We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at Drakes. Rooms are a good size and very clean with everything you would need

All the staff were extremely helpful. Make sure you sample a cocktail and the restaurant out. We will be back again. There is no need to look at an alternative hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to the this hotel after reading all the reviews. My overall impression was it was not a great as I thought! I was treating my partner and wanted something a bit different. I went for the sea-facing circular room with the bath with the 5 course tasting menu package.
On arrival my first impression was the hotel was bit grubby and could do with a bit of an update. The room in the 'flesh' was not as impressive as the website and again could have done with a bit of 'touch up'. We had a 'hot night' as the air conditioning didn't work, and if we opened the windows the noise from the road was too much! But bed was really comfortable and we did enjoy using the bath! The bathroom is a tad small not much space to put your bits and pieces but the shower was great.

We had cocktails before dinner in the bar that were a bit disappointing, I don't drink and had one of the non-alcoholic cocktails that was so full of ice that my partner had to get some of it removed.
Dinner was amazing the food was top notch, the restuarant is good but the overall ambience was a bit claustrophobic as the restuarant is in the basement. But they have made great use of the space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Drakes is a small 'boutique' style hotel on the seafront at Brighton. It has a well-designed interior making best use of the space available. As a consequence there are a few quirky things to contend with but not in a negative way. For example, in our good-sized bedroom our standalone bath was the first thing you encountered when you entered the room. We had a small lounge area and a decent sized bed. We had a wet room for the shower and loo area. In summary it was a fun room to stay in. Sleep quality was excellent.

Staff are very helpful and friendly so well done to the management team. The hotel has a very good restaurant so as a consequence the cooked breakfast was excellent.

Tip - there is limited car parking available so try to check-in early.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Drakes. We had a dinner bed and breakfast deal and the food was deliciious as ever. We stayed in room 101 and it was well appointed with a great view of the sea and the Pier. As ever the staff were really helpful and friendly. However we have one negative point in that we found that the Bar manager was surly and unhelpful to the point of rude. This was not what we had come to expect of Drakes and would like him to know he is letting the hotel and other team members down. We'll be back and hopefully he will take on board the comments. Dont let this put you off though it is a minor blemish in a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ideally located on the beach front, we had a beautiful view on the famous pier. You can join every point of interest in a few minutes walk. The hotel has been entirely refurbished and we felt at home. Modern and stylish, the bed was very large and comfortable. We will come back no doubt about it! We also appreciated the home made breakfast...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niels c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Relatively modern, rooms with wooden floors, no Nespresso machine. My room was on the top floor but I had to stand to see sea because of the high balcony wall.
Bed was good quality. They have no in house fitness, but the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A warm and friendly welcome on arrival - we were made to feel really at home. The staff at this hotel are just lovely , the location perfect, rooms immaculate , bathroom steamy ! We had a lot of fun and nothing was to much trouble - flowers had been delivered for my birthday staff unpacked and put them in my room with a birthday card from the hotel.
Cocktails were delicious as was the food in the restaurant - perfect service and nice atmosphere, with just the right amount of background noise.
Our room 001 on the ground floor has its (almost) own entrance. Perfect for popping out for late night caps in the great little city Brighton is. we found lots to see and do right on our doorstep.
Unfortunately too many mojitos, led to me being unable to enjoy the lush breakfast that the staff made such an effort to serve to us, I spent all day craving the full English I lunched....
Can't wait to return to try out the rooms on the first floor with the bath in the window - sea views.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrsGorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing