We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and warm place to stay”
Review of Andorra Hotel

Andorra Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andorra Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice and warm place to stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family went to Brighton in Sept 2013 since my daughter is studying her first year at University of Sussex. We chose Andorra Hotel from the web because of its reasonable price and the location is convenient. I remembered that we arrrived very late on that night (about 11:00pm) and we were able to reserve a room. The staff were very nice and friendly, especially Mr D'Souza who had helped us a lot. We stayed at Andorra on 12-16 Sept at first. We then left our daughter and went to Germany for a short trip. Afterwards, we wanted to come back and stayed few days more at 21-25 Sept. However, we found that all hotels in Brighton were full (including Andorra) because of a local conference held at there. Thanks to Mr D'Souza who finally managed to provide a room for us. We enjoyed every moment at Brighton during our trip. The hotel is situated just at the center of the city, with only a few minutes walk to the beach. Travel is convenient as bus and train are nearby. The breakfast is included in the room price and the food is delicious. The only thing need to be improved is that the room is a little bit old and out dated. Nevertheless, it is still clean and tidy. If you want to travel to Brigton and want to find a good value of monely bed and breakfast hotel, I have no hesitation to recommand Andorra hotel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
10
26
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed a the hotel for a weekend (check in Fri, check out Sun). It was one of the more reasonable priced in Brighton that we could find, it was in the city centre so just a short walk to the shops and some bars and short walk to train station. Also was right next to the pier which was nice! Room needed updating-was really old fashioned,bathroom wasnt the cleanest (found some hairs in shower before we had used it). The fixtures and fittings were an issue, curtain ties kept coming awat from wall so were constantly on the floor, a plug we had didnt work so had use of 1 plug, shower was useless. We were on top floor and they failed to inform us that the power/heat of shower was rubbish on this floor, had to leave tap on in bathroom to get hot and then use the shower which we only found out after we complained. Breakfast was included in the price which we couldnt complain about. Breakfast was very basic. Traditional breakfast gets you some toast and cereal and 1 bacon, 1 egg, 1 sausage etc... Our room also seemed to be on a slant which was strange and there was a lot of stairs to get to it. Overall though it wasnt bad for a 2 night stay and we didnt spend much time in, It was also quiet in the hotel and the location was quiet as it was just on the outside of town. Not sure if I would stay again but I have seen worse, just needs a lick of paint and a freshen up!! Staff were friendly and kept our bags for us after Checkout while we had a look around the town before our train came!!

Room Tip: Don't stay on top floor - showers don't work properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Son and i returned to the Andorra this year on tue 3rd Sept, staying until thurs 5th. This year we had room no. 17. Lovely and clean (tho dont think anyone had run a vac UNDER the beds! Found a pill, and several small bits of rubbish) One or two small problems, like if you put the plug in the sink, when you drained it muck came up onto the floor of the shower! But for a short stay this place is great. The owner and his wife are LOVELY and we will be back again im sure. If you are looking for perfection this would not be the place to stay, but if you are looking for somewhere that is a well placed base for your stay , comfortable enough and helpful staff then you would not do better!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My first time here at the Andorra also right by the sea front and shops and good value here will be coming back again easy all so to get a bus or train to Eastbourne or other towns also plenty to do in Brighton places to go too Dome etc.

Room Tip: First time here right by the sea front and good value will be coming back again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staff here couldn't be better, 10/10, welcoming and customer focused- be it the reception or breakfast room. That's the good news! It was also one of the cheapest hotels, given the time we wanted to stay, so this needs to be taken into account. Reasonable budget accommadation.

The hotel decor is generally a bit dated, and this is unfortunate as first impressions are very important.

The room we had was bright and airy, better decor than the hotel generally. Tea and coffee etc and plenty of power points, tv and good lighting. The bed wasn't comfy, quite hard / thin mattress. The room was noisy being at the front, smokers outside noise etc and the windows rattled severely in the wind- sounds trivial, but it was a pain!! The bathroom was really small, swinging a cat etc... not possible! The shower was old fashioned and needs updating. The shower door didn't close and so you got a puddle. The bathroom was generally poor decor too, not good!

The breakfast was fine, there's a set menu, but you could mix and match, if you asked nicely. Choosing scrambled or poached eggs seems to ensure an extra fresh product.

So I'd say this was good 2 star, ok for a night or 2, but I'd not want to stay longer. The annoying thing about this place is that the manager / staff (sometimes a problem) were great - it's just the hotel's decor etc lets it down- needs some investment!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room, as front facing rooms get quite a bit of noise; and the hotel guests smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we arrived on the Friday night and booked in and went up to our room on entering the room the smell that greeted us was one of a musty smell my partner went and had a shower and noticed the shower leaking from out side the shower cubicle , I went down to complain the guy at the reception came and took a look and said the hotel was full so he could not offer us another room so he gave us another towel but clearly from the look of the floor it had leaked for some time , the décor was chip wall paper and the bathroom equally grim .
the breakfast was poor the orange juice tastes like orange squash diluted in water and as for the cooked breakfast it was basic , the room was booked on the Saturday night I pity those who have our room I htink they ought to call in the hotel inspector.

Room Tip: I read the reviews of this hotel before choosing and it sounded ideal but I htink you should make up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen do for 2 nights so there were 10 of us in total. The owners are absolutely lovely, welcoming & friendly. I'd stay again just to see them!

Although the decor may not be new & modern, the rooms & bathroom were clean & cleaned on our one day stay. My negative about the stay is that the bathrooms were quite small & showers not particularly powerful, but they did the job. Breakfast was very good, would recommend the poached eggs, & toast, butter & marmalade were on tap! The hash brown was also cooked to perfection! With their set breakfast menu they also allowed you to move it around if you fancied a different combo. Again, lovely accommodating people.

As we were a hen do, before our big night out they allowed us to use their lobby for a couple of hours to have some champagne before we went out.

Locations wise, you are right on the sea front & walking distance from the town, the lanes & bars pubs & clubs.


As a cheap place to stay for a few nights, I'd recommend! Again decor is dated, but otherwise this is really great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#62 of 93 in Brighton
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 93 in Brighton
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#61 of 93 in Brighton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 93 in Brighton
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#45 of 93 in Brighton
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baggies Backpackers Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andorra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andorra Hotel

Property: Andorra Hotel
Address: 15-16 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andorra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Andorra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andorra Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing