We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great place to stay, trendy & quirky. Small rooms, winding staircase, but great staff and superb location. Car parking is next door, bit of a squeeze but far better than on street parking. Cocktails were expensive, but apparently worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    248
    98
    32
    23
See reviews for
53
653
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I came across this hotel quite by accident when looking for a 'one night getaway' in Brighton for a surprise birthday.....I called up and booked the ground floor double room, sea facing and off we went!
I parked outside the hotel, which is right on the seafront, almost opposite the pier...the hotel is marvellous inside and check in is at the cocktail bar....we were then taken to our room and shown the amenities....a lovely touch!
The room had a perfect view of the sea and was truly amazing....large bed, crisp white sheets, walk in bathroom, with the vibe you want on such an occasion!
We then had some of the best cocktails we have ever had in the the bar...perfection!
We decided to have a champagne breakfast in the room which was delivered at the time requested and of a fantastic quality...
Drakes is a gem and all round perfect...smiling happy staff....and a pace to remember....and we are very much looking forward to a return visit - and eating in the restaurant next time!

Room Tip: Check out the web page....good photos of the rooms....book early and spend time in the cocktail bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Interesting hotel, has a lot of plus points but one or two issues. But on the whole i would recommend. Positive stuff first, the food is amazing and i know its not the cheapest but believe me its worth every penny. The rooms are modern and high spec. The beds are fantastic and the best i have every slept in.

Staff were excellent and can fault their commitment. Location is pretty good althou i am told its in the gay part of the town according to the taxi driver but no issue for me.

The issues are no lift and a very small winding stairs. Don't try and lift your suitcase up 4 flights of stairs. You will need to be fit for those attic rooms believe me.

Also, was not to happy with my wife been talked into a cocktail and turning out to be £15.... Sorry thats not right. But apart from those minor grips. Its a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I got a good deal for £99 for midweek for an attic room. Chance your arm :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pressmybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a find. A totally enjoyable stay. Everyone from the young man who took the booking to the cleaning girls everyone that we met at Drakes was so friendly and very helpful. Booking was easy and check-in very quick. There is limited parking space so make sure you get there early. The rooms although not the largest are beautifully decorated with a seperate bath in the room and a wet room. They are clean, well appointed with comfy bed and pillows.
We had breakfast in the restaurant which was quick and wonderful to have a full English that was not coated in grease.
A central position and if you are visiting Brighton then well worth a stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a cracking stay at Drakes. The service was faultless and staff genuine and very helpful with helping us with finding somewhere for lunch. The breakfast was delicious and very fresh products, also good value.
Defo one of the best places I've stayed at in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffinManMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The room was small with no wardrobe, there were a few modern clothes hooks with hangers situated behind a wall mounted tv which made it very difficult to handle clothes for a 5 night stay.
The stirs a very steep and the hotel has no lift. My husband and I became irritated as each day one or the other of the key cards had been cancelled, this resulted in one of us going back down 3 floors and up again, on the 4th occasion when one of us complained, the young guy on reception said, ''I'm sorry I don't know what to do''! He did offer us a free drink for our trouble. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again as it was hard work, to go to breakfast or dinner required an extra flight of stairs as the dining room is in the basement! For this reason we only had one dinner and one breakfast at the hotel. i would advise travellers to research other hotels re noise levels, lifts and quality of air conditioning units.

Room Tip: Low floor as no lift and stairs are very steep. All rooms very noisy due to traffic noise and revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M11ssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill Head, Fareham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Arrived yesterday having booked quite a few weeks ago and was put in a downstairs room that must have backed onto the kitchen. Room smelt of food and felt claustrophobic. Apparently there were no other rooms available so we checked out (fortunately were able to secure a room in another excellent, very modern and popular hotel in Brighton).
Staff at Drakes were helpful and friendly but this could not make up for the very disappointing room. Other rooms may have been lovely - but avoid room 002 for which we had been charged £115 (refunded).

Room Tip: Don't book room 002!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,877 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing