beautiful bedlinen and a t.v./d.v.d. with a choice of films!

The decor and cleanliness is impeccable! I just wish I could persuade Andy and Matt to come home with me and transform my house!

An absolute delight to stay,where two such hospitable and helpful guys make your stay seem effortless,which is due to sheer dedication and honest hard work!

Thanks for making us feel so welcome,comfortable and at home.Our whole family can't wait to return!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank C0untrybumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We have just returned home to Canada after experiencing our very first trip to England where we took up residence for two weeks at The Twenty One in Brighton. I use the word 'residence' deliberately, as we came to feel that The Twenty One was a home away from home - our hosts, Matt and Andy, made us feel so very welcome and so very special - they really seemed to care that our holiday be a good one. Our room was delightful with its wonderful bay windows from which we could see the water. The king size bed and the linens were luxurious, and the added touches of the snack tray and the water made us feel very pampered. The breakfasts are worth a review on their own! Guests have daily choices of fruits, pastries, juices and cereals and!!! the most wonderful hot items cooked to order by Andy. As we became more familiar with Brighton and the surrounding area, we came to really appreciate the location of The Twenty One - it is well within walking distance of everything, including the train station (a beautiful 20 minute walk), however, it is also just far enough away from the busier entertainment sections of town so that you feel a distinct 'calm and quiet' when you return there at night. We will have no hesitation at all in recommending The Twenty One to any of our Canadian friends or family members who may be considering a trip to England.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LearnerWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Twenty One was the best choice we have ever made in Brighton, and we have seen several other hotels in the town. What distinguishes The Twenty One from all the others is that you really have the feeling of being a welcomed guest. The two hosts – Matt and Andy – are so lovely and have done so many efforts to create such a nice place to stay. The rooms are very tidy and nicely arranged. The breakfast is cooked freshly by Andy every morning for each guest. Therefore it tastes much better than in other hotels. I had never liked the English breakfast before, but now I know how good it can be. Thank you, Andy, for changing my opinion on this.
Moreover, the location of The Twenty One is excellent. It is situated in a calm side road in Kemptown, a very friendly and tolerant part of Brighton. However, it’s just a five minutes walk from the Brighton Pier and only a few more minutes to all the other Brighton attractions.

All in all, my boyfriend and I would have liked to have stayed longer than four nights. We will definitely come back the next time we visit Brighton!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Titas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Matt and Andy proved to be the perfect hosts. Thier establihment offers great comfort and service. The rooms are finished to an excellent standard and have all the little extras included. It will be my first choice when I visit Brighton in future.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank rayBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Matt & Andy were particularly helpful during our stay and made us very welcome on our first trip to Brighton

As a couple we stayed in the Victorian double, which was of excellent quality and very large. The breakfast was very nice and there was lots of choice.

We will defintely choose this hotel again when we go back.

The complimentary kit-kats were a great bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RobAndEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

The Twenty One is an excellent hotel, close enough to the centre of town and the pier but far enough away to be quiet. Andy and Matt were great hosts, giving us direction, guidance and a couple of hearty breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were in Brighton with our 2 teenage children. Our rooms were side by side, perfect to keep an eye on our kids.

We would highly recommend The Twenty One.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BCDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $100 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing