We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for one night midweek. We were lucky to get an upgrade from an attic room to a sea view room. The room itself was lovely. Nicely furnished and had a bath overlooking the sea.

There was also a lovely wet room.

A great location too, a few minutes walk into the town and to the shops.

The only downside was the noise from the road outside. Myself and husband didn't sleep well, and he normally sleeps through most noise!

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as they were fully booked. We also ate out for breakfast as this wasn't included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staff very friendly and location easy to get to on seafront but needs a refurb. Bath chipped and bathroom seen better days. Room was city view on two levels but even in sept was cold with wind through the window frames. Know it's an old hotel but did expect more for the price. Bar small and restaurant in basement.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is situated in between the piers and the rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the sea. The hotel has a modern classy look, with a comfortable, stylish bar with an amazing selection of cocktails.
The room was modern and luxurious with a really comfy bed. The bathroom was fantastic, the lighting in the bathroom was really cool and the shower was very fancy. Before dinner I tried to have a shower and realised that the water was not working (it was the while street and not just the hotel) and so we phoned reception who were very apologetic and said that it would be rectified within the hour.
The room service was great and the wine selection reasonable.
We decided to have dinner in the hotel as we had a long journey and were shocked at how amazing the restaurant was. It was genuinely the best meal that I have ever eaten! We were given a complimentary bottle of Champagne as the water in the bathroom hadn't worked briefly which was really nice of the staff. We will definitely be going back to Drakes as it is amazing!

Room Tip: When I stay again I will request a room at the front of the hotel to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly_Anne120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September.While staff were generally nice it is not a 4 star

Here are the pros:
Location is pretty good and bed is comfortable. Bedroom a decent enough size, Staff fairly friendly.

Things to consider

Stayed in a larger room with city view (i.e. views of backyards and roof tops). There is no closet...just some hooks and then a weird contraption that has curtains cover it up so it is a make-shift closet? Bathroom was on the floor below - it was grotty, the sink was not very functional, and the motion detector lighting that lights up the staWhen asked for a map of the city they had none.They charge for parking on top of an already high rate.

Have nothing to compare with other hotels in Brighton but it was just "meh" ...if I had paid 50 pounds less then I think that would have been the right price level for the state of the room and ameneties offered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank statters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

1 night in the circular room with great views of the sea and pier. very romantic.
food was delicious. if i'd been on my own at home i would have licked the plate.
service excellent - esp thanx to Klaudia who was very helpful.
only minor criticism is that you needed a PhD to work out the CD player.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badasbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at Drakes after dropping off our daughter at Sussex University.
The location is perfect being on the Marine Parade but parking is difficult so you will have to park on the hotel property which you are charged for, which I think is reasonable. The hotel internally is very modern and I think very nice. The staff are all excellent and both breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard.
When I booked this room it was the last one available and was on the fourth floor, no lift so not for the faint hearted. The room was very good, fairly spacious and clean but the bathroom was not up to standard, a few cracked tiles, some brown grout and lime scale in places.
Overall a good hotel and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for a two day break over the weekend in September and opted for the circular king sea view room.

The location of the hotel is great, identifying the hotel is a bit tricky, it has a small glass sign post out front but not particularly easy to see when driving past it. Once we had parked (12.50 per day), we were taken to our room and the views are fantastic. We have stayed in a number of hotels in Brighton and I reckon this one has the best views.

The room was nice but a bit tired, the carpet surrounding the bed was stained and the wood flooring and the chest of drawers was water damaged and losing varnish. The DVD player hadnt been used in a while I assume as it wasnt plugged in.

We had to move rooms after the first night (was informed of this upon booking, due to full occupancy I assume) this wasnt a problem, the hotel moved our suitcase to the room below for us with exactly the same views.

We had breakfast in the hotel (this isnt included as part of our package) but was of good quality, and a decent price. Also the chap serving us breakfast was really cheerful and eager to please.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, its a 2 minute walk to the pier and a 5 minute walk to the Lanes and the Pavilion.

The cocktail lounge is a big bonus for this hotel, it is fab. The chap making the cocktails knew his trade well and the cocktails were as good as any I have tasted in top class hotels in big cities. I particularly loved the Mojito martini!

Id go back to this hotel and Id recommend to others.

Room Tip: Book a sea front room and drink at least one of their cocktails!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap1rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $128 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing