We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly helpful staff!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Old Ship maybe a bit tired in places but the staff and quality of food made up for it. The hot water could've been a bit quicker coming through the taps. But overall (if you're prepared to wait for hot water) I would recommend this hotel. Great location too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I agree with what most people say on here, the place is tired, if im honest, it really isnt a 4 star hotel. They may have spent some money on the communal areas but the rooms are really dated. The bathrooms are flaking, pealing, with dirty grout and mould. The net curtain was held up with a sagging elastic rope. In the bedroom the wallpaper was pealing and stained. But all this makes me feel a bit cruel, because despite this, I actually enjoyed my stay. I just really wish it was reclassified, because if you are expecting a four star you are going to be a bit confused.

Its in a great location, the staff are really nice, especially the lady at breakfast. It was blowing a gale on the Saturday of our two night stay so we stayed in and enjoyed the hotel bar, and it was lovely..well worth making time to enjoy it.

My only complaint, and it is one that i was furious about was upon returning home at about 2am on the Friday night, we were met with a wall of very unfriendly looking "bouncers", who chorused "ROOM NUMBER" to which we answered, and then they chorused "WHERES YOUR KEY". It was really very very off-putting, i have never ever been challenged when entering a hotel before, bearing in mind we are both nearly 40, so not some young night time revellers. It wasn't just us, it would seem that if you try to access your room past midnight, your in for a grilling. Its really not on. Ive stayed in hundreds of hotels, good and bad, but bouncers manning the doors and treating you like your trying to get into a club was a first for me.

That alone, would make me think twice about going back, we paid for a luxury 4 star break, and I felt we were treated very badly when just trying to access our room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skarlet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

I assure you the hotel is an accredited 4 star hotel and your feedback regarding our security has been fed back to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a Friday and Saturday. When we first got into the room we noticed a bit of wear and tear, not something that can be helped. It was the bathroom that was pretty bad. A massive crack in the sink and when you turned the tap on it hit the counter first before the basin so there was a lot of water on the counter. Also, the shower was a bit mouldy, could have done with a bit if a scrub. The problems really began when we tried to get to sleep. The lack of double glazing meant that we has to try and sleep through Friday night rowdiness. It was incredibly loud, right up until 3am. This isn't the hotels fault, but it really did disrupt a much needed nights rest. I imagine the hotel must be used to this but perhaps avoid putting people in these rooms as much as possible? Not sure if this is viable or not though. Luckily my elderly parents were in a room that didn't face onto the streets. However, their shower produced no hot water, quite a big problem I think. Maintenance staff did come up to have a look at it and whilst they did manage to fix it the shower had to be turned on for 20 minutes before any warm water came through. After voicing our complaints to the reception staff we got our room changed to a much quieter room (very nice) and even got given some ear plugs. The reception staff were absolutely brilliant. Very apologetic and helpful. The bar was also quite nice and the breakfast was lovely! Overall, the hotel was very dated, especially seeing as they claimed to have a refurbishment in 2000. The staff really came through to make it a good trip.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cathy537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights , 8th to 10th February.We were a party of 5 and had 3 rooms between us. Our room was spacious but looked tired. I know they are currently refurbishing but our light switches were temperamental, the room was cold (probably due to very old single glazed sash windows which rattled constantly during the night) and we were kept awake by the continuing stream of party goers passing our window even though we were on the 3rd floor! Bed was extremely comfortable and the staff in the restaurant very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic, with plenty of choice and of a high standard. Perfect location but not impressed with the charge of £23 per night to park in hotel car park! We are regular visitors to Brighton and have stayed in better hotels.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room away from road
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazzaofcroxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Car Parking throughout Brighton is Chargeable but we ensure that it is cheaper than the NCP located next to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This reviews a bit late biut I did promise the hotel I would put a review on trip advisor after a fantastic new year stay. First impressions were lovely downstairs area and lobby. We were with our 2 year old daughter and were allocated a room on the side as it was quieter but I asked for a seaview room if poss. We were told it may be noisy over New Year but that was just fine. Given room 323 which was HUGE, with an amazing sea view through big picture windows. Lovely bath and shower, TV and comfy bed. Staff in hotel were fantastic. Bar area nice ad breakfasts totally wonderful. We had booked 3 days over new year and decided to stay another night after finding out it was only £43.50 for 3 of us with breakfast. Great place to stay in Brighton. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room to suit you and hotel will try and oblige
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is very old, some rooms have been refurbished and they are nice. We had been there and first they gave us a room where we have to carry the bags through 3 small stair, after the elevator. We asked for a change and they offer us a room with sea front, but they charged 20 pounds. We took the room, and was okay, but old instalations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We come down to Brighton annually for business and have stayed year after year at two of the more 'expensive and well known hotels' - this hotel was recommended by a friend as we had poor experiences at both hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel is lovely and full of charm and character and we will definitely be booking here in future. At half the price of the previous hotels we have stayed in - it offers twice the experience. Service was faultless, the hotel was rustic and cosy, clean and welcoming. The rooms are a little dated but the hotel is old and quirky and this is much nicer and authentic than the cold clinical poorly run hotels we have stayed at before.

We would definitely consider coming back here with our young children as well as it caters for everyone.

The location is great - a very short stroll to the Pier itself and a short stroll to all the 'lanes' and main shopping and eating areas.

Keep up the good standards!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection, sample bedroom refurbishment is currently taking place which, once approved, will be rolled out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $74 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing