We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service”
Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #14 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel, great location and very friendly helpful staff. I stayed in this hotel as part of a business trip. The hotel and rooms were very clean and service was great. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_vn_sando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 681 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated and had everything we required. We only saw one woman who worked there during our stay, but she was really friendly and helpful, and we met the cleaner/cook briefly and he was so sweet and also helpful. The dining room was also really beautiful and the music set a really calm feel. It was great value for money, and so close to the town and seafront. Really would recommend this to anyone, am so pleased we stayed there and definitely going again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebird_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We have just got back from our stay in Brighton and our 2 night stay at The Oriental and i must say that we have no regrets whatsoever! It was a great little hotel! I had read a few negative reviews on here but decided to take a gamble as it looked so good and the majority of the reviews were positive. Firstly I would like to say try not to pay too much attention to the negative reviews as these are clearly v picky people! The rooms were small, but not too small for us. The decor was lovely and the bed was comfy. Yes the floor is a bit noisy when you walk on it but personally this is not something that bothered us and it is wooden floor so it is to be expected! Also somebody said that the windows were old and rattly- commonly known as character. The windows are original but again they kept the noise out (it's not exactly on the busiest street) and although the paint was wearing a bit thin these are not factors that affected our stay at all! The staff are friendly and helpful and inviting. The location was good, close to everything we needed and breakfust was plentiful and kept us full until dinner in the evening.
We will continue to frequent this hotel on our future trips to Brighton, an excellent choice.
P.S Also they do not charge for the bottled water in your room and the WIFI access is free- an absolute rareity!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbinsmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Checked out some of the reviews floating around about The Oriental and still really liked the look and value. Booked 2 nights (just before the weekend to not face any rush/busy times). It's very easy to get to, walking distance, very close to the sea front, on a quiet road (doesn't go up hill much at all, either!)
Got inside and was greeted by Steph who has to be the best host we've ever met! (seriously!). Made us feel exceptionally welcome! So warming, friendly, easy going, honest - We felt at ease to query anything at any time.
The nature of our stay was a romantic, cosy, exploring, shopping, drinking/bars type one. Steph asked us this and then showed us where's good to go and also where not to go! The recommended restaurants were lovely!
The hotel has a very cosy, chic and modern feel. We were in one of the rooms on the second floor. Lovely and warm (contrast to the outside wet and cold), plenty of room (can easily store short stay suitcases/travel bags under the bed out the way). Open wardrobe with enough hangers and folded clothes storage for the both of us. En-suite bathroom, very modern and large shower space.
The reception area is also the bar and breakfast area.
Breakfast was perfect - you can choose what you want from the menu - either light (cereal), healthy (fruit + yoghurt + honey.. yum!) and a fry up - with a veggie option. Hot and cold drinks of course and a choice of daily newspapers available to read.
The bar is small but you can sit in the lounge area where Steph or James will bring your drinks over. If you like cocktails, just name it and it will be in front of you waiting to be consumed! An special touch - I asked if we could have the drinks in our room and handsome James happily brought it up to us. You can either pay up front for the drinks or pay at the end of the stay when you check out (I took the latter option).
My partner was unable to make it to breakfast one morning (very tired!) and I was able to order for the both of us in time and have it delivered to our room - another special touch!
Going out - Steph and James will happily order you a cab or help make reservations to anywhere upon request.
I would definitely stay here again and plan on doing so. I recommend it for couples, friends or even if it's just one of you.
Please note, I'm petite (e.g height and build of Cheryl Cole.. but that's the only visual similarities, haha) so you may need to take this into account when I've described spaces etc.
Treat the place as how you would like to be treated and you can't go wrong!
Oh one more thing.. Steph makes the Best Strawberry Mojito's ever!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Pleasingly different yet reassuringly homely. Everyone was friendly and helpful, breakfasts were great and cocktails were authentic!!

Spent three months there and if you have to be away from home not a bad place to be!!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Excellent service from the moment I arrived. James and Steph on reception, and Caterine the proprieter were welcoming, helpful and very friendly. They all had great local knowledge for eating, drinking and recreational facilities, and nothing was too much trouble.
My room was clean, well presented and had everything I needed. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast offered a good choice ranging from organic 'detox' solutions to an excellent full english fry up...that I can heartily recommend.
Looking at other peoples' reviews, I was worried that the area was perhaps not the most salubrious part of Brighton; However, I found the area quiet, clean and safe. The location was ideal for the Brighton Conference Centreliterally a 5 minutes stroll along the sea front.
The Pavillion, Lanes, and Pier were within a 10-15 minute walk of the Oriental.
All in all a very enjoyable stay in a hotel with great ambience. I look forward to returning at some point, and would have no hesitation in recommending the Oriental to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

This hotel was fantastic!
When we arrived we were very warmly greeted by a very friendly woman who offered to help us with our bags, after checking in she showed us to our roomm me and my friend had room number 4 which is the suite with the balcony. The hotel was super clean and beautifully decorated and it smelt divine! when we got to our room it was spotless and quiet, the bathroom was gorgeous and extremely roomy, it had a beautiful white leather chaise lounge. the bed i think was memory foam, it was soo comfy! the duvet and pillows were crisp white and made from down so they were really comfy too!
the 3 sash windows opened fully so you could step out on the balcony where there was a little tabel and chairs with a gorgeous view of the sea. the road was nice and quiet both in the day and at night!
great coffee and tea making facilities with a huge selection of tea's from green tea to earl grey. the room was beautifully decorated with high ceilings.
The breakfast was to die for, fresh fruit with yoghurt and fresh coffee with a full english breakfast cooked to perfection and a paper too!

all members of staff we met were friendly and couldnt do enough for you, this hotel is a real gem and i will be staying here again! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfsdeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
2.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $87 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing