We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews, we were a bit worried about staying at this hotel., particularly as it was a birthday gift from our children. However, the staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly Gillian who handled the breakfasts and the young man on reception who brought us an extra heater and blanket for the very cold night that we stayed. The hotel is perfectly located being close to the Lanes and Jamie's restaurant in the next street. It may have a few quirks but nothing that one wouldn't expect from a hotel of this age and character. If you want modern perfection then stay in one of the hotel chain boxes. But if you want the old charm and grandeur then this is the hotel to choose, especially as the rooms were at a very reasonable price.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 342 which was fine and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbarrett56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

As the oldest hotel in Brighton and a listed building we are full of character and "quirks". I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team here helpfull.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Old Ship over the weekend. The hotel location couldn't be beaten. We were lucky enough to have a sea view room. What a view !! The room was clean & comfortable. The bathroom was fine. The rooms are looking a little tired. But overall was happy and satisfied. Breakfast was good. Good choices but the hot food could have been a bit hotter. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel has recently been taken over by the Puma group so hopefully they will be investing in this very historic building and bringing it back to glory.

Room Tip: Have a Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection refurbishment will commence including bedrooms, corridors and a resident only gym

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is steeped in history and proudly stands In a prominent location on Brighton sea front. On entering you get the feeling of a bygone age due to the tired decor. The receptionist was very polite and helpful but I couldn't help noticing that her keyboard for the computer was raised from the desk on a home made chipboard stand which looked crudely thrown together. The lift to the second floor was very small and old but had character. Wow when we got out we were met by a labyrinth of narrow uneven floored corridors. Eventually we found our room which thankfully was at the rear of the hotel. The room was a good size and nicely presented but the light switch didn't appear to turn anything on. The wall lights had pull cords and bedside lamps were operated by nearby wall switches...strange! The bathroom appeared to have been recently updated but had a strange smell. All in all the room was pleasant. During the night I was awoken by the toilet cistern continually filling itself. The bed was comfortable and provided a reasonable sleep. In the morning I turned the shower on and was adjusting the temperature when the water stopped flowing but I could hear it running. I think a pipe inside the wall had come loose. I managed to run a bath and couldn't wait for breakfast. The dining room furniture was extremely tired. The seat covers were very old and I swapped one chair as it was covered in white paint stains. The breakfast was ok. We checked out telling the receptionist about the problems in bathroom etc. she didn't offer an apology or anything and took our payment.
This hotel has a great location and was fairly cheap for a one night stay. It could seriously do with modernising. Would I stay again probably not.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Spicey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review

I am sorry for the dissapoinment you experienced and assure you that all feedback is fully reviewed and where possible action taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a standard double room. The room was very clean and confortable with all the needed features i.e tea and coffee, hair dryer, tv. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely!

GREAT value for money and directly opposite the sea. Only complaints are that the lift was very old and slow, but did its job. And the corridoors were a bit grubby. Other than that the hotel reception area was lovely, room was fantastic and staff were very friendly. Would definently stay here again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mashanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay. As we are now part of the Puma Hotel Colleciton we will be commencing refurbishment works shortly including all corridors.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

You can not fault the hotels location, right on the sea front!!! The staff are also incredibly friendly and helpful!!! However, do not stay here if u want to sleep!!! It is currently 2am and the noise coming through the non double glazed windows is horrendous!!!! Screaming, shouting, car horns!!! I have a small baby and I amazed she is still asleep!!! It is going to be a very long night!!!! Wish someone had warned me about the noise problem b4 I bOoked!!! It's cheap but for a gd nights sleep I would happily have paid more!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mupper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review

I am sorry you were distrubed from guests outside the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location but extremely noisy if you are at the front due to drunks from nightclubs going home! still shouting and screaming at 05.30hrs. Dont pay for sea view if you want a quiet nights sleep, ask for room at the back! dont go to American Diner on the corner after show. On door closing time is 22.30hrs. We were all turned away at 21.55hrs! obviouslly not worried about taking money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry if people outside the hotel disturbed your stay. The Diner is not ours so I cannot comment on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really liked the Old Ship, I managed to secure a great rate via TravelRepublic and was more than happy with everything on offer. From the chap who checked me in, which was very efficient. Having booked online, I literally had to show my confirmation and was then given my room key and on my way.

The lift to the rooms is via the bar which was spacious enough for this size of hotel. One gripe possibly is that there seemed to be only one rickety old lift, this was fine but my room was on the 4th floor and I did find it easier sometimes to walk up and down rather than wait around.

The rooms were fine, spacious and you can pay for a sea-view I didn't this time around as I wasn't planning on spending too much time in there. The free wi-fi is a bonus, it's a little patchy in its connectivity, that said it's free and was adequate.

Sound enough sleep, no noise and this was at the weekend so really pleased with that. The breakfast was fantastic, really good selection of juices, cereals, bread and hot food that included sausages, mushrooms, bacon, egg, beans, hash browns and much more.

Well worth the money and if you shop around and get a good deal then even better. I have stayed in a good few hotels in Brighton now and this is definitely up there with the best in terms of value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillOneill_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your review

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay including the free wifi

We very much look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $77 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing