We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay in this boutique hotel - its now a favourite in Brighton”
Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #13 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Andrew and Jenna, front of house team, were incredibly friendly and a great advert for this small and intimate boutique hotel. Lovely bar area and great location - a stones throw from the seafront and gentle stroll to the centre of Brighton.

Our room was finished off to a very high standard with an emphasis on design and comfort.
Great organic breakfast.

Parking is tricky in the area, but there are pay and display outside and a secure carpark nearby. £6 taxi fair from the station.

Room Tip: our room was a superior double with gorgeous white leather chaise lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarenasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 681 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the first point of contact, where Andrew was both helpful and accommodating, we were perfectly looked after by the staff at The Oriental. The room was delightful and appealed to both my 18 year old daughter and me. We had delicious cooked breakfasts, vegetarian and non-vegetarian, and didn't need lunch as a consequence!
We will definitely use The Oriental when we next visit Brighton!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I chose this hotel because it was one of the only places in that area with any rooms left! However, I was pleasantly surprised by the location, cleanliness, quirkiness, and good food on offer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Thanks also to the great staff, for all their assistance, good conversation, and extra chocolates!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y2LVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Staying at the Oriental Hotel enabled us to spend a really nice time with our family. The friendly, attentive and professional service offered us everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Brighton. The location couldn't be better- a stones throw from the seafront, stroll to the shops and restaurants. The breakfasts are the best anywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I booked two nights at the Oriental as a part of a surprise trip to Brighton for my girlfriend’s birthday and have to say that I was disappointed and felt completely ripped off. I’ve never reviewed a hotel before but felt compelled to on this occasion.

On arrival about 3.30pm (after check-in time), we were told our room was not ready as the television was being fixed, and were offered complimentary cocktail voucher by way of apology by the friendly female staff member. As the wait was estimated to be an hour or so, we decided to get changed in the toilet, leave our bags with reception to be taken up to the room, and just head into town for the evening. No big deal.

When we arrived back about 10pm we were told by a male staff member that the TV could not be fixed, but were given another complimentary cocktail voucher and to find two bottles of wine in the room and to take a DVD to watch. While the TV was not a major deal, the DVD player did not work either and the wi-fi was incredibly slow, which was annoying as we had come back early-ish to enjoy the room. The complimentary wine was cheap and nasty, and glasses dirty.

The bad first impression was topped off by the fact that the room was not at all what I expected from the pictures online and frankly I felt embarrassed as my girlfriend had been so excited about this surprise weekend away together. Located at top of the steep staircase, the room (number 8) had more of backpacker hostel and than boutique hotel feel, with water damage on the wall and ceiling, incredibly creaky floorboards, cheap furnishings and shabby decor. Drunken shouting/cursing from the rough bedsits and backpacker hostel in the street below woke us up throughout both nights, and there was simply nothing you could consider luxury about the place.

After breakfast the next morning (pretty good, but incredibly long wait – 50 minutes!) we were out for the entire day, yet the TV was still not fixed on our return. To be honest, we probably wouldn’t have watched more than an hour or two the whole weekend, but at the high room rates, you expect amenities to be working.

Before heading out that evening we decided to use our two complimentary cocktail vouchers in the bar, and were faced with incredibly rude service by the guy there, who basically snatched one of the vouchers from us, saying we were only entitled to one – despite him giving it to us in the first place! He proceeded to be very argumentative and put us in a bad mood for my girlfriend’s birthday night out.

We faced another incredibly long wait for breakfast the next morning and left feeling pretty unhappy and ripped off. We’re certainly not fussy people and have stayed in our fair share of hostels while travelling, but this is definitely the most we’ve paid for bad service. The terms luxury and boutique are completely misleading for the Oriental - we won’t be returning and won’t be recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Comfy beds and tasty breakfast, but mixed servive, misleading website and overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HanGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The memory foam mattresses are great, as is the locally sourced organic breakfast. The staff really do aim to please and are ready to be flexible with arrangements for breakfast to suit clients' situations.

Room Tip: the luxury double room is a little short of space for 2 people, but the memory foam mattress is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spend four nights in the Oriental .It's a very small hotel, but very cosy.We
loved our stay in this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated in modern style without detracting from the old world charm of the hotel. The whole stuff was friendly and obliging.
Next stay in Brighton will certainly  be at the Oriental !

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,542 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelirocco
Hotel Pelirocco
#5 of 43 in Brighton
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $86 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing