We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dog friendly hotel in a great location!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the old ship hotel and we took our 1 year old Labrador with us. The hotel was great for the dog, we were given a dog bed and biscuits for the dog (which he loved very much!!) and it was across the road from a dog friendly beach. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a fantastic location opposite the pier and within walking distance to all the bars and shops. We couldn't fault the hotel and we had a great stay. Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review and look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall an enjoyable stay, we had one of the new refurbish rooms which was clean tidy and very pleasant, the only problem we occurred was the room was situated on the side street and young people were extremely noisy in the early hours of the morning.
All the staff were pleasant from the reception, Bar to the dinning room.
The breakfast had a good choice to choose from but could had been hotter.
If staying I would ask for a room away from the side street if possible.
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianlondon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed our new rooms. We have applied for planning permission to change the windows to reduce the noise and hope to start work soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay in Brighton then try the old ship hotel. It was very clean, friendly and smack bang in the best location. Next to the pier, the lanes shops and the beach.

All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, all prepared fresh and plenty of choice.

The rooms were clean and very modern - there was some noise in the early hours from traffic but it didn't spoil our stay.

Overall I would recommend staying here, we'll be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stratts2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review and look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi we went to this hotel at the weekend. Paid £199 including parking. The noise around this hotel is terrible. I know I picked the town centre to stay inn, but noisy until 7am what a dissopintment. And the 24hr room service is a joke. The only thing they have to offer is a hame sandwich with a £5 service charge. You would be better of staying in the travelodge for £69

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you were disturbed from the outside noise though rates at the travelodge are significantly higher at weekends.

We offer a full room service menu which is identical to the bar menu however a tray charge will apply. The room service menu is limited to around 12 items after 10pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is only just a 4 star|
We booked a sea view room for 3 nights which was good until the club next door closed at 2am and emptied out for what seemed like hours, we had very little sleep.
The breakfast was OK but the dining room very basic. The bed was comfortable but the grouting around the bath very dirty. We certainly wouldn't recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelfordHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.

There is not a night club next to the hotel but am sorry the general nightlife distrubed your stay. Refrubishment plans have already commenced with 32 rooms now complete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here as a few years ago I had an awful experience - dirty rooms - dirty hotel and generally rubbish
However, stayed here for a drink and had good look around hotel
Wow - what a difference since Puma taken over
They had a lady constantly cleaning - place spotless - people attentive friendly and only too eager to help
This is back on my places to stay list

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank StressFreeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review and look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked through secret escapes and I felt we got a great deal. We had a sea view double room and what an amazing view we had, the room was a good size and had everything we needed.
I felt the room could have been cleaned a bit better as was quite dusty but overall it was lovely. The breakfast was buffet style and had everything you could want, very impressive!
Staff were friendly and professional.
We had a late check out until 2pm including in our offer which was great.
Would defiantly stay here again if an offer came up and was in a sea view room as it made all the difference to us, although it was a bit noisy but that's to be expected as on the sea front and very busy but it wasn't really a problem as the room/view/breakfast & facilities made up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review and look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $69 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing