We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Ship Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$141
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Una(Brighton)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legends Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$156
$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,548)
Filter reviews
2,548 results
Traveler rating
693
961
554
207
133
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
961
554
207
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanbox of chocolateslovely hotelcar parknoisy at nightearly hourssuperior roomshort breakideal locationpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafronttwo night staybreakfast was excellentlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,949 - 1,954 of 2,548 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My stay was an unfortunate experience, there was a serious water leak which led to no water hot or cold, it was one of those things that happen in life. However to the managements & staff credit they fell over backwards to make my stay the best they could under the circumstances.
The room they gave me was pleasant with sea views, the weather was awful so couldn't really appreciate, the breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It was an extremly difficult situation which my team faced great pressure and so your feedback is very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for special birthday in a sea view. When we checked in we were advised they had no water but was being fixed ASAP , we were offered bottled water and tea & coffee. We decided to have a few drinks in the bar within the hour the water was back on!! We received a free breakfast in the morning for the inconvenience caused. Staff very friendly & helpful , rooms lovely & clean. Will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in the hotel, checked in and went up to the room to find no heating, fungus growing on the carpet and no water!!!

Really we should have been advised BEFORE we checked in.

Advised when I called at 12 noon all would be corrected in a few hours - arrived back at the hotel at 6pm and still no water - reception struggling to address.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Many thanks for your review. I am not sure where you get the fungus from but we did incur an issue with water supply in the hotel. I assure you this was beyond our control and was rectified as quickly as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Ideal location ( check access on google first) good food,comfortable bed.Near to lanes/restaurants/pavilion.Look at inclusive deals on Groupon we had meal & wine & afternoon tea next day/sea view room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean and tidy. My only complaint was I ran out of free wifi allowance to quickly. Think the allowance was 500kb for free or you pay for additional usage. I had a room on the top floor with a sea view which was very nice (just a shame we had real english weather, raining)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review.

The wifi is unlimited during your stay and free of charge. However should you need a faster connection this is an addtional charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews