We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel and bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Small but tastefully chic bar,

Drakes has a great range of drinks and the knowledgable staff seem more than happy to talk you through the selections.

A really lovely chilled atmosphere, perfect to watch the sea and soak up what Brighton is all about!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AmberMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This was our first night away from our newborn and it was just perfect.
The room was super clean with complimentary white company products.
Getting ready for our night out may have been the best part of the night. We enjoyed the deep roll top bath whilst drinking the best cocktails delivered to us by a charming gentleman called Leon.
The next morning we had breakfast in bed which sorted us right out.
Overall the quality of the hotel, with the super staff and the location cannot be beaten.
Can't wait to stay again!! Xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneneMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner has been battling a one in a million extremely aggressive cancer since October 2013 and in January 2014 we found out it had grown at an alarming rate while on intensive chemo. So his oncologist told us we could have a few days rest before more tests and treatments start. Anyway we have always loved Brighton and thought it would be a good place to stay. I researched many hotels but none were so warming than those at Drakes. From the first phone call they were so responsive and wanted to do anything they could to make our stay happen. I booked a day in advance and still were so accommodating. Because of money issues that cancer causes we booked to stay in the ground floor city view room which was just in our price range. However when we arrived we were blown away when they told us they had upgraded us to the circular sea view kingsize room! It was such a lovely gesture. This mini holiday was just what we needed and it was priceless seeing a smile on my boyfriends face after such a tough ordeal. The staff are second to none always smiling, asking us how we were etc. The food was wonderful, especially in the restaurant! The lady serving greeted us by our name and looked after us so well. As for the room it was spectacular, stunning roll top bath with impeccable view, clean and had an extremely comfy bed. Have recommended to everyone I know! Cant wait to stay here again in the summer! Thanks Drakes

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaisleyHowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Likes: staff friendliness and willingness to help (e.g barman on Thursday night swapped nuts for crisps when we said we didn't like wasabi without asking, Easter egg, etc.). Bed and chair quality in room plus little touches like water, coffee/tea quality, sweets, biscuits etc. Jam and marmalade at breakfast. Room style (did the best with size/shape of room). Some of the restaurant meals. Drinks service always good - with great selection. Price point of food.
Dislike: sleep quality - very noisy because of traffic and clubbers on street. Size or room. Car parking charge.
Could do better: too hot in restaurant. Wine choice. The food is good and well priced but not quite 'there'(e.g. some sweets lacked taste, combinations not quite right, lamb was blue instead of pink).
Overall - thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend and stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My sisters and I booked Drakes as a birthday treat for our mum's 87th birthday. We did telephone the hotel prior to booking to inquire whether the hotel was suitable for someone with mobility problems. We booked the ground floor sea view room for her and the rest of the party had the attic room. There are no lifts but if you are energetic enough you'll be fine. The hotel is lovely, the rooms amazing. From from the moment we stepped through the door we were greeted very warmly by the reception staff. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and the meal was truly splendid, something you expect at a Michelin star restaurant. All the staff at Drakes were amazingly helpful. Special thanks must go to Sheila and Cally who really went out of their way to help mum when she couldn't manage the stairs for dinner and breakfast. Only one small downside was that they ask for the full payment upfront which was surprising. I guess they have had problems in the past. I hope they will review this procedure as it was off putting. But that won't deter us from returning to this wonderful hotel. Thank you again Drakes for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor sea view room has an excellent view of Brighton pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but we did book a table for dinner. All I can say was that this was one of the nicest meals I've ever had. I enjoy good food and this was absolutely delicious. My starter of quail was scrumptious and my partner enjoyed his gnocchi (which I felt could have been a little bigger in portion). The mains of beef, which I was told was some of the most tender he has ever had, and the rabbit I had went down extremely well! The puddings were both very tasty and presented nicely. On top of what you ordered, the extra little bits of food - parmesan and bacon brioche, mint and pea soup served in a tea cup and the mandarin (not quite sure what it was called but it was like a paste) all added to the enjoyment of the meal.

Being a small venue the atmosphere is intimate and relaxing. The waitress was perfectly attentive but unobtrusive - something which I feel many places get wrong. If you are staying in Brighton and fancy treating yourself or someone else to a truly wonderful meal then take them to Drakes. It's not cheap but it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driscoll-Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have always thought that the Restaurant at Drakes is the best in the country so where else would we go to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary but this time we decided to also stay at Drakes as well & what a fantastic choice that was. The room was stunning & immaculate with fantastic views of the sea front, without exception EVERY member of staff was amazing & could not do enough to both make us feel welcome & to celebrate our special anniversary. The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the sea front but close to town & just away from the more commercial parts of Brighton, like I said, just perfect. Parking was right outside the hotel so again, could not be better. Then we get to the restaurant & all I can say is that it's THE BEST we have ever been to (& we have been to some very fancy ones). Our stay was PERFECT & Drakes is TOTALLY AMAZING, if you ever get chance to go there, do so, you will not regret it

Room Tip: Any, they are all individual & amazing, just pick the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGreatWhite30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing