We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, cosy and modern B&B.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oriental
Ranked #11 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming, cosy and modern B&B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice and warm welcome. Typical house from Brighton narrow and high (no lift and narrow stairs!). The rooms are modern, clean and large. I would recommend the room Nr 4 for its high ceiling and light. Can be noisy because of the seagulls having late chats on the roof. Great breakfast. To be really recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    179
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
59
344
53
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

wonderful staffl, great atmosphere, perfect location and minimalist decor gets my stars. it would have been great to have an ipod dock or be able to connect it to the television.

super plus for free upgrade and keeping the kitchen open for breakfast when we confused the times and did i say fabulous staff already. will def be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Friendliness and personal attention of staff. Ensure guests arrival and comfort.Excellent service!Breakfast , fantastic and great proportions. Decor arty and tasteful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanmeringue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

On arrival we were given a warm welcome from Andrew. Immediately we felt at ease, and delighted that after much searching of the numerous hotels in Brighton (the trip was a birthday present from me to my husband) that I had indeed chosen the best place to stay.
We had the superior double room with balcony: beautifully furnished, fantastic bed (incredibly comfortable, floaty!), and thoughtful touches throughout the room (particulary the premixed aromatherapy oil to go on the aromatherapy light).
Breakfast not only accommodated our dietary requirements (organic free range eggs, otherwise vegan) but was delicious, and the organic fruit salad to start, a wonderful refreshing touch.
All three of the staff we met were obviously happy to be working at The Oriental, which when we've stayed in larger places in Brighton, has not been the case.
We didn't want to leave.......

Room Tip: Book the balcony room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Oriental is a small boutique hotel ideally located just off th e main sea front. Easy walking to all Brighton has to offer. Very friendly and helpful owner/staff. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. Bedroom 6 - quirky and nice, good size and comfortable matress.
Excellent small hotel for short break. Advice packs in bedrooms good idea for local restuarants and shopping etc.
Will stay again if visiting Brighton

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Framesnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo_Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Andrew and Jannah, You're super! You made our stay so enjoyable. The Oriental is a very cozy guesthouse. My colleague and I enjoyed our stay and loved the extremely comfortable beds. The staff is very helpful and so nice. The breakfast is amazingly delicious. If you want a cozy comfortable hotel in Brighton, go for the Oriental! It is really worth it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiraCairo_Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

My partner and I stayed for 4 days / 3 nights in March 2011.
Our room was very small and at the back of the hotel, there was a single desk in front of the window, a wardrobe next to that and a sink the other side, everything was crammed into one corner. The room lacked shelves / surfaces to put our belongings on and it was a little hard to manoeuvre around each other. Even though it was March the room was very warm but that didn’t bother us too much. The kettle lead was 6 inches long and was not long enough to make a cup of tea on the desk, we had to boil it on the floor which was possibly a health a safety risk. The shower room was very small and the shower lacked water pressure. The room just about passed as sufficient for our needs but we were only using it as a base as we were in Brighton for a convention.
Breakfast left a lot to be desired: our first morning we had to leave the hotel early but breakfast wasn’t served until 9am, as we had paid for breakfast we asked if we could have it early, we could not. They did agree to make us up a breakfast bag to take with us which we thought was a fair compromise but then when we got up the next morning they had forgotten our breakfast. We thought this was as a one off but had problems the next morning too. Again we had to leave the hotel fairly early (for a Sunday) by 9.30am but thought we would have more than enough time for breakfast and wondered down to the dining room a few minutes early at 8.50am. Breakfast took nearly an hour to arrive, there was no explanation or apology and we were late for our convention. We had more problems with breakfast on our final morning, I specifically requested a cooked breakfast with no tomatoes as I am allergic to them and breakfast arrived smothered in tomatoes.. I also do not think a full English breakfast should come with single rasher of bacon.
I am not a fussy or picky person but surely breakfast is the easiest meal to get right?
So although the hotel was in a convenient location, had some quirky décor and we were able to come and go as we pleased we were the ones who made our stay and it was the convention which made our trip memorable. An ok hotel if you are in Brighton for a leisurely trip but not one to stay in if you have somewhere to be at a certain time, at least not if you want breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMOSSCRUMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
We are very sorry that these guests experienced some problems during their stay. They booked a small luxury double room which is small (as described) but not unduly so for Brighton and we were unable to upgrade them to a larger room as the only one available was on a higher floor and one of the guests had mobility issues. The room has a wardrobe and floor to ceiling shelves that are usually fine for our guests' needs. The shower room benefits from a large walk in shower although, as in all our luxury double rooms, the basin is located in the room.
We had a new member of staff serving breakfast that weekend and clearly some errors were made for which we apologise and which we trust have now been eradicated. We do normally serve breakfast earlier for guests if we can to accommodate their needs if its within a reasonable time and although in this case the packed breakfast was not provided the night before, it was provided for the guests in the morning on departure. Once again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to the guests in this instance and we aim to ensure a far better quality of breakfast service in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing