We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended. We're going back again.”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband (who is disabled) have just returned from a very enjoyable stay in The Old Ship Hotel, Brighton. Having read some of the comments here (after I booked!), I was a bit hesitant when we arrived. However, my fears were foundless. We were extreemly pleased with our room (320). The bathroom was spotless, with plenty of fluffy towels on a heated towel rail. The bed was large and very comfy. The weather was very hot when we were there, and we were extreemly pleased at the fact that the room had a large ceiling fan, (.which ran silently!) The breakfasts were superb, and the staff were more than helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, but I would guess that the standard would be excellent (if the breakfasts were anything to go by).
We'll be going back to stay again in November.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,151 - 2,157 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked this as a last miniute weekend break in the hot weather, paying £180 for thurs and fri night, no breakfast. It was over priced for what room we had, we are broke students and booked the cheapest room - that's what we got. Took a few turnings and corridors to get to our room (260) and just before the corridor to our room one corridor STANK! Every day we had to hold our breath was disgusting. Room itself was decent but average, toiletries, shower good bath good tv great, we stayed on a hot weekend and could have done with windows that opened more than 30cm. Glad our room was at the end of a corridor in its own part because the corridors were noisy, not sure how we would have slept if in the middle of a corridor. There is always going to be noise in a city and we didn't really notice it, staff friendly and helpful! Amazing location, absolutely fantastic right on the sea front next to pier and the lanes definitely the highlight. Our stay was fine for us however £90 a night I think was over priced, should have been more like £50! Average stay, location great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaitlinA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very "tired" decor. Our bedroom had stained carpets, stain upholstery on the chairs. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor, chipped bath and black mildew on the tiles round the bath. Horrible! The evening meal was awful but surprisingly the breakfast was good. Cannot believe it is part of the same group (puma) which own the Majestic in Harrogate which is near to where I live and is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having read the reviews I was worried about staying here. No option as I had been booked in by conference organisers. I was pleasantly surprised. No noise (I had asked for an interior room, but it was generally quiet - maybe because I was there Sun/Mon/Tues nights). Nice modern room: no horrors in the bathroom, nice furnishings, comfortable bed. Staff: exceptionally pleasant and really making an effort to accommodate and please guests. Had a working snack supper with colleagues in the big bar area on the first night. The waitresses were very good with keeping food coming (nice chips) and dealing with late arrivers, etc. Check-in staff and garage staff also very helpful. Garage at £23 a day seemed expensive, maybe that is normal for Brighton? Downside - you may have sensed the 'but' coming… the carpets (or something) date from the times where smoking was allowed in all public areas and some rooms. The smell of ancient smoke pervades everywhere. At the moment the 4 star rating is not deserved.
So, advice to the new owners: praise your staff, they are doing great, keep up the room and bathroom refurbishment programme and find the funds to change the carpets, curtains or whatever is maintaining the smoky smell as soon as possible. And when these refurbishments are done, advertise this fact! Your location is lovely and people will keep coming to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayfarer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel does not deserve a 4* rating!!!! We found it very worn and shabby hotel. We had a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked a dirty court yard. The room was clean but the windows needed cleaning and dusting as the lighting was not very bright not sure about if the room had cobwebs. The room was very badly badly painted & decorated. Bathroom, was clean and the shower was good but the sealant around bath was mouldy also grout on tiles. The decorating looked very unprofessionally done. The downstairs toilets (off the reception area) had a strong smell of sewerage and the smell carried up the stairs definitely not what we expected from any hotel least of all a 4* rated hotel. Expensive for what it offered and would say it is not worth more than a 2* rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggies9-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Nice room overlooking the sea, bathroom a bit tired but room was clean and comfortable. The menu choice was very limited and even with a £10 voucher it did not tempt us in, there is a very good choice elsewhere in Brighton but an excellent breakfast was served with a very good choice.

Pity you are charged for the car park.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an excellent view but beware the Brighton night life visits the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

our room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom although the patched up ceiling needs repapering. The corridors are clean, nicely carpeted & quiet. lift service fine. Lounge/bar areas ok. Dining area ok. breakfast good plenty of choice and always topped up, it would be better if tea/coffee was self service as well. Evening meals limited choice and a little short on content. service staff courteous pleasant and helpful but lacking in professional training (company error) also the numerous managers also seem to lack professionalism one in particular wearing ill fitting tired suit and shabby shoes. The evening dining service was shambolic with non of the tables numbered and waiters not allocated to any specific areas this lead to various problems. This problem is wholly accountable to poor management.Doors were left open to the dining room and sea front resulting in a cold draught entering the room I had to regularly close the doors myself. There is a chip shop very close which does not close till three am, as a result the noise is unacceptable and the litter in the morning is very bad. Management should report the problem to the council. Overall the Old Ship could easily be rated as 3 star with a little fore thought but as it stands I can only rate it as two star. If I were general manager this would be achieved before the years end.

Room Tip: rooms to the pier end are away from that bloody chip shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyMisiolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $76 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing