We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came to Brighton for one day and I based my choice of hotels on location. I wanted a view of the sea. Our room was fine and had a huge bathroom. Unfortunately we were on the top floor and our view outside was obstructed by an unaccessible balcony.
I recommend not taking a room on the top floor for that reason.
Breakfast was okay but location was prime. Maybe a little more than I would have liked to spend for a room.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view but not the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank for your review and glad you enjoyed the location.

I am sorry you were dissapointed and the view was slightly restricted. Let me know next time you come up and I will ensure you get an alternative room. Standard Seaview Rooms are smaller but all Premium Seaview Rooms are larger with Full Seaviews.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    799
    427
    171
    110
See reviews for
233
1,068
57
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our third stay at the hotel and again, it was a good experience. We chose to stay here as the location is perfect - right on the beach front by the pier. The hotel rooms are clean and nice. This stay are room was a little bit 'cosier' (room 101) however the previous 2 stays we had a lovely sized room. The staff are friendly and it has a lovely atmosphere.
The only negative we would have for this stay would be the cost of the parking. Previously we did not know that their was a car park so would park in town, however the prices have been made more expensive over the past year. When we found out about the car park under the hotel when booking (as it is well hidden, which is good for security), we decided to make use of this service, however it is fairly pricey - at £23 a night and if you want to stay longer on your last day, you have to pay an additional hourly price. The service for the parking is excellent - but certainly pricey!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mearsy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your hotel and pleased you enjoy coming to us.

Being an older hotel we will have varying room types but when you next come please let us know your favorite room and we will do our best to get this for you.

Parking at the hotel is limited and operated on a valet parking basis., We continually monitor our pricing and ensure our hourly rates are lower than the nearest car park based on a 24hour rate.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My first trip to Brighton, on a coach tour from Yorkshire, and I had been a little apprehensive having read some bad reviews. All I can say to them is that socks must have been pulled up a long way. My room was more than adequate, with superbly comfortable bed. Furniture was a little tired, but I didn't expect Waring & Gillows. Ok, the view wasn't the best, but hey...I was going in there to sleep, not stare out of the window. The food was excellent, and I speak as a professional caterer. I cannot praise the staff enough. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them, especially the lovely Philip and Matt. They put the icing on the cake for my party. Bouquets all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. (I didn't, but heard staff mention it to someone else)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your fabulous review and was a delight to read.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and regretted it. The bed looked like someone had just got out of it, carpet was dirty and the bathroom was a disaster zone. The tiles were cracked and discoloured on both the walls and floor, towels were left in the bath not on the towel warmer. Shower was cold and there was hair all around the sink and bath. There has got to be better places to stay in Brighton than this surely!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank PMills2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer

I was very dissapointed to read your review and have contacted you via Tripadvisor to ask for further information.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Last stayed here about 30 years ago and several owners ago. The hotel has been modernised to quite a degree and has lost a lot of its original old fashioned charm. However it is now brighter and smarter looking.

Our room, 207 was a twin bed room facing the side of the hotel and directly opposite the dustbins of the hotel next door. This was Not an issue and only mentioned because for some reason, someone at The a Thistle hotel deems it necessary to chuck away a load of glass at about 5.30am each morning! Unsurprisingly this regular loud noise woke us. (A complaint was made to their duty manager who was not aware of the problem).

The room was neat and clean and we were lucky to have a large electric fan to help cool the room at night. We had the usual room facilities of tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV.

Another thing I would like to mention was very good wifi connection not only in the reception and lounges but, we were told, all over the hotel. I can confirm the wifi in our room was good.

The hotel dies apparently have a gym but I never saw or used it and therefore cannot comment further on it.
.

Breakfast at the Old Ship was completely self service and there was a good choice of cereals, hot food, juices etc.

The major difference that we found was the very nice was the addition of an outside lounge area at the front of the hotel with rattan armchairs and coffee tables and large umbrellas which because we had wonderful weather, was more of a necessity than anything else.

For anyone not familiar with the location of this hotel I can confirm it is directly opposite the beach and is between a 5-10 min walk in one direction to reach The Lanes (a series of narrow passages of shops), in another direction to reach Brighton's Pier and Aquarium. In another direction to the main shopping centre and of course only slightly longer to walk to the famous Brighton Pavilion.

Personally I found the cost of buying food/meals from the hotel was rather expensive, especially silly considering the vast range of restaurants and other eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Sea views were offered at £40 per night extra. Personally I would say although nice, definitely not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgware2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and particularly you enjoyed the outside dining. We regaularly check our pricing against the local restaurant and bars to ensure we are not out priced.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with tesco club card vouchers which is the only reason we didn't complain about the room. The view was disgusting and as you can see from the picture, included what I guess is a bag of faeces as that's what it looked like! The duvet didn't fit in the cover and had brown stains on (also pictured). The room was dusty, especially under the dressing table and there were stains on carpet and marks on wall which looked like damp. Breakfast was ok and had a good variety but the museli was sugar laden and the bacon was fatty and the sausages cheap! The location was ideal and staff friendly but had I been paying I would have complained right away as £230 for two nights isn't cheap!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatMatt8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Seaview rooms are available at a supplements and can even be booked using your tesco vouchers.

I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding the duvets as new duvets have only recently been purchased and will address this with my housekeeping department.

I am sorry you did not raise this during your stay and assure you that this will be actioned

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here on business, and upon checking in, after an incredibly tiring day at work, I asked what I needed to do to get room service, and was told to call a number from the phone in my room. After 10 mins of calling and not getting an answer, I was finally told that I would have to wait until after 9.30pm to get dinner. By this point I'd showered and put on some pyjamas...! Food eventually arrived at 10pm.
The room was absolutely lovely, the bathroom was spacious, nice tv, king sized bed. It is a noisy hotel though, as it's on the seafront, so there were a lot of other guests walking past at the small hours.
In future I'll be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one in a quiet part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It was dissapointing to read that you found you had trouble getting room service and will ensure this will be reviewed with my operations team.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing