We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and friendly”
Review of The Lanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lanes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a rather old fashioned Hotel on the sea front, however, the bed rooms are very comfortable with large beds and lovely sheets and pillows, buffet breakfast is provided and there is a downstairs lounge for meeting friend or just relaxing. A late night bar is available to end the evening. Sea view from some rooms, but all are excellent. Friendly staff and a come again atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 339 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice Hotel with very limited onsite parking ( although mentioned in any booking site you can use ). The room we had ( Sea view and a balcony ) was nice although a tiny little bit dated. A bit over priced for what you get and the be honest, the Breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had. Nice location, nice staff and easy access to town and the marina both being a about a 10 min walk. Overall 7/10.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for my 20th birthday, we had a room on the 4th floor which was a family room with 3 double beds.
The staff are absolutely amazing the lady behind the front desk can't remember her name was so helpful she knew all the best places to go gave us advise and so on.. Hotel was very clean, lift is dodgy thought I was going to get stuck but that's just minor.. The hotel is a smoking hotel to our surprise but worked out brilliant for us as we are all smokers but did not at all smell of stale smoke.. Location is good it's pretty much opposite the Brighton pier but not to close, nightlife I would recommend getting a cab there and back as We walked it home and it was around half an hour walk.. Breakfast in the morning is awful but what do you expect for a b&b! Overall was very pleased with this hotel and staff would definitely go back there on my next visit to Brighton!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiep76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed as a party of 15 on a Hen weekend and the location and facilities at The Lanes was excellent for what we needed. Four of us stayed in one of the family rooms which had a fantastic sea view ( a real wow factor when we walked in) via 3 large windows. The room was comfortable and clean and we slept well in the beds which had lovely crisp white linen. The staff are friendly and very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we all got free parking at the front of the hotel, which was appreciated as it's expensive to pay to park nearby. The hotel is only a short walk to the pier and all the nightlife so in an excellent position.
We did think the breakfast was a little basic, but there was sufficient choice. I would definitely return to the hotel if visiting Brighton again for a short break as it's good value for money.

Room Tip: Family room (202) - stunning sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A basic hotel at Brighton seafront. Super 180 degree seaview. Some 8 minutes walk from Brighton Pier. Short walk to bus stops. Reception area was well attended by hotel staff round the clock. People there were very helpful. Thanks very much again to Mardina for the help, patience, and different options to help us get easiest transportation means. We had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book early is always advisable. My stay coincided with the Labour Conference and all hotels were ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leungyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

could not fault the hotel at all, had a sea view, what more could you ask for, waking up on a sunny morning looking out over Brighton, staff were nice, location is fantastic, only a short walk to the pier and the town, where you can visit all the nice bars and shops, and if you go left and walk to the Marina you can go in the bars, well worth a visit

Room Tip: Just a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for Gay pride weekend in August this year, absolutely loved it!
Location is brilliant and Rooms were a great size, we had a room with a side view of the sea and pier! Loved sitting down in the big comfy chair cigarette in hand, watching the sea!
The dining area is very modern and clean, breakfast is great!
All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, there is on site parking which is free and that is a rare find in Brighton these days!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alarna28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanes Hotel

Address: 70-72 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $82 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanes Hotel is a Grade 1 Starred Listed building centrally situated on Brighton’s seafront, and offers free wi-fi. Located moments from central Brighton, The Royal Sussex County Hospital and the lively Brighton Marina.All bedrooms are en-suite and range from Standard Doubles, to 4-Posters, Balcony rooms, Family rooms and Group rooms. Public areas include the Reception, Licensed Bar and Sun Terrace, Sea Facing TV Lounge and Breakfast Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing