We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bath with a View or Style over Substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bath with a View or Style over Substance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The service was Very Good
The food was Excellent
The Design of the room was Style over substance
The Bath took a lot of the space and left one side of the Bed with about 175 MM (7 Inch) to get out of bed ( See Photo ). The toilet doubled as a wet room, very bijoux.
There where lots of floors and no lift, so no good for a disabled person . The cost was quite high. Overall quite good hotel, good food but overpriced (paying for the bath to have the view)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwmShwnBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    248
    98
    32
    23
See reviews for
53
653
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A group of us stayed at Drakes as part of a team event.

The room and location were fabulous, I had a Yin Yan Room with a lovely seaview complete with a freestanding bath. The room was bright, light and airy, with the most gorgeous bedding, robes and bath products. We also enjoyed an excellent breakfast the following morning.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, with everyone in our group thoroughly enjoying their stay! Hope to be back!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a lovely seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the drakes for my husbands 40th birthday. Our room was lovely. Modern, spotless. The bar make fantastic cocktails. It was expensive. But we were walking distance from the centre. You could also pre-book a parking space. Would return 100%.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janmad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013, and it was a last minute get away. The rooms are modern, bright and beautiful. The staff are brilliant and the cocktails are simply amazing. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Pick one with a bath in :D!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleverfoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at Drakes during a business trip accompanied by 2 colleagues. I was shown to the downstairs bedroom that had frosted glass on the window. I asked the staff member what was on the other side as a lone female I was concerned at what might have been a vulnerable position on the ground floor and not knowing what was on the other side e.g. street level. The staff member opened the window and the otherside was the roof and service ducts for the hotel so I could now understand the reason for the frosted glass because this room had no view. As it was one night and business not pleasure I wasn't going to raise this as issue. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar overlooking the prom was comfortable. The bed was a mattress on a fixed plinth (not a divan). The mattress sat in the middle of the space revealing a black perimeter approx 3 inches wide. I saw on the side neares the window on the black "laminate" white flakes, this had obviously not been cleaned and looked to me like flaked skin cells. When the beds had been changed no effort appeared to be made to wipe down the bed surface and on checking the valet stand was also very dusty. The bathroom was clean. I reported the bed issue to a male member of of staff. My colleagues and I went out for a meal and returned back to the hotel. I had a well made Irish coffee in the bar. I slept soundly untill about 4am when I heard scuttling outside the window and the cooing of pigeons. I tried to sleep but the noise was escalating. In the end I opened the window and saw at least 30 pigeons direcly outside on the roof. I could see the roof space was dirtied by the birds, spikes to deter them had been put in place but this was unsuccessful. It appeared to me that little effort had been made to try and keep it clean and some simple measures like planting it or a wide window box would have at least disguised the view a little even if the pigeons could not be completely detered although I think some pest control methods might minimise it. Drakes is in a good location and the staff and bar were positive. I can't comment on the other rooms and I'm sure the price for the ground floor room would reflect it had no view but I belive with a little more effort it could be improved and give the guest a better experience than the one I had.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask not to be in the ground floor room if you want to a) have a view and b) have a good n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CurlyMary-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel (no lift though) with very friendly and accommodating staff and a highly a recommended restaurant. Rooms are small but well designed so as not to feel small. Only draw back for me in the lovely YinYang double with views of the sea and pier, was the toilet/shower room, wet room combination. But we, as I suspect many do, enjoyed the bath instead, rather than getting the toilet soaked. I can also recommend the full English breakfast which was served to the room at no extra charge, was hot and the eggs were still runny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel..robes and white company toiletries in room. Am definately coming back and brining my boyfriend next time! Just one little thing..the room i was originally shon on 1st floor was by the aircon generator so very noisy. After i complaint i was initially told they were fully booked...but after a while they managed to move me to 4th floor. Room 403 was amazing. Love the tub in the room and the walk in shower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing