We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views; excellent front-of-house staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We couldn't find the entrance to the hotel so ended up driving up and down the road several times - a couple of the staff from Drakes came out onto the forecourt and waved their arms and made enough noise so we could find the place. That was really the trend of the service in the hotel - really friendly, really helpful, really welcoming. We were carrying a bottle of white wine in one of our open bags; before we knew it, without our asking, a champagne bucket full of ice had been sent to our room with two glasses so we could enjoy the wine at our leisure. The room was chic and really comfortable, with huge windows to let the light in and to just sit by and look at the sea, and the view from the bath was fantastic. All in, it was a very comfortable, happy stay.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

Following advise from trip advisor we chose to stay here for one night. Check in very easy, room was different, shower was different, staff were brillient. Room was very noisy but the stay was pleasant. Dinner ws supurb. Thank you Drakes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

At first, seeing the bath in the room was a bit strange, but it is a brilliant feature! The room is well laid out, everything top quality, very comfy bed. The staff was very friendly and always helpful, making us feel at home, and providing top service. Our room had a sea view, which I thought made a big difference - what a spectacular view during sun set. I was impressed with the breakfast that was served in the room, a lot of care has gone into the preparation. Needless to say the room was spotless, as you would expect - and everything just worked. Honestly, there was nothing I could complain about, it was a special occasion that we would remember, and I think we got very good value for out money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at Drakes on a Friday night and from start to finish this hotel was great. Easy to find and is located very close to the Brighton Pier (2 minute walk). Booking in was very simple and the staff were very helpful as we had not visited Brighton before, so the young man that booked us in gave us a map of Brighton with tips and areas of interest etc.
We were shown to our room which was the Feature Room and it was simply gorgeous with a terrific view. I have read reviews on here previously complaining about the noise from the road outside and revellers passing by when the windows are open!! This is not a real issue here as you can clos e the windows and set the air conditioning to a level that suits you. No noise and the air is circulating around the room. We both had a great nights sleep here the bed is so large and so comfy. The wet room is large in size and has a monsoon shower - great.

We paid £12.50 extra for breakfast in the morning and I believe the breakfast to be great value for money, I have paid a lot more for alot less quality elsewhere!! We had full english breakfast which was lovely as it was not swimming in oil, nicely done indeed.

Our stay was worth every penny and we will be visiting again for a full weekend in the summer. Fantastic hotel and great team.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondiesocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Really don't bother. We were not welcomed; could not have lunch and it is terribly noisy with building work going on next door!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Excellent dinner and fab breakfast. Bit pricey but you get what you pay for ! Very comfortable bed. Crap view from bedroom window. Centrally located. Would recommend the cocktails in the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at Drakes for a romantic Valentines weekend. The hotel is right on the front and perfect to walk down to the beach, shopping centre and The Lanes.
We booked a sea view room which is definitely worth it although the road the hotel is situated on is busy and traffic noise can be heard in the room.
The hotel has a lovely feel to it, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the bar is nice although drinks are a bit expensive.
We didn't eat in the restaurant as there are plenty to choose from in the town centre but if we go back again then I think we would give it a try.
Had a lovely weekend and thought it was well worth the money

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamd1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $128 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard for quality, service and luxury in the city, winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing