We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night only” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Choose the old ship hotel as it was right next door to an event we were attending.
Really impressed with the cleanliness of the room & the overall facilities.
Not usually fond of buffet breakfasts but couldn't fault this one 10/10 overall a really nice hotel & we would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    776
    420
    164
    109
See reviews for
227
1,040
56
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We decided to stay in the old ship as is was on the sea front and close to the shops, the pier and nightlife. You couldn't ask for a more central location.

We arrived early so our bags were looked after until to could check in (around 2pm). The hotel room had a nice double bed, TV, desk and chair. Tea/Coffee facilities were available too.

The bathroom was really nice, clean with soft white towels and shampoo/ shower gel provided aswell.

The bed was really comfortable with nice plump pillows.

The breakfast buffet was great. There was a good choice of cereal, museli, Breads, croissant, fruit aswell as a full english offering if you preferred it. Great choice of Teas and coffee too.

All in all a great hotel, friendly courtious staff and a great location. Will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: IF you have restricted mobility then advise the hotel as we was on 2nd floor and there were a number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room - good size, nice bed and bedding, comfortable bathroom. For extra 10 Pounds you get a sea view. We opened the french door the sea in all it's glory presented itself to our eager eyes.
The sound was that of a river of relentless traffic passing leasurly by. In the small hours when all the drivers parked their cars and slipped into their pajamas a teenager's nightclub next door came to life that made us miss the sound of traffic.
Dinner was booked for 21.00H. We presented ourselves at 21.00 and were told that the kitchen is closed. After some protest we were left standing in the middle of the room until the staff verified our claim. When the dinner arrived we were sorry that the kitchen stayed open for us.
Horrible tasting food, good dessert though. Some silver lining there must be!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room without a sea view or a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rema z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review

I am sorry for the confusion over the dinner times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen do. Was excellent location, I was in a double room to myself and it was lovely, comfy bed. Was a bit noisy but as we were out until late this didn't bother us. Sea voew rooms are really nice! Breakfast was good too. Rooms could probably do with an update but other than that worth what you pay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night in Brighton and, having stayed at several other local hotels over the past few years, decided to give the Old Ship Hotel a try and got a great deal on bed and breakfast. From the moment we walked through the revolving doors the hotel lived up to our expectations. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful and check in only took a couple of minutes. Our room, 507, was at the side of the hotel and offered a glimpse of the sea. It was spacious and clean with a big television, lots of storage space and lovely comfortable beds. Public areas downstairs were light and airy with an impressive choice of lounge areas to enjoy your drinks from the modern, friendly bar. After eating out at a nearby restaurant we decided to end the evening in the bar where my daughter was delighted to find there was a pool table, so we settled for a few frames with our drinks. The hotel’s lift is functional though rather antiquated which bemused my teenage daughter who said she had never been in an ‘old fashioned’ lift before. But it served its purpose. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style with plenty of choices to suit all tastes on the hot and cold counters. It was the perfect end to a very enjoyable stay.

All in all a great hotel in a fantastic location right on the seafront and very good value for money. I will be booking the Old Ship Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ive been using Brighton for a few years now and have stayed in numerous hotels and B and Bs and in my opinion this is the most complete hotel in Brighton. The staff are fab as is the location and the breakfast . I would be hard pushed to use anywhere else . Great Hotel !!!

Room Tip: Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammersmith
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night last weekend. As we arrived early, the hotel allowed us to store our luggage there while we explored Brighton. Check in was quick and efficent, room was huge and we had a lovely sea view. Lots of storage space, huge tv and very comfortable bed. Bathroom was bright and clean too. I was initially worried about the noise from the seaview room as we had previously stayed in another hotel in Brighton with seaview and the noise was terrible. However, I can thankfully say that we did not get disturbed once by road noise, seagulls or passing pedistrians. In the morning, my husband and I went and sat downstairs as they outside seating and enjoyed people watching and the view. Check out again fast and efficent, again, allowing us to store our luggage as we were not leaving Brighton till late afternoon. Lovely hotel, clean bright and tidy and I would defiantely stay here again as it is sooooo central to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing