We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I'm being really picky...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Kesgrave
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If I'm being really picky...”
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Myself and my husband chose Drakes for a night away mid-week, and got a great deal of £99 (room only) which gave us a city view attic room. Room was well decorated and of a reasonable size, pretty good value in my opinion. Staff were very friendly and helpful, i couldn't fault the service at all. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have breakfast brought up to our room and it was very enjoyable.

Downsides:
If you class yourself as anything other than reasonably fit make sure you don't have a room in the attic - no lift (except for bags) and seven flights of stairs is hard going!
This I guess is more of a personal thing, but the beds were really soft, which for me meant a pretty bad nights sleep.
Not a lot of hanging space for clothes - if you were there for longer than a couple of nights you might struggle. This might not be a problem in some of the larger rooms.

We'd definately go back next time we're in Brighton, but I think we'd be tempted to spend that bit more and get a bigger room with freestanding bath.

  • Liked — Style and location
  • Disliked — Stairs!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vix8381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    248
    99
    33
    23
See reviews for
56
659
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel. We were staying mid week and arrived at approx 7.30pm but were still lucky enough to get one of the hotels own parking spaces, which will cost you £12.50. Other reviewers have complained about this but I have seen another similar style Brighton hotel asking £17. However, I think if you can afford to pay in excess of £100 for a room then £12.50 isn`t going to break the bank!
We had booked through the hotels own web site and they were offering a package for dinner, bed & breakfast for £99.50 per person. We thought this was pretty good and although the price (you could upgrade) was only for a Bijou room it did include a 5 course meal with a glass of sparkling wine, which would normally cost £50 each.
The Bijou room was not massive but totally fine for a one or two night stay. Other reviewers have mentioned the lack of hanging space but this is not the sort of hotel that you would stay in for a week or two. It`s perfect for a luxury break away or a romantic weekend etc so the hanging space was acceptable. If people need to take their entire wardrobe with them then maybe they should enrole on a `how to minimise` course?
Our room was on the 2nd floor and did not have the sea view, which we knew when we booked but we were not bothered as we were arriving at night and leaving after breakfast. Next time though I woud like to arrive earlier and enjoy a sea view!
We did have the stand alone bath in the room which was a nice feature, fun to lay in it the next morning watching Jeremy Kyle!
The wet room is also an unusual touch and with the heated floor it didn`t take that long to dry out. Some people have mentioned the toilet rolls getting soaked but they are held in a chrome cover and unless you leave the paper hanging out it stays dry! Common sense really.
There are complimentary `White Company` toileteries and slippers and also tea and coffee making facilities.
The bed was scrummy, lovely big pillows encased in crisp white Egyptian cotton, very comfy. I would have slept right through had I not drank too much the night before and had to get up and open a bottle of water due to dehydration!
The meal in the Gingerman restaurant was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. Again, people menioned the tables being too close together. They may be, slightly, however there were only 3 other tables occupied when we dined and so this was not a problem for us. Breakfast is also taken down in the restaurant and this was also very good, although I did have to ask for butter for my toast and for sugar/sweetener for the tea as there was none laid out. Miner things though, certainly nothing to make me not return.
We were given a `voucher` to use in the cocktail bar which entitled you to `buy one get one free` on your first drink, so we used that and had a couple of cocktails. The atmosphere in the bar is nice and relaxed and the staff eager to please and advise on drinks etc. I must say though that we did cheat and take a couple of bottles of fizz with us to have in the room, but hey, there`s a credit crunch on!
Overall we had a lovely stay and my only regret was that it wasn`t long enough.
We would definately stay here again but would make sure we arrived at check in time to ensure we got maximum chill out time.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kazndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Almost a five but not quite! The staff were super friendly and helpful, the location was perfect. The breakfast was very good. The view from the room was fantastic, being able to sit in the bath on a cold dark january night looking at the beautiful pier all lit up was perfect. However my only complaints were that the decor was looking a little tired and a just a few things like the curtain hiding the kettle and safe wasnt working properly and the windows needed a good clean. The other thing was the wet room was a bit too wet you cant have a shower without getting absolutely everything wet including the toilet roll!
I have to say if the hotel did a bit of snagging in the rooms this would easily get a five. Still a very enjoyable place to stay with an amazing view!

  • Liked — bath with a view!
  • Disliked — needed a fresh coat of paint
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

A lovely stay! Fantastic hotel, particularly in terms of the service and the staff. Faultless! The attention to detail makes this hotel stand out. Expensive by any account but quality and luxury throughout.
The rooms are superb. We stayed in a circular sea facing room which was frankly beautiful. The view is triple aspect and stunning, the facilities are spotless, brand new looking and functional. The bath on arrival was sublime, with finishing touches, scented rose petals in the roll top sea facing bath, and a rose petal heart on the bed on arrival! Really really lovely. The staff were attentive and thorough, the service available basically faultless. From reception staff on arrival to Cocktail Bar staff in the evening, all were friendly, warm and unpretentious. A treat!
A word of caution. This hotel is beautiful but expensive. You pay for the beauty. Parking at the hotel costs an additional £12.50 per night! Mind you when you see the road on which its located, you'll pay! And while we mention the road, I have read an earlier review likening the location to Brands Hatch! Be warned! Its true! The worse nights sleep I've ever had! Relentless traffic all night, noisy and constant vehicular and pedestrian traffic.
That said the hotel is superb. Fantastic service, spotless facilities, delightful panoramic views. Recommended for these alone. BUT be warned it all comes at a price, most noticeably a good nights sleep on the beachfront. i would also have to say that Brighton was a disappointment. Drakes though is a prince amongst thieves!

  • Liked — Service and personal touches
  • Disliked — The bloody Noise on the road outside!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gants hill essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This was a one night break to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. The lovely free standing bath in the bay window of room 201 was a great way to spend time soaking in, while watching the sea.
We ate at the gingerman restaurant in the hotel we had the taster menu which was lovely.
The staff in the hotel were very helpful and attentive.
We had a full english breakfast served in our room which was hot and plentyful.
Our only negatives would be the daily charge to park your car at the hotel and that the room prices are very high and do not include breakfast.
All in all I would definately recommend this hotel and our room (pay for the better room) for a special night or two with someone special.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — noise from street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredGantsHillEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We decided to give Drakes a try and are glad that we did.
We had a fantasic weekend in Brighton backed up by staying at a most conveiently located, well run hotel. The bed in our circular room was as comfortable as they come, with fantastic views over the sea, and magical views of the pier and it's lights.
Having a bath and drinks in a bath located right in the window was very different, but fun! Clear uninterupted views of the pier and sea during sunset was very romantic.
Excellent dining experience in the restaurant, and a hearty breakfast.
Drakes may not be a cheap option, but a very clean, comfortable and welcoming place to stay.
Staff made us feel very special.

  • Liked — Great views, VERY comfy and big bed, good food
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandwichKentBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

On the internet, the rooms look spacious. They are not. They are cleverly designed and the large bath in the corner of the room takes up a lot of space which is sadly lacking elsewhere. The wet room is exactly what it says. Some clever ideas in there, but no room to swing a cat. You can sit on the toilet and shower. If you need the toilet after your shower, wait for the water to pour down when you open the lid, and you may want to dry the seat first. Oh.. and make sure you hide the toilet roll somewhere before turning on the shower. There is no space for privacy in the spa-room. The sensor light is a great idea and works. If you want a cup of tea of coffee which is a welcome thought, the kettle is not close to the socket, so you will have to manoevre things around to plug in. Be careful not to burn yourself or spill anything or knock anything over if you choose to do this. It really is great to have a sea view and in the day it's great. As a spa room is supposed to be relaxing, by night time, you will want to shut the window to shut out the street noise and pounding music which goes on til about 3 in the morning from down the street. There is no double glazing and the shutters don't shut out the noise unfortunately. The expensive rooms do not include breakfast and frankly, I thought for the price, they should. This hotel is very expensive for what it offers.

  • Liked — Sea view
  • Disliked — inpractical
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyRoseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing