We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak on sea- horrific” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steak on sea- horrific”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped today for lunch and I am compelled to write a review. We were coldly met by I suspect a female manager as she was wearing a suit compared to the waitresses. We asked if we could sit for food and she didn't even make eye contact with me to say yes. She said Jodie would serve us who was a young girl in her 20's. she took our drink order and food order swiftly. After receiving our drinks in good time we then waited a RIDICULOUS 45 minutes for a chicken and cheese wrap and some lamb kofta's. when I went to investigate where our food was Jodie nor manager was anywhere in sight so I asked a female bar tender. She informed me that she didn't know anything about our food as 'Jodie' had finished her shift and went to ask the chef. The bartender then returned 10 minutes later with our food with no explanation and no apology. My boyfriend and I both agreed that if we were not so hungry and had not already paid for our food, we would have most definitely left and gone else were.
Finally when the food did come the wrap was as dry as a bone, lamb kofta's rock hard and had most defiantly been under the hot light for a while.
I've never encountered bad service like it.
I would highly appreciate a reply from a manager

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and giving me the further information I requested when I contacted you.

The issues have now been resolved and further training has been given to the team and hope you will return to us as we have discussed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    776
    420
    164
    109
See reviews for
227
1,040
56
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mabank, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a few days, nice hotel, pleasant staff, cooked breakfast was a welcome start to the day but was cold.

On our final night my younger sister decided rather than drive back home she would also spend the night. Not cheap at all at 180 pounds... but that's what you get for booking at the desk and it being a 4* hotel right? The room should have been wonderful one would think?

I went to collect her the next day and the smell of drying paint was terrible, it had actually made her poorly the next day. I was with her when she complained about this at the desk. The lady at the desk was very pleasant but offered no resolution to this. When my sister had driven off I went back and said that really was not acceptable, and a 'on behalf of the hotel I apologize' does not really cut it when you are sold a room that's not fit for purpose. Personally I would rather stay in a grubby room than a freshly painted one that stank of paint. I don't see how a freshly decorated room that you can't sleep in is something she should have been grateful for?
The lady promised a manager would call me that night, they didn't. When we checked out I complained again, with the lady saying my sister should have complained at check out for them to do something, BUT SHE DID!! I spoke to another manager, again very nice, gave me the hotel manager's business card and assured me they would call my sister on the Monday. They didn't. My sister had to email them and I also sent an email to confirm everything she had said. I got a very generic reply from the manager of The Old Ship basically saying they would make future guests aware of this. What good is that?

Again you would think a 4 * hotel would offer a resolution but she was offered no such thing, just a very hollow apology. There will probably be a reply under this review along the lines of extensive renovations, whatever, The Old Ship is concerned with money not guests.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the beach facing rooms is well worth the money, great view. It is a little noisy outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

As explained to your sister by leaving it to the time of departure to state the room smelt of paint would not allow us to be able to resolve the issue. I was surprised that if the smell was as bad as you stated that this was not highlighted on arrival.

We are undergoing a major refurbishment programme in the hotel and the room your sister was in had been returned to us two weeks prior and several guests being in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location on the sea front, very near pier. Very good value for bed and breakfast. Room comfortable and clean, although the window needed a good cleaning! I'll excuse given that there was scaffolding outside across the road which may have been producing dust.Staff were welcoming and friendly, breakfast very good standard. Only down side, it can be noisy outside at night as there is a fish and chip shop just beside where young people gather on their way home, in fact there was a fight there on one of the nights! having said that it didn't bother us much and overall I would recommend the 'old ship', really enjoyed our two nights there.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking fish and chip shop, can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked a standard double including breakfast direct with the hotel. l arrived at 10.30am although check in wasn't until 2pm, they informed me that they had upgraded me to a superior room which would be ready at 2pm, they looked after my luggage until check in time which gave me ample time to have a walk round The Lanes in Brighton.. which are on the doorstep of the Hotel. When l came back at 2pm my room was ready, on entering the room.... l have to say my first gut reaction was omg the windows are filthy! lol, but to be fair it was on the outside and not in...l am glad to say. Once the blinds were pulled down you didn't notice, and being opposite another hotel it was best to pull the blinds down!. A very spacious room pleasantly decorated with everything you needed, tea coffee etc, Bathroom was slightly small but not a problem. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows... which is hard to find in hotels. Breakfast was served between 7am-10am and was greeted by a very smiley happy person who was only to pleased to help you. Huge selection for breakfast which would keep you going all day! Would l stay here again, YES.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited this hotel for the third year running no, w, and every stay has been a delight!
The hotel is full of character, the location couldn't be better, and the staff make you feel like a king (or queen). We were once again a group of 6 and everyone left delighted after 4 days.
The breakfast is certainly the best in Brighton, and the real reason we will keep coming back and recommending this hotel is Gillian, your host for breakfast - who looks after everyone so well that every day starts with a smile, Thank you Old Ship (you are all great!) and thank you Gillian!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBrianJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now over the last 5 years and every time has been lovely.
For those arriving by train like myself, its a straight 10 minute walk down to the seafront from the station so easy to get to ! Its a lovely old hotel with beautiful interiors and rooms are a good size with lovely bathrooms. If you manage to get a sea view its wonderful, with view of the old skeleton pier to your right and the amusement pier to your right.
The road beside the hotel leads up to an ares where there are lots of restaurants and bars for your night out, and is also within walking distance of the Lanes.
Great value with a great view, my first choice every time I go to Brighton!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirateburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcomg you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

top location. comfy bed and good breakfast options. room rather tired- paper starting to peel . public areas feel rather like any 'plastic' business hotel which is a shame and especially so given the elegant bones of the building. rather shouty ads everywhere for the gym, breakfast and tea. choice of muzak was odd and annoying - greatest hits of the 70s at breakfast and george michael at night. rather made the place feel cheap rather than elegant. bedsite light niot fixed despite reporting twice. food trays left in corridors for 18 hours. so, all in all it was OK and we got a decent deal, but could have been SO much better

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you encountered some shortfalls during your stay and where possible immediate action has been taken

I hope that despite this you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing