We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks cheap and basic, but good location”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looks cheap and basic, but good location”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

It states that this hotel has been renovated recently, but it didn't look that way. The furniture looks as though it has been thrown together, and is all mismatched. The rooms are so tiny you can hardly walk round the bed or sit on the toilet, but it you ask for a sea view, it makes it all worthwhile. The view of the pier day and night was lovely, and our room had 2 chairs in the window, which was a nice touch. Our friends room was at the back which was much quieter but also smaller. The shower was far too hot to stand under, but when I told them they said they would sort it out. The staff were very good whenever we had a problem. The mattress was far too hard. The breakfast was basic, cereal, toast and fry up. I think they could add a bit more variety to cereals, bread etc, but as another review said-you get what you pay for. The location is good, close to the pier and Kemp town, but parking is quite tricky. We couldn't find a car park very close by but you can park for free on the roads nearby on Sunday, if you can find a space, we couldn't. I wouldn't stay again, but if you can get it cheap enough, its fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
58
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, lucky I was with a great bunch of people or would of left and not stayed the 2 nights. As you enter there is a strong smell of curry. I personally like curry but not to have the smell constantly around me. The rooms were shabby and could do with an uplift. Beds not very comfortable. Breakfast is adequate. Owners very friendly and polite. Made us all feel welcome. This is situated in great location looking onto seafront.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARN1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST ANGLIA
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Enjoyed a night at this hotel. Price is very important and I paid £35 for a single, ensuite. It was modern, clean, quiet, well located and a good brakfast was included. I am going again. Apparently, a new family management has taken over, renovated the place, and is doing a good job. You could not ask for more at that price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLACKBOTTOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Crouch, Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is in a great location with views of the pier. However, this hotel is shabby and the rooms are tiny. You can barely walk past the end of the bed - and its not even a full lenght bed so if you are 5'10'' or more, then your legs will hand out the bottom of the bed! The ensuite is newly fitted and clean but so small that you can't sit on the loo properly as the shower cubilce is too close to the loo! THe worst thing for us though was the awful permanent stench of curry that didn't seem to go away! Needless to say we wouldn't be returning here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This is an ideally situated hotel on the seafront in Brighton

It is small but well looked after, the rooms are small but were nicely decorated and very clean & tidy. The ensuite is compact! but ideal for a short stay.

Room was very warm but once the radiator was turned down it was fine

Plasma screen TV is a nice touch plus the tea/coffee facilities

The breakfast was very nice and the staff are very helpful.

Parking is pot-luck outside but I was lucky to get a space outside the door which is free from 6pm tp 9am and then you pay £1 /hour.

A seaview takes in the Pier which is acreoss the road. I slept at the back which was quiet but a colleague who slept at the front said it was noisy from traffic and revellers

  • Liked — clean & friendly
  • Disliked — thin walls, heard guest next door talking!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2008

This hotel, is a great place to stay if you are not able to afford the exspensive, see front hotels. you are opposite the sea-life centre and pier. The rooms are small and maybe needing a little refurbmisment, But for the price you pay it is very reasonable. plus good breakfast. The people that run the hotel are very friendly and i would recomend it to friends

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malkav29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2008

this is the first time ive reviewed a hotel, but i was compelled to
write about this one to warn other travellers coming down to brighton, dont stay here!
to start with the shabby room and bathroom was below stantard, but what would you expect for that price. but the main reason i write this review is down to the rude and hostile hotel manager. his manner and tone was offensive, he has let the hotel owner down, i will definately not recommend any one to come stay here, find a better more friendly hotel to give your hard earned cash too!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — manager
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank well-ttravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#26 of 44 in Brighton
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,172 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#64 of 93 in Brighton
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#15 of 93 in Brighton
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#23 of 93 in Brighton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished, seafront guest accommodation, all 9 rooms en-suite, opposite Brighton Pier, a minute's walk to city centre/clubs/restaurants/bars. Direct sea facing rooms, flat screen digital tvs with dvd, Wifi internet access, full English breakfast, tea/coffee making facility, Brighton Centre nearby, central heating etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing