We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #11 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in room 8 at The Oriental. It has been recently renovated to a great standard and you get used to the stairs : ) Mark, Jarvis and Aidan were so helpful. Always happy to provide recommendations and printing out directions when necessary. During check-in I was offered a seat, cup of tea and a sweet treat which I thought was a wonderful touch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsashark-124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    181
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
345
54
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great staff and service. Stayed in Room 6 the Superior Double which has sea views if you stick your head out of the window :-). Has a good lounge sofa/ diwan and the best part was the service. They offered us Breakfast in Bed (which was yum) and an extended check out when we said we were their for my wife's bday. A good little gesture from them which I really appreciated. The bathroom had a jacuzzi too and was a great way to relax after all the walking around the City Centre. Parking could be a problem there as street parking is REALLY expensive on the street right outside the hotel, however the nearest Car Parks are just a 5 min walk away. The beach is also just a couple of mins walk from the hotel. There are good restaurants too in walking distance (less than 5 mins)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shab81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful and trendy boutique hotel.Breakfast was amazing, with so much choice.Rooms spotlessly clean with all the amenities you need .Hosts Lola and Jarvis could not do enough for their guests . From arranging champagne in the room to organising spa treatments!. Definitely the place to stay in Brighton for long or short term stays.Great value for money

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Superior Suite. Amazing luxery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I often work away from home and find it very uncomftable at times to chill out when your on your own, The Oriental Made me feel relaxed and chilled, after a hard day at work with a welcoming complimentry coffee and cup cake, Jarvis was the perfect host. i would recommend The Oriental to any person working away as this truley is a perfect place to stay.
thanks to all the team at the Oriental.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Such a warm and friendly greeting from Lola - she made up feel completely relaxed and offered us great advice on where to visit while staying in Brighton. Our room was fabulous and we so enjoyed the jacuzzi. Jarvis is such a great guy and served us up a delicious breakfast. We didn't want to leave but of course had to. Congratulations to you both on the way you run your great hotel abd we would certainly recommend people to stay at your place.

Room Tip: We had room 6... fab room and would want to stay in it the next time down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquiR-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahrensburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Congratulations for my choice!Never had expected to meet such helpful,friendly people running a guesthouse.Unconventinal but very professional staff,fresh and tidy furnishing and lovely atmosphere.Breakfast yummy and prepared of excellent products.The only hard bite for me :on weekends starting at 9.00h. I am an early bird!But you can get a box with some goodies in advance,lovingly arranged .I was very happy with my room(single) ,though it was quite small (but not too)Roomservice was immaculate.Location ideal for town and excursons, by either train or bus.Quiet location!If you like to feel better than at home and don`t need a butler:try it!I will come again. Carry on like this:my thoughts to the staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joachim_EAhrensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

As soon as we arrived at The Oriental, we were immediately made to feel at home. Thanks to Jarvis who told us places to visit & eat & drink and which ones to stay away from. Thanks to Mark at breakfast time. The breakfast was delicious, particularly the fruit burst. The vegetarian breakfast was good too. We would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Brighton and will definitely stay at The Oriental on our next trip down there.

Room Tip: The road facing rooms are not too noisy. We stayed in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing