We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was very cold”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our room was very cold”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice hotel, nice rooms and great staff...
Our only grumble which really bampered our stay was that even with the heating full on - the room was freezing!
Great location mind you- minutes from queens road which brings you central to every thing. And another short walk to the peir.
Rooms clean but the tiles very cold under foot in the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you found the room cold. Unfortunately we do not have under floor heating in the bathrooms.

We are in a great locaiton for visiting Brighton and hope to welcome you back again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    806
    434
    173
    111
See reviews for
235
1,079
58
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely traditional hotel on the seafront. We were only using the room as a base and had shopped around online for a good deal, but if we had paid the hotel's going rate I tihnk we would have been sorely disappointed. The room was in need of decorating, the window rattled, the picture on the wall was falling apart, and the radiator looked like it was about to burst open. But the room was clean and the staff friendly. Parking was available too, which was handy. Breakfast was an extensive buffet, but I've had better tasting breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you found breakfast and the room dissapointing. We are working on plans for 2013 to refurbish our rooms.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had a room booked for me at this hotel by someone else, so I can't comment on the booking system/prices, but I would like to say that I found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. The only things wrong with the room was that it was quite dark even with all the lights on (but that didn't matter as I just went to sleep anyway) and the shower wouldn't stop dripping. The breakfast food selection was pretty good too, I would have appreciated some soy milk to have with the cereal as I am lactose intolerant but there was plenty on offer so I just had something else instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. As we purchase new bulbs for the hotel we are looking at ways to improve the lighting from the current energy saving bulbs we have.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived Friday afternoon to be greeted by a very helpful and friendly lady on reception. Check in was quick and easy and we were given directions to our room (405) Luckily there were still places available in the hotel's carpark which at £23 per day seemed expensive but is about the same as everywhere else in Brighton.
Our room which was along the side of the hotel overlooking The Thistle, was very dark and looked very tired and worn out. The furniture had seen better days, the carpet was a bit grim, the paintwork was chipped and marked and the edges of the wallpaper were curling up/coming away from the wall. The room was so dark you needed all four lamps on to be able to read and even then it was almost impossible as the bulbs they had used were so dim. Although on the face of it the bathroom looked fairly clean, the grouting in the tiles around the bath was very grubby - someone needs to get a brush and some bleach and give it a good scrub!! Basically the room certainly wasn't what you would expect from a 4 star hotel!!
The breakfast was fairly good, with the normal offerings of cereals, fruit, pastries, toast, bread etc etc. my only gripe would be that the cooked breakfast items were at best only luke warm - disappointing to say the least! People leaving the lids open didn't help matters either. The dining room staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We got a good deal for our break through Booking.com, and only paid £168 for the 3 nights including breakfast, it definitely wasn't worth a penny more than that.
Would we go back? Probably not; unless the room we were given was a vast improvement on Room 405.

Room Tip: Don't have Room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YummyMummy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your eview following your stay at the Old Ship Hotel.

We contunally strive to ensure all our guests are happy and am sorry you seem dissapointed with your stay.

In 2013 we will commence our upgrade plans for the hotel and hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Old Ship hotel in Brighton, we were very impressed with the hotel.
It was spacious, clean, well appointed with all of the added extras you like, en-suite, TV, tea making facilities, trouser press, iron, ironing board and hair dryer.
we had a full cooked breakfast and you could also help yourself to the buffet,which was very nice.
The hotel is in a prime sea front location which is handy for the beach, the pier and the shops and bars with the Lanes being a short walk away.
It was a lovely break just before christmas and got a bit of christmas shopping done whilst we were there great location with vibrant shops.
Even though we got the hotel on a special deal, I would consider going back at the normal price.
We didnt eat in the resturant we went down the road to a fab American diner well recommended.
The only negative thing about the trip is the £25 you have to pay to park at the hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived late on Friday night to explore brighton on Saturday. The reception guys greeted is very warmly. As we went to our room we got a little lost and it seemed the floor boards creaked more and more the further away from the lift we got, but no great problem and made my girlfriend and I both laugh. Sleep time came and when we tried to open window or turn ceiling fan on, neither would budge so a quick trip to reception, who explained that they had trouble with smokers leaning out the windows some rooms had the windows sealed shut. The receptionist moved us to another room, really wish I had got his name cos this guys customer service skills go above and beyond the expected... Slept in our new room like a pair of New.born Babies. Woke up and used the shower which was fantastically hot and high pressure. Checked out with no fuss and ready to take on whatever brighton has to show us. Fantastic hotel would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jampot86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife recently took me to The Old Ship hotel in Brighton for my birhday. It was a surprise and she didn't tell me the details until we got to Brighton. I was so impressed I had to review the hotel. We stayed a couple of nights and after checking in were very pleased to find that the hotel had given us a seaview room at the front of the hotel, room 116. It was spacious, clean, well appointed with all of the added extras you like, en-suite, TV, tea making facilities, trouser press, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. In addition the hotal had put a bottle of wine and a card on the dresser for us to enjoy before going out. It was a decent one too, and showed to me that they had given it some thought and that a cheap bottle wasn't good enough. The room also had a small balcony which you could stand out on and enjoy the fresh air and views. The staff were all pleasant and knew their jobs from the reception through to the dining room, all were good and as you would hope. The breakfasts were first class with a huge selection at the help yourself buffet. The hotel is in a prime sea front location which is handy for the beach, the pier and the shops and bars with The Lanes being a short walk away. It really was a lovely couple of days and even though my wife got this hotel on a special deal, I would consider going back at the normal price. If you can spot a deal though, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Major_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Major_Jb

Thank you for your review and am so pleased you were impressed with us.

I will pass on your comments to the team and am pleased you enjoyed the wine and the upgrade.

Our passion at the hotel is to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay and where possible ensure that special occassions are celebrated too.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing