We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location close to the north laines and overlooking the sea and pier. Great valet parking. Staff lovely including reception and bar. Nice spacious room with lovely view. The breakfast hostess (glamourous mature lady) is a shining star amongst the staff. Thanks!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JamesnKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear JamesnKristen

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regard

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked a deal on Amazon Local which included one night, a three course meal (with a bottle of wine), breakfast, and late check out.

The hotel was quiet in February and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The staff members were exceptionally courteous and nice. It was my boyfriend's birthday and they had sent up a card with a box of chocolates which was a lovely touch.

The hotel itself and the rooms are dated which means that this can sometimes give the impression that it is not clean. However, we enjoyed our stay; we found the room comfortable and had a lovely view of the sea.

The meal in the restaurant was equally delectable, and breakfast next morning was in the form of a continental breakfast.

Brighton, as always, in summer or winter, was an absolute charm!

We would come again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybugs_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Ladybug_Lover

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regard

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Please avoid this disgusting hotel at all costs. Stayed here for one night as too late to travel home. Room grubby,shower full of mould,breakfast vile!!!! Where do i stop? Please can somebody tell me what the handyman dept does( when or if they have one0 when they are there? Not very much by the state of the place!! Please dont stay here,your be wasting your money and putting your health and sanity at risk......... You have been warned !!

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank luvsunSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

I have requestedme you contact me so I can investigate further

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

All staff were on top form at all times, they were very well in receiving us and all passionate about there roles providing excellent service. Food was very good, breakfast was great! Awesome location! We had a superior room which was nicely decorated and a most comfortable bed.
The hotel has stood for some years, and we found it a little tired in some areas but this was to be expected however they are improving the building slowly but surely.
I would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N111AOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear N111AOM

Thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards
Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Went for my 40th birthday with my husband for our first night away from the little ones. We stayed in 317 which was kindly upgraded by the staff for my birthday and had a sea view and overlooking the pier. Outstanding hotel would go again. Only slight niggle was bar closed early and couldn't have a cocktail which we would have loved for my 40th. Would definitely go again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Sarah M

Thank you for your review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and sorry you could not get a cocktail when the bar closed. When quiet and after normal licencing hours we do operate a limited drinks offering but hope this did not spoil your stay.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

First time to the Old Ship and don't think we will be returning. Paid £275 for a 2 night stay with breakfast and a sea view. Seemed to be put up in the eaves with scaffolding outside and a net obscuring our view. We specifically booked a sea view. Told reception who sent a maintenance man up but he said he could not sort it out as it was an outside company. Small room, which is ok but radiator not working to full strength so quite cold. Shower took 10 mins to heat hot water then came out as very low pressure. Bath looked very old and tiny. Mildew around the silicone. However, the staff all seemed friendly and the breakfast had everything you could need and more. Would not say this is a four star yet, but maybe when they have finished all the refurbishments. Do think that if you do not get what is advertised on website i.e., sea view, then some discounts need to be applied.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SHAGGYWOODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Shaggywoody

Thank you for your review and I am sorry for your dissapointment.

When you return to the hotel please contact me directly and I will ensure you are given a full seaview room.

Kindest regards,

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Have stayed here before and had a lovely room hence the re-booking as we are regular visitors to Brighton. This room was tiny, it must have been a store cupboard in a previous life. The bathroom was literally 1/2 a metre wide and could just fit in a toilet and a small shower. A kettle was available but took a good hunt until we found a plug in the other side of the room. Located near the stairs with very thin walls so very noisy through the night. The normally friendly staff member who meets & greets for breakfast was extremely dismissive and stopped talking to us mid-sentence to greet more popular regulars. Last time for us at The Old Ship.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabfoodie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Fabfoodie1972

Thank you for your review.

The hotel is up to 450 years old in parts and so room sizes unfortunatly are not standard throughout but this adds to the quirkyness of the hotel.

I am sorry you found the breakfast team dismissive and will address this.

I do hope you will return to the hotel and if you contact me personnally I will ensure you are allocated a larger room.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $73 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing