We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact & Bijou!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #11 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Compact & Bijou!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

If you are happy to stay in a room with a double bed, squeezed into a single room, then Room 5 is for you.

We, I have to say were not. The room is so small and with two people in it, very difficult to manouvre. The walk in shower is lovely but only houses the toilet. The sink is in the bedroom with a frosted mirror about it which makes it very difficult to see yourself in it. Also there are no splash back tiles, so there are water stains on the walls. This was surprising as it was a recently refurbished room.

The blind, amazingly, does not even cover the entire window. So each night my husband used the hand towels and my hair grips to extend the drop!

The wooden floor creaks terribly - if one of you gets up in the night, the other person is guaranteed to be awoken! The television reception was poor and missing two channels which I had to tune in myself.

The room was very hot and after a sleepless night we had to request a fan from the owner. Getting ready for a night out in these conditions, using hair dryer, straighteners etc was challenging to say the least.

On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable, although no head board is present. The L'Octaine toiletries are a nice touch and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

The full english breakfast is divine and cannot be faulted. It was lovely having a very leisurely breakfast with a selection of daily newspapers.

The location of the hotel was convenient for a short walk into the town and pier and very adjacent to the seafront.

Our tip for parking is to arrive at the hotel, unload and then park your car out of town and then get the bus back in.

If you are going to stay here for any length of time, be sure to book a larger room and then you will have no complaints.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peewee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    181
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
345
54
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

Small boutique hotel - with great fun friendly staff and owner. Fab location right by the sea and night life but quiet street -so can get some zzzzz... Gorgeous slightly wacky breakfast/bar area for chilling with the papers in the morning over a really good breafast and also enjoying a cocktail in the evening :)

Also lots of lovely local art work on display to admire!

Loved it as can walk everywhere from there and even order a massage or pamper in your room if you fancy!

Will definitely be going again especially if they start some regulars discounts :)

  • Liked — friendly staff great location
  • Disliked — No garden -but close to the sea!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank penniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

it was my husband's birthday, and brighton seemed like a cool place to go. We had a large room at the front on the top floor which was spacious, light and had a great bed (best night's sleep i've had in ages, and not just because we didn't have the kids!) the room had a huge shower, and the occitane products were yummy. the owners recommended some great places for lunch and dinner, and even reserved us a table for dinner when we booked our room.
We chose to have breakfast in bed - croissants, jam and fresh coffee, but enjoyed drinks in the bar in the evening and the cooked breakfast menu looked good.
Overall the hotel is not your average bed and breakfast and the decorations are as far from chintz and toilet roll dollies as you can get. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archwaybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Sept 22nd 2006 (one night)
60 Pound / night

My boyfriend and I have decided to put this into good/not so good format. We’re both fairly tall, he is 6ft and I’m 5.8” and we’re both 29 years old.

Good:
-Very old, nice looking hotel.
-Really nice staff.
-Small boutique like hotel (probably no more than 50 rooms)
-Café downstairs with breakfast included in the price. Breakfast was great.
-They give you L’Occtaine products for the shower, that was a very nice touch!
-The bed was comfortable, but overall the room was really squishy!
-Not that close to train station. If you have a few bags, I would catch a cab. Definitely within walking distance with a backpack
-Walking distance to the South Leigns (the main area of Brighton) and very close to the beach! Not necessarily the pier, but that too is definitely within walking distance away. The Oriental hotel is close to a less touristy (near the beach huts) end of the beach, which I’m sure is great in the heat of summer.

Not so Good:
-There is a fridge in the room (can’t remember if there was a safe, I don’t think so)
-The room was too small. We had a room with a shower and toilet, but man they squish that into that room! The shower is surrounded by carpet as well as the toilet. And the door can hardly open to the ensuite without hitting the shower.

I would probably stay here again

  • Liked — the free L'Occtaine products and free water bottles
  • Disliked — the squish room and the wet carpet around my shower
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAussieCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing