We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Given that this Hotel has 4* we were a little disappointed at the size of our room, it was very small and had some paint and wall[aper peeling off the walls. Having said that, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bar and reception areas very clean and attractive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your review

As part of the Puma Hotels Collection, we strive in making all our guest stays as memorable ad enjoyable as we can.

We are in the process of upgrading our rooms, with 3 sample rooms near completion. A new resident only gym is also currently being installed

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. Our double room on the inside of the building was unexceptional but comfortable and clean. There was a good buffet breakfast next morning with a cheerful welcome at the door from the nice lady in charge. However, the general feel of the building is a little lack-lustre and definitely not 4 star. All this could have been forgiven but, after being out all afternoon in freezing weather, we returned to find there had been a gas leak. We were politely but firmly informed that we could NOT re-enter the hotel. Fair enough, but the 3 members of staff barring the way omitted to tell us we could go to the hotel next door for hot drinks. We hung about on the beach for a bit and only discovered this arrangement when we went back after another 40 mins. The general attitude was very casual. Back inside we were assured we'd be informed when the kitchens were working again. No call ever came and neither could I get anyone to answer the phone - I began to wonder if the hotel had been evacuated and we hadn't been told, which was somewhat disconcerting... After about 10 mins of ringing various numbers I reached a human being. Our booking had included a meal and bottle of cava - we were offered £15 each to spend in town. The conversation began to assume the air of a bargaining session...The person I spoke to was courteous but appeared to be making it up as he went along. Eventually we were told we could go to the hotel next door and order to the value of £20 plus the cava - this did not quite cover 2 courses. My point is that any hotel can have the bad luck to fall victim to gas leaks etc. but surely the customer should not be made to feel that the booking conditions are being honoured as a special favour to the customer? Perhaps staff training is to blame here. What was meant to be a special break was spoiled.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.

The gas leak caused us to evacuate the hotel as quickly as possible for the safety of guests and staff. During this time we then needed to arrange our evacuation to the hotel next door to us which whilst only took a matter of minutes, I can only presume that you were not around long enough for us to communicate this to. We had over 100 guests plus in the hotel to evacuate which were relocating within 10-12 minutes from the point of the alarm being raised.

A full 3 course menu was offered at the hotel next door and we took the cava round to them aswell.

In an emergency situation like this all procedures are fully reviewed after the event and if required amended. I am very proud of how the team acted in a calm and professional manner in an extremely difficult situation and was disappointed to read that you still felt need to criticise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like many reviews on here, we agree that the hotel is a bit "tired" but it is in a great location, has helpful, friendly staff, and comfortable accomodation . This was our second stay and we were happy to return, as we had a good experience the first time. The particular room we were in this time was noisy, as it was next to a fire door, and the single glazing meant that there was a LOT of noise coming in from the street outside, which seriously affected our sleep, but the room we were in previously did not have those problems. The breakfast was great, with a wide choice, good quality, and the buffet-style doesn't bother us, as you can pile the plate high if you wish, and keep going back for more! However, since our last visit they have introduced coffee machines which for us was a bit of a negative. The tea and coffee served in the bar was excellent, though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

As part of the Puma Hotels Collection, we strive in making all our guest stays as memorable ad enjoyable as we can.

The coffee machines enable guests a greater choice of coffees which we include in the price though I know some guests do not like this. We have also re-introduced table service on request for guest wishing for this.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is in the process of being upgraded since being taken over by Puma last year and some rooms are still rather tired.
Location is excellent for Pier, The Lanes, Brighton Centre and theatres. Sea views are superb.
Facilities are good and all staff very friendly and helpful. Bar food and drinks very good and excellent buffet breakfast made even better by the lady running the restaurant.
Be aware that Brighton is often very noisy all night - not just traffic but also clubgoers etc. Recommend earplugs. No worse than any other seafront hotels suffer but ask for high floor to minimise sleep disruption.
Will certainly stay again when visiting Brighton

Room Tip: Rooms can be noisy so ask for higher floor and take earplugs! All seafront hotels in Brighton suffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

As part of the Puma Hotels Collection, we strive in making all our guest stays as memorable ad enjoyable as we can.

We are in the process of upgrading our rooms, with 3 sample rooms near completion. A new resident only gym is also currently being installed

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Brilliant location for restuarants and bars, room was lovely and spacious and we asked for a quiet room and wasn't disappointed. Breakfast was a buffet with loads of choice and food really good. All in all, a very good weekend and the hotel made it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neweyHillingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

As part of the Puma Hotels Collection, we strive in making all our guest stays as memorable ad enjoyable as we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently visited the Old Ship for my Aunt's post funeral reception. The lovely sea front room we held it in was free. They gave us carte blanche to decorate the room with candles, photos and flowers. We obviously paid for the drinks and food, all of which was plentiful, tasty and readily replenshed. The staff were friendly and discreet. Some guests stayed and said they would return.
The best, however, was the following evening when 6 of us had the Valentine dinner. The food was superb and at £49 per couple was staggeringly cheap. A well known Brighton fish restaurant the night before was VERY expensive and not that good. Well done Old Ship, good to see you still floating and will come and stay with you in April.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review particularly during a difficult time.

I am pleased that not only the wake went well but you also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Old Ship maybe a bit tired in places but the staff and quality of food made up for it. The hot water could've been a bit quicker coming through the taps. But overall (if you're prepared to wait for hot water) I would recommend this hotel. Great location too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $73 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing