We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

A one night stay at Drakes on Brighton's seafront.

We had one of the circular sea front rooms (101) which was superbly appointed and had a great view of the pier. The huge bath in front of the bay window was extremely decadent and fun! As was the wet-room and massive shower.

After enjoying some delicious cocktails in the bar, we ate in the highly regarded basement restaurant. It did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and professional in the bar and restaurant.

One thing that does need some work is the hotel frontage, the render is crumbling and cracked in placed and the Victorian wrought iron balconies in front of the bay windows are seriously corroded (due the 100 plus years of salt water) and should be replaced. However this did not detract from our enjoyment of the this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daltonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

There were things I liked about this place but they were completely out weighed by the negatives.
First the price, this is the most expensive hotel in a Brighton. We stayed in Oxford on the way down in a beautiful 5 star country manor hotel for just £120 including breakfast ( for two ) then we arrived at Drakes we paid £25 to park on the hotels car park on top of the £450 bill for 2 nights with no breakfast. We could have had breakfast for £12.50 per head per day but really didn't want to give them any more if our money.
The room was ok but some features are extremely impractical, there's no room , no wardrobe, to much oversized furniture leaving little room to walk around. Now don't even start me on the wet room, wet being the operative word. Everything in the wet room gets soaked, it's so small. The toilet, towels, toilet roll all get completely soaked from the shower.
My husband thought he was treating me to a little luxury for my birthday but instead we felt totally ripped off. There are so many nicer places to stay in Brighton for a lot less £££££. Save your money, give the Drakes a miss.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank auntys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at this superb boutique hotel and, from a room on the 4th floor at the top of the hotel, we enjoyed fabulous views over the beach and out to sea.
We had a fantastic greeting by James (from Brisbane) who, from the world go, made us feel so welcome and the excellent service continued from there.
The bar is lead by Chris, who actually pampered us with delicious cocktails, accompanying his professionalism with friendliness.
The breakfast experience was up to the standards to be expected.
If you are staying in Brighton this is the hotel that you should stay at, no doubts about it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Room 301, beautiful seafront views overlooking the pier, the staff were friendly and helpful without being over the top, comfortable and clean room, lovely breakfast, perfect in every respect. I would recommend highly and would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Small but tastefully chic bar,

Drakes has a great range of drinks and the knowledgable staff seem more than happy to talk you through the selections.

A really lovely chilled atmosphere, perfect to watch the sea and soak up what Brighton is all about!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AmberMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This was our first night away from our newborn and it was just perfect.
The room was super clean with complimentary white company products.
Getting ready for our night out may have been the best part of the night. We enjoyed the deep roll top bath whilst drinking the best cocktails delivered to us by a charming gentleman called Leon.
The next morning we had breakfast in bed which sorted us right out.
Overall the quality of the hotel, with the super staff and the location cannot be beaten.
Can't wait to stay again!! Xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneneMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner has been battling a one in a million extremely aggressive cancer since October 2013 and in January 2014 we found out it had grown at an alarming rate while on intensive chemo. So his oncologist told us we could have a few days rest before more tests and treatments start. Anyway we have always loved Brighton and thought it would be a good place to stay. I researched many hotels but none were so warming than those at Drakes. From the first phone call they were so responsive and wanted to do anything they could to make our stay happen. I booked a day in advance and still were so accommodating. Because of money issues that cancer causes we booked to stay in the ground floor city view room which was just in our price range. However when we arrived we were blown away when they told us they had upgraded us to the circular sea view kingsize room! It was such a lovely gesture. This mini holiday was just what we needed and it was priceless seeing a smile on my boyfriends face after such a tough ordeal. The staff are second to none always smiling, asking us how we were etc. The food was wonderful, especially in the restaurant! The lady serving greeted us by our name and looked after us so well. As for the room it was spectacular, stunning roll top bath with impeccable view, clean and had an extremely comfy bed. Have recommended to everyone I know! Cant wait to stay here again in the summer! Thanks Drakes

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaisleyHowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing