We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This guest house tried hard but failed to...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #11 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This guest house tried hard but failed to...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

This guest house tried hard but failed to deliver given the price charged for the "luxury" room. The room was clearly meant to look quite up-market but scratch the surface and it certainly didn't justify the cost. The TV remote didn't work at all, the reading lights above the bed were on the verge of falling off, the headboard was ripped and the shower was either freezing or scalding hot! Breakfast was a lottery on the Saturday morning with insufficient seating and the landlady forgetting orders and the food taking a long time to arrive. If the cost had been £75 per night instead of £115 we could have ignored the niggles but as it was this was quite poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    181
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
345
54
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The rooms at the Oriental are great, bright, clean and beautifully presented. The area is a little 'colourful' with some of the neighbours being a little unusual but that is Brighton!
Seating for breakfast could be seriously improved. Parking can be a problem but there is a secure car park that is available not far away, they will phone the Oriental to check someone is there to meet you, which saves you sitting on the doorstep!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Oriental for two nights. Arriving at the hotel in the afternoon we were soon greeted by a very friendly young chap, who helped my partner with finding a local car park and then marked out LOADS of places of interest and restaurants on a map for me (he also carried our many bags up for us too). So I was initially very impressed with the friendly staff, the 'funky' little bar/breakfast area. First impressions upon entering our room were also good, sadly, that didn't last long.
Some of the plus sides: Fun rooms, cool little bar, very friendly staff, staff knowledge is great too which lead to a few amazing meals, good location allowing you to walk along the beach into town. Good breakfast.
Down Side: VERY disappointing shower; did not drain so had to stop when it reached the top of the basin, didn’t get hot, partner had to stand in my dirty water. This happened after a week of camping through france, the campsites had better showers! Dusty room, remote for TV dead, sloped floors. light behind bed loose on its hindges etc.
The places really needs some love and some professionals to keep it looking good. I reaalise its an old building, but if the plumbing is no good you shouldn't advertise the room. Poor response to complaint about the shower. they were nice, but I wanted some money back!
The Breakfast was very good, but again poorly organised. Not enough tables for all the guests and every morning you would have people loitering awaiting for a table, while the breakfast took ages to come out for the seated guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lad_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

I think the photos should be treated with caution on the website, as the rooms look deceptively roomy in them, you couldn't really swing a cat in the rooms. The room we had was tastefully decorated but was starting to look tired and could do with a new lick of paint. The showers the website rave about weren't anything special- (the bathroom is literally a box room- so much so the sink is in your bedroom.)
Good points- the breakfast was tasty and had a good vegi option. The location was amazing, and literally 7 minute walk to Brighton Centre (which was why we came to Brighton for the night.)
But looking at it as a whole, not entirely sure it could quite justify the 90 quid price tag that came with it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby_storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

This property is without a doubt one of the most unpleasant places I have stayed in my life and could not recommend this to anyone.

Walking towards the property on arrival, it was clear that although it is within 150 metres of the seafront, it is not in a pleasant residential street but a very run down road full of bedsits which is a hot spot for the homeless to congregate. This place feels more like a backpackers hostel than a boutique establishment and at best could be described as a run down B&B in need of a refurbishment and a very good clean. The whole place has been developed on the cheap so the power sockets wobble when you plug things in, the headboards are coming away from the wall and the bathroom door doesn't shut fully.

As soon as we walked in we were hit by an unpleasant smell of drains. The bedroom itself was fine in terms of size but only had one sash window in the bedroom which was painted shut and therefore the room had no ventilation. The toilet hadn't been cleaned and was spattered with excrement. The spa bath has 3 tiled steps to climb up to which are nothing short of a health and safety hazard.

We were charged £160 to stay in this place for 1 night. Do not stay here - Brighton has so much more to offer than this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketinsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Readers should draw their own conclusion from this review as it seems so different to others. Clearly the Oriental was not to this guest's taste and we regret that they did not enjoy their stay. For the record
- Oriental Place is a grade II* listed terrace built in the 1830's with some beautiful features and some colourful characters living on the street reflecting Brighton as a whole.
- We are not aware of any smell of drains.
- The room in question does not have wobbly sockets, but bear in mind the plaster in which it lies dates back to 1830.
- the headboard is firmly fixed to the wall but is not flush to the wall to allow for the fixings behind.
- the sliding glass bathroom door does close properly.
- the windows in this and every room open. However they are quite large and thus heavy so we have fitted handles to the window in case any guests experience problems in the future. There are 2 further windows in the bathroom of this room providing ventilation.
- All the rooms are cleaned thoroughly prior to guests arrival and we would be very surprised if the toilet had not been cleaned properly as alleged but very much regret this if indeed this was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

The Oriental is what I would expect from a boutique hotel - original artwork on the walls, lovely carpets, quirky furniture, excellent finish!

The hotel is on a quiet street just off the seafront. Walk down the hill to the seaside or up the hill to the shopping streets. It's located on the Hove side of Brighton city centre, which makes it easy to see all the beautiful regency-style buildings. We arrived into Brighton on train and walked to the hotel, although in hindsight we should have got a taxi.

The owner was very helpful before and during our stay. She recommended some places to eat and drink and she gave us a map and pointed out what to see and do. The hotel was full, yet she managed to give every couple the same level of attention.

We'd love to stay at the oriental again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWPDWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I found this Guest House very misleading! Website and reviews looked great! This guest house certainly up sells itself. Everything is up sold by describing it as boutique, luxury, Italian etc.

From walking into the guest house everything looked dated with very poor paint work. Our room the Luxury Boutique twin room (room 1) was scuffed, small and of very bad quality. Both headboards were coming off the wall, toilet looked like it might have been an airing cupboard once - shower described as wall in shower and italian curved sink was v poor. Shower flooded the floor as curtain didnt reach floor, heated towel rail was in the shower cubile and taps to shower were loose. solid wooden floor was coming apart and in the toilet was packed in with rolled toilet roll. Toilet had stains on floor and up walls, also looked like the toilet bowl hadnt had a great clean. Carpet in room was coming up and didnt look too clean!

The bedroom was small and L shaped - marks on walls, poor furniture and poor lay out - not good for 95 quid!

Oh bathroom shaving mirror was on the wall upside down and was from ikea - mirror in room was also falling apart. Everything here was ikea which there is nothing wrong with but certainly think boutique is over doing the descriptions!

Neighbourhood - quite scary! approached by a guy who was quite scary lived next door but one - few strange people walking around too! Lots of rough looking bedsits

Hotel was fine for a cheaper stay but dont believe pics or boutique listings! Not worth 90 per night - more like 50!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing