We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hotel”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Although my stay @ The Old Ship hotel was short (only 1 night) - I can highly recommend the hotel for it's central location in Brighton, rooms were basic - yet functional and the breakfast selection was exceptional. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and attentive at all times!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RayB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Please note that the superior bedrooms are extremely noisy until about 5:30 the following morning as the clubs on the beach spill out opposite the hotel and the revellers like to talk in front of the hotel! Hotel needs a lot of maintenance work done. Be warned they don't just take your credit card details they physically take £100 from your credit card and return it sometime after you leave so if it falls badly you could actually be out of pocket!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JC57two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.

All the sea facing rooms are now double glazed and works has commenced this week to install new windows to all our superior double rooms.

In order to charge addtional extras to your room account we take a pre-authorisation on a credit or debit card. The option is always available to pay for items as you have them if you do not wish to give a pre-authorisation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

There are good and bad things about this hotel. We arrived at noon on Saturday expecting just to dump our bags only to be told the room was ready - which was a very nice surprise. The room itself was a decent size with a large TV, big bed with clean white linen. The carpet was quite stained as were the two chairs in the room and the walls were pretty scuffed and a rather drab green colour! Our upstairs neighbours sounded like they were doing circuits of the room and the floorboards were really creaky - a bit annoying!

Breakfast was good - help yourself and everything we had was hot, tasty and there was a good choice.

I think the hotel is going through a renovation programme so once that's complete I'm sure I would highly recommend it - location is superb and it's a lovely old building.. We got a very good deal for our weekend so I think we got good value for money. All in all I would recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 247 which is on a corner so the bathroom is down a couple of stairs - gave a feeling of...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 750KMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We have refurbished 32 bedrooms and a further 45 are planned to commence in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A charming old style hotel complete with original lifts in one section of the hotel, classic old building in prime location on Brighton sea front, great views from the front rooms, comfy beds and lovely staff, overall the hotel is excellent, the rooms were comfortable with good quality beds and bedding although just to be pickey the room good do with fresh lick of paint and due to the main hub of Brighton night life being on the sea front the noise levels throughout the night may not be to every bodies taste! the bathroom good with bath/shower hot towel rail although the water flow was very weak. the main public/bar areas were good with comfortable seating a good view over the seafront, we were informed the restaurant was closed and as we had booked a package including dinner we were asked if we would like to join the party night or have the portion of the package refunded so we could dine elsewhere, glad we chose the party night and had a fantastic time a big thank you to Jason the Op's Manager!!

Breakfast was first class one of the better hotel breakfasts we have ever had superb!!

Parking at £23 is expensive but the car is valet parked and ready to go on your day of departure.

Room Tip: Front rooms are sea views but beware of noisy revellers passing by throughout the night!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review

I have passed your praise onto Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I'm giving the hotel a 4 instead of a 3 because it's better than a 3 1/2. Rooms with great views over the ocean, well positioned close to the pier and The lovely Lanes area.
the bathroom, although a bit tired was nice & large, a nice size room, big TV, nice restaurant.
the downs - poor in room wifi, you need to be in the lounges downstairs; not enough lifts, & they're slow.

Room Tip: on reflection I'd pick a refurbe'd room round the side; you lose the view but you get peace...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlgarveSunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

We are finalising plans to install a third lift into the hotel and am hopeful will be installed in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

the old ship is a classic old building on a prime location on Brighton seafront, overall the hotel is excellent , the reception staff were polite and efficient as were all the hotel staff,
the rooms were comfortable with good quality beds and bedding although just to be pickey the room good do with fresh lick of paint,and due to the main hub of Brighton night life being on the sea front the noise levels during the night may not be to every body taste we were prepared and used ear plugs!! the bathroom good with bath/shower hot towel rail although the water flow was very weak.
the main public/bar areas were good with comfortable seating a good view over the seafront.the restaurant was very good quality dinner was good and breakfast was first class one of the better hotel breakfasts we have ever had superb.
MY BLACK MARK, car parking at the hotel is beyond belief, we stayed two nights which equated to just over 36 hours and were charged £46 this works out at a staggering £161 per week this is legalised robbery!!!and if this is the norm for this hotel/Brighton i will think twice about ever returning.

Room Tip: you pay an average of £20 extra for a sew view but are getting the noiscest rooms !! the side rooms...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Our valet parking service is limited in its availability and so we need to keep parking prices competitive to local authority parking in order to avoid dissapointment when we are full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A charming old style hotel complete with original elevator in one section of the hotel. Wonderful views from the front rooms, comfy beds and lovely staff. A couple of points lost on overly heated rooms, terrible hot water service and "free wifi" that worked in about 1% of the areas within the hotel. Breakfast was amazing and included in price. Parking however was expensive at £23 overnight or £2.30 per hour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $74 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing