We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Ship Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Una(Brighton)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Legends Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$135
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$135
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$133
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)
$117
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$210
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,554)
Filter reviews
2,554 results
Traveler rating
694
964
555
208
133
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
964
555
208
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanbox of chocolateslovely hotelcar parknoisy at nightearly hourssuperior roomshort breakideal locationpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafronttwo night staybreakfast was excellentlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,787 - 1,792 of 2,554 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights due to seeing a show at the local theatre. The hotel was fine and the staff are great except for those supposedly covering breakfast. They just seemed to stand around and chat. My one concern was the hidden charge of £23 parking fee per night which I was not aware of when I booked. Just across the road from the hotel garage is The Lanes car park which from after 1800hrs until 1059hrs costs £9.50 in very secure parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This is an over priced hotel, trading on location and history.

Receptionist English skills poor

Room noisy
Carpet taped down
Ceiling near collapse - ok I am exaggerating. Room needs decorating badly.

On the plus side when we complained eventually upgraded to a premium room. Large room, top of hotel - with premium peeling wallpaper........

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were dissapointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location and reasonable value for money.

Front desk staff efficient and helpful.

Had dinner on first evening as part of the package, both food and service was above expectations.

On the other hand buffet breakfast not so good. Hot food was not hot, certain hot item trays were empty and a considerable time was taken to replenish them. Tables were left uncleared, and no attention was paid to the food and napkins on the floor. Same scenario both mornings.

Even though it was not busy, the Bar waiting service in the outdoor seating area was poor. On two occasions it was quicker to go to the bar than wait for service. Again tables not cleared promptly.

Our room was clean although a bit dated, however it is an old building. The separate W.C. had no ventilation, and both windows had been painted shut, and would not open.

We were looking out onto the central light well. Although not a problem in itself we found out why the hotel provided ear plugs in the bedside table drawer. There was fan noise until the early hours and the mornings were started by the drone of seagulls which had access to the light well (there was no bird netting.?)

Room Tip: If you are offered an attractive rate rate for an upgrade to a sea view room- Take it! We were offered at check in, but it wasn't a great price.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and pleased be assured that where possible action will be taken over your comments

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, a combination of modern and old world charm. Staff very friendly and breakfast is good, sets you up for the day.We were in room 342, newly decorated and was a lovely room however there is no air con and no fan and we couldn't leave the window open at night due to the noise outside, however bed was very comfy and spacious and all in all we had a great nights rest. The location is spot on, right on the beach front, with The Lanes behind us. Brighton is a great place is enjoy different cultures and to relax. We found some very interesting shops and street markets off of Western Road on Saturday which is well worth a visit. Simply walking along the beach front and stopping in a bar for a drink in the sunshine was amazing and very relaxing. The people are friendly and all in all a great atmosphere. Be warned the beach front gets busy by 9.30 and by 11am there are coach loads of children/groups being dropped off at the pier but first thing and late at the night the pier and beach frontage is lovely with mainly locals out enjoying themselves. I would reccommend The Old Ship for its convenience, lovely spacious (newly deocrated) rooms and its view out ot sea.


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarahfb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

First night in a room round the side on 2nd floor, got 2 hours sleep, drunken people from the club/pub opposite screaming and shouting in the street until 4am, taxis arriving, doors slamming, more shouting? The sound echoes as such a narrow street, no double glazing!!! Room itself was lovely, very spacious, really comfy bed. The whole of that side of the hotel is being refurbished and so our view was scaffolding and blue netting! 6am came the delivery man rattlingand banging his trolley right under our room, followed at 6:45 by the sound of crashing from bottles being tipped into the recycling skip! When it was during a quiet spell you could hear pigeons or mice in the loft above. The bathroom wasn't that clean, had pink film on the tiles where they join bath and round the taps. On the floor under sink were hairs and bits of paper.

We spoke to reception who were concerned and offered us three alternative rooms, all on the 2nd floor. We chose a biggish sea view room, not so nicely furnished but a better view and a lot quieter. It was then that we found out there were ear plugs in the bedside cupboards!

The road is noisy though and a mass of drunken hen and stag parties one after the other amble up and down outside all night and well into the small hours however, with double glazing and the fan on (rooms are stuffy) it was tolerable and quite entertaining to watch. Slept a lot better until one group outside started fighting and shouting very loudly right under the window at 3:30am.

Breakfast is very good for an extra tenner.

Hotel needs a lick of pain and some new carpets and furniture as looking a bit worn. The ladies toilets by the gym were dirty, toilet paper all over the floor and some suspect stuff on the floor, out of five loos only two were clean.

Room Tip: Make sure it has double glazing.....unless you're a heavy sleeper or don't mind the noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosieposiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and pleased be assured that where possible action will be taken over your comments

The scaffolding is in place as currently new windows are being fitted. This has taken time to get the necessary permissions as the hotel is partially listed and situated in a conservation area.

Kindest regards


Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews