We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Windsor
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Pricey for an average 3***.but location excellent and it is July.so close to quieter Hove seafront and pleasant walk to brighton. lots of nice restaurants in Hove.very friendly Spanish staff.Dont have breakfast..plenty of nearby cafes on Church Street.Even though caters for stag parties,not disturbed.So,an adequate hotel,great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
we really appreciate this review, thank you. The summer season in the City is always mad but in a good way and we aim to offer value for money, given all the advantages you have listed

Hopefully we can see you back again from Windsor before too long

Renewed thanks for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    82
    59
    88
See reviews for
83
138
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

One of my worst hotel experiences. Arrived at 1:15pm to be told room not ready until 2pm. Despite subsequent guests being processed I was ignored until having to ask again post 2pm. Surly staff gave impression I should be thankful they were even serving me. Room was very tired looking. Bed extremely uncomfortable. Carpet had chunks missing, stains and apparent cigarette burns which was common place throughout hotel. Walls had obvious old wallpaper simply painted over. Doors did not automatically close and lock so it wasn't until I went to reopen door to leave that I discovered that you needed to physically turn lock once in room; or put key in lock and turn when leaving. This was not an easy task as other guests also found as throughout evening doors were repeatedly slammed when other guests were trying to get doors into position to close. Separate Hen's and Buck's Night parties held at hotel were clearly audible late into evening. TV very small. Bathroom acceptable. Definitely not friendly to wheelchair confined guests. This is one hotel in need of a major refurbishment of both rooms and staff. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere. This place makes Fawlty Towers look impeccable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Regrettably this is unhelpful and not a fair reflection on either the hotel or its hard working staff. Furthermore, we have no idea on what basis this guest is able to comment upon what may have been "commonplace throughout the hotel"? Our check in times are readily apparent on our website and those of our business partners, for the benefit of all our customers. Of course if a room is ready for an early arrival we will be only too pleased to check the customer in; as a minimum luggage can be left to allow some "baggage free" exploration of the many local attractions

We have never made any bones about the Langfords being akin to a grand Victorian lady sitting contentedly along Third Avenue. We have and are executing an exciting refurbishment program having only recently taken over the management of the hotel and remain on track

We have a large number of loyal customers and delight in looking after them and of course our new patrons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ventured to Brighton on a Friday afternoon without anticipating the difficulties we would have finding accommodation in a seaside resort town on an unseasonably warm weekend.

The clerk at the town hall suggested we 'door knock' (for want of a better description) the nearby streets as there were a number if B&Bs in the area. We were most fortunate to encounter the Langford first. The Langford is a guesthouse type of establishment. The greeting and ensuing service we received was excellent. A vacant room was available. We asked if the room had twin beds (for two single women) and were offered a family room ( dble bed and separate single bed room) at no extra cost. Full English breakfast additional 5GBP each.

The rooms are basic, but very clean, comfortable and spacious, and included tea and coffee making facilities. A communal sitting room with tv, as well as outdoor seating area in the back garden, where guests can enjoy refreshments. It is ideal for groups.

We were very happy with the Langford and would recommend it for its cleanliness and delightful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Amazing review thank you which has really made the staff happy, more so as the sun has got his hat on again today. Even though travelling from "Down Under" hopefully you will be able to return to the UK before too long and of course the Langfords - she's waiting!

The Langfords offer great, value for money, accommodation and we appreciate your being kind enough to say so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location and the room was clean.

However, breakfast was absolutely horrendous, the eggs were still raw, the bacon was burnt, the beans were crusty and stuck to the pot, pastries were not fresh and the coffee was disgusting. We made a complaint and nothing was done about it, reception staff told us that the next day a 'proper' chef would be working and we would be able to order food - the next day we were NOT allowed to order freshly cooked food and it was the same poor buffet. VERY disappointing and am extremely unhappy that they would not refund our £7.95 per person per day for disgusting poor quality food.

A nice place to stay but do NOT have breakfast included, much better off walking 5 minutes up to Wetherspoons for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We appreciate the candour of your review though were naturally sorry that you had cause to write about the breakfast. We have a good team in the kitchen who take a great deal of pride in their work and as such we would encourage any guest who does not feel their expectations have been met to alert our restaurant staff at the time for there is only a limited amount reception will be able to do after the event

That aside, we are pleased you found the rest of your stay to be great value for money and many thanks for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pros:
The Room was very comfortable and of decent size.
Its 15 minutes walk from Hove station and 2 minutes to beach.
Bed was very comfortable.
Location was perfect.

Cons:
Bit noisy.


Overall a Good value for money stay ...

Room Tip: No lift for 3rd floor rooms ... if you can manage then its Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
A great review thank you. Hopefully you will be able to visit from Bristol again before too long

Your kind words mean a great deal to both the staff and Langfords

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Situated about 20 mins outside of Brighton,within easy walking distance to the seafront. Hotel staff were excellent and very welcoming. The rooms were a bit dated and could have done with a lick of paint. The bed was comfy and sheets were clean. The bathroom was dated and really needed a good revamp. The breakfast was a self serve buffet and was of very good quality. Saff in the dining room were on the ball and very helpful. Parking was easy outside the hotel and was £6 a day. Overall would of been disappointed if I had paid full price for the room.

Room Tip: Try to inspect before you take room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We appreciate this balanced review and are delighted that you found so many positive aspects of your stay. We liken the Langfords to a Victorian lady of some standing with the ongoing refurbishment and maintenance program being a labour of love

Hopefully we can welcome you back before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We were so worried that this hotel would be a dive from the description of others on this site but were so pleasantly surprised to see such a beautiful building, with amazing windows flooding light right through the rooms, pleasant bedrooms with 101 even having a sofa in it and clean bathrooms. If you are looking for the lap of luxury, you'll find some stunning hotels in Brighton which will hurt your pocket but of you're just looking for a friendly hotel then you've found the right place. We came here for a hen weekend and reception staff were even offering to take our pictures!

If ANYONE complains about this hotel it's because they have obviously got beer money with champagne taste, and a negative look on life. Yes, we had a ripped carpet but who cares really? You do not spend your entire time in a hotel and as long as the people are nice, and it's clean (which it was) then you have 6 very happy customers. Thank you for having us :))))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theadventuring2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
This was one of the nicest reviews we have seen in a long time and thank you all so much. Six happy and glamorous ladies on a hen weekend sounds just perfect

The team at the Langfords do their best and it is reviews like this and the one before that make it all worthwhile

Hopefully we can see you back here either individually or as a group before very long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 44 in Brighton
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Property: Langfords Hotel
Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing