We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

I normally spend 50 nights a year around hotels in the uk and this is so far the best one I had ever stayed in,

It is private, modern CLEAN, close to the town, and the staff is very efficient, nothing seems to be much trouble for them and also the room I stayed (circular sea facing) is amazing !! the bed is really good ( better that my own one) and the bath next to the window is out of this planet, there is no one fault about this place, the food is excellent but the restaurant a little bit tiny, but it does not matter to me, I will come back soon ,

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomyandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    248
    98
    32
    23
See reviews for
53
653
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

Over-priced (£250), hopeless staff, tiny and draughty room, dreadful food, no room service, the dullest bar on earth. I could go on. We checked out after one night and moved to the du Vin, which is in another class. Gorgeous room, great bar, outstanding service, fabulous food, car park, much closer to the heart of Brighton and not next door to a £20 a night doss house.

Drakes is the biggest rip-off on earth. As for a great bath in the window, ours was on the first floor and was great for passers-by who wanted to watch me having a wash. I'd have paid £100 top whack and even then I'd have felt hard done by. The barman didn't know how to make cocktails and when we ask room service for a bowl of chips they said they'd have to send out to the nearest chippy! If youy're off to Brighton you must have Sunday lunch at the Grand - fantastic!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Duncan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

We also stayed in the much vaunted circular room with the sea view-did Kylie really stay here?? I doubt it!
Starting with the good;our reception was friendly and helpful, this is a very difficult hotel to park at and if there is a space you get stung for £12.50 and it is tiny.We also hade a very nice meal in their resteraunt although it is very cramped, you get to know your fellow guests whether you want to or not.
The room is well equipped but small, the wet room will not suit everyone but it was ok.Shutters in the room insufficient to keep out the lights outside the hotel which did not go off until after midnight.It was also freezing, the underfloor heating was poor so they had put in a tiny heater which helped but it was all very heath robinsonish for this price.
The bar service was very amateurish and the seats were not clean, nuts and debris all over the place.
Breakfast was shambolic, in fact we walked out.We were eventually shown to a tiny table (after being ignored) squeezed between some rather large guests,We were then ignored for a further 10 mins at which point we decided to call it a day.When we were asked about our stay on checkout I obviously mentioned breakfast, nobody seemed that bothered.
Pity, could be a really nice place to stay but needs more experienced staff and less covers in the resteraunt.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cramped resteraunt
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brummyboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

We stayed at Drakes hotel just for one night to get away from it all and have a well earned rest.

The hotel was great, friendly staff who could not do enough to help us. We were also upgraded to the sea facing circular room,which we were told is the room kylie stayed in!!-an added bonus. The room was excellent- big comfy bed, luxurious free standing bath and great wet room. I would highly recomend this hotel, it is the best place i have ever stayed in by a mile having lots of extra touches like bathrobe and slippers and nice smellies

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank superspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2007

The room (circular sea view) was lovely. The sea view was great. Only downside was a bit of traffic noise but it wasn't too bad (and I am generally very fussy about noise!). The service was efficient and unobtrusive. I have booked my next visit.

  • Liked — The views and the design
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AVeryFussyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

During the first week of January, we were able to get a last-minute special through Drakes's own website: 99 pounds, compared to the regular rate of 199, bed and breakfast. (You can also check laterooms.com for similar discounts.)

Because we got such a great rate, I'm inclined to give Drakes a very positive review. First, the location is outstanding. It's right on the seafront, with a wonderful view of Brighton Pier. Drakes is in Kemp Town, a little bit away from the noisy, tatty part of the seafront , although you can easily walk to those places if you want to.

We didn't get a sea-facing room. Instead, we got a duplex that faced the back, but we didn't mind because it was so quiet. The room was on the first floor of this former townhouse, so it had relatively high ceilings and felt spacious. Toiletries from the White Company came in a gift box. The linens were so sumptuous I made a note of the maker (Beltrami) so I can get them for my own home.

The bathroom, accessed down a short stairway in the room, looked great but it didn't function very well. There was no counter space to put your things, and the vessel sink (those things should be banned!) was too high. A previous reviewer posted pictures of this room, so you can see for yourself.

Gingerman, the hotel restaurant, has gotten a lot of positive reviews. We didn't try it for dinner, choosing instead to go to Hotel du Vin (excellent.) Gingerman is located in the basement, and they also serve breakfast there. It's probably lit nicely for dinner, but in the morning it looked drab and lifeless.

Drakes has become our favorite hotel in Brighton. We'll definitely use it again, with or without a last minute special.

  • Liked — Location, room
  • Disliked — Bathrooom could have functioned better
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for last minute deals
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

A relaxing stay and great retreat by train from London for a long weekend. Located in Kemptown of Brighton right on the sea across from a busy street with spectacular views of the Pier. We stayed in the circular sea-facing room on the second floor which was fabulous. Roomy with striking contemporary decor, wonderful rounded vintage windows with charming shutters for privacy, flat screen TV, amazingly comfortable bed with high thread count linens gazing to the sea. Rather small bathroom with signature soaking tub near the bed area. Difficult to contain water from the open shower concept in the bathroom. Quiet room with minimal traffic noise. No elevator but staff willingly took bags to the room. Staff were helpful and professional , providing great dining tips. Did not eat at the hotel as there are many excellent choices in Brighton that should not be missed. This is a pricey hotel with a sophisticated, adult feeling and special touches which are rather hip. Suggest getting the best value and experience with a larger sea-facing room on the lower floor.

  • Liked — Stylish and sophisticated, fabulous views
  • Disliked — Pricey and small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay more for the larger sea-facing rooms on lower floor to get the best experience
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leisureboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing