We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really did enjoyed our stay at the old ship hotel,on a special deal. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we had two great nights sleep. Breakfast and evening meal were very tasty and staff very helpful and friendly with great service from everyone. We did not choose to upgrade on our deal as we were on a budget, so no surprises to find our room was rather dated and shabby!! but it was clean and all amenities were available. We would definitely return and probably upgrade!!

Room Tip: Upgrade!! if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    815
    442
    175
    112
See reviews for
238
1,095
58
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel was nice enough, not impressive but ok. You're definitely paying for the seafront location.

However, if you're planning on a good night's sleep don't bother! There are pubs and night clubs down the side of the hotel (where our room was) and the noise goes on for hours, around 3/4 am but then the clean up crew start about 6.30! Our friends were staying at the front and they said it was extremely noisy there too. The problem is the very old single glazed windows. We're not old, all in our thirties, weren't back until well after midnight and had all had a few drinks but obviously not enough to sleep.

Also, the cooked breakfast really wasn't great.

The staff however were all very cheery and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz-Lymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. All external rooms in the hotel are double glazed with the exception of Ship Street. We are currently awaiting a decision from the council for planning permission to change these to double glazed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed on the third floor for two nights. Due to the poor insulated windows the nights were noisy either by the winds or the revellers. Wallpaper was coming away from the walls and generally the hotel needs updating for a 4* hotel. But to end on a good note, the bed was very comfortably and the bathroom was clean and the little service we had was good. What more do you want from a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Whilst the breakfast buffet is excellent, the waiting staff, are over eager to clear your table! We had juice etc on our table and went up for some hot food, only to come back to the table cleared, re-set up, and someone else sitting down! This is an old hotel, so has character but even the refurbished room we had did not have double glazing, so very noisy all night with 'revellers', even in November!! The gym is a nice touch, but nobody advised us it was there and only found it by accident as we were leaving!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LizzyhopLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and assure you that all your feedback will be listened to and where possible immediate action taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The overall appearance of the hotel was shabby;
Lobby / Bar / Restaurant areas; Poorly maintained, carpets were untidy and the bar area was messy in appearance, coffee cups drinks glasses and plates left on tables. At the bar (which was relatively empty)we waited for over 5 minutes to be seen, the hotel offer of coffee and cake was somewhat farcical, no cake was available so a croissant was given as the alternative! (The same croissants were still under the glass case the following morning).
Dinner - For dinner we ordered a bottle of Prosecco, it arrived at the table already open, at room temperature and flat. The waitress had no idea what she was serving or how it should be served, or in which type of glass –on the plus side the waiter did replace it when asked. Plates were not warmed which may have some bearing on why the food was served luke-warm. We would question the chefs knowledge of certain cuisine, (gnocchi in our mind is pasta with potato or other ingredients - not a thinly fried potato!) the scallops were of poor quality, the main course was pleasant although only just warm and the desserts – 1 was OK although it appears the chef’s do not know the difference between a Raspberry and a Strawberry and the 2nd (a baked Alaska) was very unpleasant.
The restaurant was disappointing, the atmosphere was stark and the lighting was poorly set - 2 recessed lights were outside of their holders, dangling precariously over tables. Tables were set with incorrect cutlery, and the condiments were also empty. When you looked at the walls you could clearly see where painting with a roller had taken place, but the decorators had failed to ‘cut in’ this made the walls look shabby. There was a red cloth with ornaments placed on it, you could clearly see that one ornament had recently been removed because of the thick dust mark surrounding where it had had once been.
Breakfast was abysmal, despite the charisma and enthusiasm of the lady who showed us to a table. Unfortunately a starling (bird) had gotten into the restaurant, we watched as it flew around, at one stage it landed on a cereal bowl (from which cereal was being served) and was chased off by the staff, no attempt was made to replace the bowl or the cereal. The coffee was undrinkable, and at no time was the cooked breakfast available simultaneously – most of which was cold or luke-warm (the containers felt at room temperature and not been switched on). Finally we prefer our sausages cooked!
Bedroom: threadbare carpets, mildew on bathroom walls, cracked tiles and shelves, PAT test labels missing or torn from electrical equipment, and the central heating did not work, a replacement heater was provided but the bathroom was still cold. Our sea view was blighted by the dead fish head and pool of mud and rubbish visible on the balcony directly outside of our window.
It is a shame that our comments cannot put the hotel in a positive light, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful, our first encounter was with the garage/car parking and the gentlemen who dealt with us there as well as the reception staff were excellent and great ambassadors for the Puma Group.
It goes without saying that the hotel is in need of some updating, but the problems mainly stem from poorly trained and poorly managed staff which has resulted in a poorly maintained hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TapasTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and am sorry we could not meet your expectations throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Things didn't get off to a great start when I arrived at 2:15 to be told my room wouldn't be ready until 3. 'But it says check in from 2,' I pointed out. The girl on reception - who I can only describe as 'surly' - replied with 'some are ready, yours isn't.' I went to sit in the hotel lounge, expecting maybe to be offered a free tea/coffee whilst I waited. Oh foolish, foolish hope.

I watched as a couple of other people in the lounge were fetched and told their rooms were ready. Eventually, at about 3:30pm, I went to reception. 'Oh yes it's ready now, did no one come and get you?' The chipper receptionist asked.

No, no they did not.

Room was small but fine. Electricity wasn't working but was fixed quickly after I called reception. Recently redecorated with a TV, small double (I could probably have shared it with a hamster rather than person), and bath/shower. One complaint is that their plug sockets by the bed are all modified for their own lamps, so I could only plug my phone/laptop in across the room.

The big issue with the rooms is the noise. They are single glazed and, as such, it's like you are actually right there with the students as they sing, yell and copulate. My window blew all night and I had to resort to folding up paper to wedge in the gap between the frame and window. I know they can't do anything about noisy students but earplugs would have been a nice gesture and they COULD have fixed my window so I didn't spend the night listening to a percussion soundtrack as it blew around in the frame.

The blind in my room broke twice and they had to tie it back together.

A bird escaped into the restaurant and ran amok during breakfast.

And, to rub salt in the wound, housekeeping didn't replenish my biscuits.

The good points: room is nice, convenient location, good breakfast.

Honestly, it was an incredibly disappointing stay. I would have expected apologies, or free tea/coffee as a sorry... ANYTHING really. But they were pretty rubbish on that front too. Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Julietski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review which I have emailed you directly about
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had an amazing stay at this hotel for my sister's hen weekend. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very welcoming and helpful, enjoying our special time too. Without a doubt some of the best service I have received. Accommodation was clean and very comfortable. However, it is the staff that make this hotel what it is. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, they certainly contributed to an excellent weekend. Would definitely stay here again!! Thank you Staff of the Old Ship Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaR1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing