We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy seaside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Drakes Hotel in Brighton was a wonderful place to stay. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful, and the hotel is just a short walk from the Brighton Pier. The price was very reasonable for the location and view. The only downsides are that the rooms are a bit small, and there is no lift.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 3rd floor with a seaside view, and as there is no lift, be mindful of that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

Had a short 2 night stay at this wonderful little Hotel, the room was lovely and very quiet but above all the service was fantastic. Very welcoming, we arrived so early so they rushed to get our room ready, we were so tired after a long overnight flight from Canada. Once refreshed we were greeted with the best service received in a hotel in Brighton by far. Friendly, informative and very helpful, they even arranged for the sun to shine.
The cocktails were superb, we even went off the menu and had a 'screaming orgasm' excuse the name but it was very delicious.
All your efforts for a wonderful stay are very much appreciated

Room Tip: we would have loved a sea view but they were fully booked, will make sure next time we will book ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodmad20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Great place to stay in very good location ,Booked a circular room with bath in front window overlooking the beach, which was a bit of a novelty, but great fun. Staff were very helpful & friendly Quite a bit of.traffic noise in bedrooms at front of hotel but calms down later in evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly staff and a warm atmosphere.
After taking some details and asking if we needed any extras (maps, dvds, news papers or tomorrows forecast) we were escorted to our room which was gorgeous.
The member of staff was very friendly (richard if I remember correctly) and explained the modcons in the room .
Will definatley return on every visit I have to brighton and will recommend to friends and family.

Great location, great staff, great hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat86b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Spent a long weekend here to celebrate a Fiftieth birthday - expecting it to be quiet at the end of the season, but the sun shone brightly throughout our stay in an unseasonal heat wave!

The rooms are great; the staff simply the best - friendly, polite, accommodating and unbelievably helpful- Drakes sets the standard for service that is often so lacking in UK hotels. I do not think the service could be bettered.

Two very small points:

Please consider including parking and breakfast - when you are paying more than £250 a night, these should be inclusive

If you are a light sleeper you might want to avoid the sea-facing rooms - traffic will keep you awake throughout the night (despite the shutters)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want to avoid the sea-facing rooms - traffic will keep you awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAH0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great location on The Marina few minutes walk from the Pier,
We had a problem with the booking, not the hotel's fault. We booked a sea view room but the last room was double booked. The lady on recption was extremely apologetic and showed us the remaing 4 rroms to choose from, she included free breakfast and the bigger room at cheaper rate (view not great though),
Room - attic room, ok size, free standing bath in bedroom. View is of a residential gardens with washing lines mmmm.
Shower room - was 1 of the smallest I have seen in my life,and I have really travelled. There's a toliet and tiny basin and the shower is overhead so in fact it is a wet room, so you have to remove the toilet roll asit aaalll gets wet in there, not my thing, but did the job.
Bar/recption is all in one, really sweet little bar. Service is excellent througout!!!
Car parking is arranged at next door's hotel £12.50 for 24hrs.
Breakfast can be hads in room, for no extra which we did and it was excellent :-)
I have to point out the stairs, we were from memeory 5 flights of spiral steep stairs. The last lot were steep! If you have mobility issues, you must stay on the ground floor.
All in all we had a lovely stay, just for 1 night break form London.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Me and my partner have just got back from Drakes in Brighton for our third anniversary and what a fantastic time we had. I phoned the hotel prior to the stay and they offered to prepare the room with Rose petals and bottle of champagne. When we arrived we managed to get parked on the front which was convinient and the staff were extremely friendly and polite. Our room, sea facing ying yang double with free standing bath was amazing, although the wet room I found to be a little useless but really this did not effect the rest of the room or hotel. We would defiantly stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJonesxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $137 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing