We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house and location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tara mist

Front of property with driveway for several cars.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property with driveway for several cars.
Garden with patio area and large lawn. Open plan living and dinning.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Front of property with driveway for several cars.
Garden with patio area and large lawn.
Open plan living and dinning.
Large front terrace with country views.
Fully equipped spacious kitchen.
bedroom sleeping four comprising of one large double and two single beds.
Dining for eight.
Brighton Marina, enjoy Al fresco eating at one of its many restaurants.
Then take a walk around the marina.
Rottingdean Village, take a walk and stop for lunch.
End your day and watch the sunset at Ovingdean beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sharon s
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house and location”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

every thing you could want or need location great house wonderful had a lovely time with all our family and one year old grandaughter minutes from beach would recommend stay in this lovely house and gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house was home from home
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara Y
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Well situated house which catered perfectly for our family of five”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We wanted a property that could accommodate a family of five , have a child friendly back garden, be centrally located to Brighton and have off street parking. Tara Mist certainly ticked all of these boxes and we would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone else. In fact it would be our first choice again when we return back to the UK.
We found the communication with Katherine to be prompt and friendly , and on arrival we even met the house owner who made us feel very welcome.
We experienced a very pleasant stay which felt home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden was very child friendly
Liked least: The queen bed mattress was quite bumpy and the bed creaked a lot
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvto
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely house, great garden. perfect stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at this house. Stayed for a weekend with friends. Bit out of Brighton but sharing taxi into the centre was easy and not too expensive. Garden was great, had barbeque and sun loungers. 2 bedrooms plus a fold out bed, we slept 8 quite comfortably. Would definitely recommend this place. Great value compared with others we looked at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden
Liked least: one bathroom only
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eimear811
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect for the girls!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tara Mist for one night as a friend was running the Brighton marathon. Katherine was great at staying in touch in the run-up to our stay, and everything was perfect upon our arrival - bread, milk and juice in the fridge too!
The living room was very cosy, spacious kitchen, light and airy bedrooms with comfy beds.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family, especially for a longer stay - we didn't really have the time (or the weather) to enjoy the garden and decking.

Thank you to Katherine for making the trip to Brighton so much easier - our friend slept very well before the big race!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homely feel, we were all quite far from home!
Liked least: Ran out of loo roll!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely garden,peaceful location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DeeSnowdo...
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Location and Excellent Property. Home From Home!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for just under a week with our two dogs and the only thing we could whinge about was the weather-obviously not the Owners fault! There is a gentle slope to the front porch and door, so is accessible to most people with average to limited mobility. Throughout the house, once inside, it is possible to access everywhere without any steps. There is a large, warm bathroom with separate shower cubicle and the main bedroom overlooks the rear garden and has french doors to access it. Lovely large garden with patio furniture and lawn. Inside the kitchen is well fitted and equipped and a bonus for us was the Broadband Homehub which made keeping in touch 'online' very easy during our stay. The living area was comfortable with lots of leather seating and TV with freeview. Lovely large separate dining room. There is a terrace off the lounge with ample space to sit outside and enjoy the environment. There are metal railings around this but it is raised (above garage) so very young children would need supervision, as did our small dogs as they could possibly get underneath the railings. This house feels like a home. Very warm and well equipped; even a dishwasher. Situated in a quiet residential lane, with Beacon Hill a short stroll away, perfect for daily doggy walks! There is a bus stop in the same road and lots of facilities within a short distance. We were sorry to leave and will return! One final point: the Owner answers any communication personally, quickly and with courtesy. Our deposit was returned promptly too. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homely feel.We felt we could really relax.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selecthot...
London
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The owner was extremely accomodating and understanding as had to arrange and attend a funeral nearby and needed a comfortable place to stay for three weeks and we made the arrangements with her immediately. Wish this was a happy vacation for us as the circumstances were very sad but the house was like a home from home with everything you needed and we couldn't have picked better and certainly hope to return in the future when in glorious E. Sussex.
The only negative I could find was this was the first rental that we have ever stayed at that did not have a phone, which was badly needed for all the arrangements we needed to make and my mobile overseas calls and UK calls were horrendous, as didn't have the time to arrange a better phone plan but would have gladly paid the owner(in advance if needed) had they provided this badly needed convenience and do hope this could be rectified, but do understand with some renters why they may have removed this facility and in no way reflects badly on them.
All in all, as I said..Excellent and 4.5 stars....but 5 stars for me..with a home phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic Service
Liked least: Not having a phone there
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing