We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, But Ideal”

Sandpiper Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #57 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in January, landlord was very friendly and welcoming. It felt very homely hear and was ideal for what we wanted just somewhere to sleep and showered! Very good value for money and excellend location right on top of everything you need - seafront, restuarants, shopping centre and clubs. Liked the fact you could come and go as you please there where no time restrictions. Would stay hear again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

Pillows and bed smelled horrible. Could not get a good nights sleep and wake up with headache. I left early and requested a refund for the last night but no chance of that from the owner. He likes to overcharge some people it seems.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmpsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We came to Brighton for a music festival and left it a little late in finding accomodation. Surprisingly, this B&B had vacancies and at £25 pppn we thought we were onto a winner as we were pretty desperate. We were put into the basement flat which shared a bathroom. This wasn't a problem as the other room in the basement was taken by friends of ours.

Good points: cheap, good location, the housemaid was friendly and always did a good job.

Bad points:
1) the door of the rear bedroom (which leads to the garden and street outside) is totally unsecure. No lock, only a chain keeps it closed which can be opened by putting your hand through the window (which has no lock either) - see photo. Could be broken into incredibly easily in 30 seconds with no damage caused. When i complained to the owner he loosly fitted a very small ineffectual bolt. I got the feeling he either wanted to spend as little money as possible or didn't want the door damaged when broken into. We felt our stuff wasn't at all safe and moved it into our friends rooms. I'm not sure how secure the rest of the B&B is.

2) This is basically a student hovel style flat, small, grubby, old furniture, thin walls, cold.


To summarise, this is a cheap b&b with a good location but probably one of the worst you will ever stay in. The guy who runs it seems friendly but if something doesn't work, don't expect him to care. Don't bring anything you don't mind beiong stolen. Would I stay here again? Not unless I was pretty desperate.

This is probably a good example of where spending just an extra £10 a night for somewhere better would be well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Very reasonably priced. Clean and comfortable. Quiet. In the centre so all sites and amenities within walking distance. Helpful friendly welcoming reception. Tea/coffee facilities. Room tidied daily. TV. Cheaper parking 2 miles away at Hove Train Station - fine if you don't need to use the car.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I would recommend to a friend on the understanding this is a very basic room, very clean but could do with a lick of paint and a tidy up. We were struggling to find somewhere to stay within our budget and for 1 night only, this was £25 PPPN for 1 night stay. The location was brilliant 10 second walk to city centre, car parking was again 10 seconds walk to the B&B, was £25 for 24 hours however the owner did know somewhere for £12 just up the road.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

After an overnight flight from Canada, I knocked on the door of this hotel and was offered accommodation for only one night. Apparently this hotel is quite popular, as it was sold out for the following 3 days.

My room was basic, but clean and well kept. The shower and toilet facilities on the landing were also in good order. Breakfast was not available.

After settling in, I immediately began to search for a similar hotel for the following nights. Without much trouble, I found something in Regency Square (Keehan's Hotel) for a lower price.

All in all, I found this hotel to be quite satisfactory. At 35 pounds per night, it may be a little pricey, as the other lodging I found in Brighton cost only 25 pounds.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vantim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Ok so as previous reviews state the location is excellent, you are next to evrything you could possibly want. the hotel is very basic and the furniture is probably older than my grandad!!! we went with friends who ended up have bigger rooms than ours, our room was unsuitable for a double, i would maybe even go as far to say it is unsuiatble for a bed fullstop! however we had a great weekend and we so close to everything it made up for it, all in all i think we would probably stay there again, we aint classy birds !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Guest House

Address: 11 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing