We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very nice experience at this hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in June. I must say that we had a really good time. The staff at check in were very nice and because I am a Platinum cardholder with Priority Club Rewards, we were given a fab upgrade to a seaview room with a balcony. I had originally booked a standard room using points.
The room was very large and comfortable with a King Size bed and all that you would expect from a Holiday Inn hotel. The decor was nice and there was a sofa and chairs. The balcony was very large and wrapped around the corner of the building. The view looked over the West Pier and was very nice. The room was also air conditioned, which was good as the weather was quite warm.
In the bar, a discount is given for Priority Club cardholders. In our case, 15% which was a very nice touch, and one that I have not seen in other hotels in the group.
All in all, a very good stay, very nice staff, and we will be booking a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitges2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. Platinum members are always a priority to receive a complimentary upgrade due to the value placed on the time spent with the family of Intercontinental Brand of hotels. Where ever possible when availability allows we will do this. The discount given in the bar is our way in Brighton of personally thanking platinum members.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    431
    399
    221
    145
See reviews for
212
543
63
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I wasn’t quite sure what to make of the Holiday Inn on the Brighton seafront. From the outside it looked like a fairground – the drive up to the hotel is lined with strange concrete balls in garish Holiday Inn green. Fortunately the large, comfortable room was more tasteful – neutral colours and modern art. But the TV gave me trouble. No amount of prodding or poking the remote would clear the screen of snow. I worked out that the cable had become disconnected, and managed to patch it back together. I wanted to ask for a DIY award for saving the staff the trouble of coming up to fix it. It may be the effects of the recession, but this hotel seems to be skimping on the small things. They don’t provide bars of soap or bottles of shampoo, just soap dispensers bolted to the wall like in a public washroom. Not classy. And no biscuits on the tea tray. What are things coming to if you can’t count on a bit of shortbread with your tea at a major seafront hotel?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
I know the building itself is not the best looking building Brighton but thank you for your feedback regarding the green bollards at the front of the hotel.

I am sorry the TV aerial was not plugged in when you checked in. All rooms are provided with one bar of soap, face cloths and bath/shower gel from dispensers as standard. As I do not have a room number I am unable to investigate what room you were in to ensure retraining is given to the room attendant that serviced your room.

It is more environmentally friendly to supply the dispensers for shower and hand wash and we are proud that we do this. In order that we people do not feel we are scrimping on cost it is always a well know brand that we use. Biscuits are not standard at any Holiday Inn hotel however in all our executive and Seaview rooms we provide them but supplements apply for these room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Paid £200 for a Friday night stay with a seaview. The water in the bathroom was tepid both in the evening and the next morning. Initially a £20 reduction was offered. This was increased to a £70 reductioin once we were able to speak to the manager two days later. The room was very 'tired'. The seaview as fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsASurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments

The weekend you stay we experienced a major flood in our plant room causing major disruption to the hotel. I sincerely apologise for this and assure you that this has now been resolved. It is disappointing to read that you felt the room to be tired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This is a great hotel but has no pool.
The Queens let you use their one for a small charge, so there is always a solution for swimmers.

Food is ok and lobby is big and airy.
Room was a bit small but ok and clean - maybe a bit tired,

Best thing is the sea is just opposite and the pier is about 5 minutes slow walk. The lanes and shopping centre is the opposite direction.

Good for weekends away, with kids and/or partner,

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — room was a bit small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonaeroblue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments. Yes we don’t have a pool at this hotel but with so much to do in Brighton mainly within walking distance we do not normally find this an issue. If you are travelling with children then directly opposite the hotel there is a childrens play area open all year and during the summer months a great outdoors splash pool.

It is disappointing you found our rooms a bit small as we generally get positive comments about the size of our standard bedrooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Stayed here for 2 weeks for business in April 2009. The location is ideal as you have the beach infront and nearby to the city centre. For food you have the option of the hotel restaurant but just beside it you have Preston Street where you have several restaurant form Indian, Turkish, Chinese, Steakhouse and kebabs. And for shopping you would have Western Road which is the high Street and 7 mins walk to the main shopping mall. Other shopping optionas are the Marina and The Lane. I had also walked along the beach while having fish & chips which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments. Whether we have guests staying one night or two weeks like yourself our aim is always to make a guest stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights Just as a short break as have been to Brighton many times.
The hotel isn't much from the outside and wouldn't win any design Awards but the location/Staff and interior make up for it.
When we arrived the reception team were very attentive and friendly as was the manager, it's nice to see the manager front of house interacting well with the team and the customers you don't see that in a lot of hotels.
Had a lovely room on the 3rd floor overloooking what remains of the west pier and the beach, you are right on the seafront and we didn't really hear a lot of noise at night considering we stayed friday and saturday night and slept really well in a really huge comfy bed. I never understand people that stay in busy towns/cities and then complain about the noise it's like staying in the country and complaining the cows mooing kept you awake!
Didn't eat in the restaurant at night as Brighton has so many fantastic restaurants only a short walk away, but did have breakfast which was great . the Manager on duty at Breakfast was particually good. Considering How early and how busy it was She greeted everybody with a smile and asked how their night was, a great start to the day!
There is Parking available under the hotel if you need it but you need to park at the front of the hotel Pick up an entry token then nip the car around the corner, easy.
Overall a Well located Hotel wirh friendly staff and clean Spacious rooms would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollery8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments.
As part of our refurbishment programme a major renovation took place of the interior of the hotel. Currently no short term plans are in place with regard to the majority of the exterior but still have hope that one day we may make that design award.
Your comments are great with regard to the hotel and these aswell as any negative comments are always used as part of our continual service improvement programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2009

My Husband, 7 month old daughter and myself stayed in this splendid hotel between 11th and 14th May, and I would like to take this opportunity to say what a wonderful warm welcome and superior customer service we received.

We were meant to be spending our holiday in Hastings but when we arrived the accommodation we had booked was well below the standards we expected so I’m sure you can imagine we were very upset, especially with it being our daughters first holiday, so my father-in-law kindly booked the room in your hotel on our behalf. The relief we felt when we saw our beautiful spacious room was wonderful (number 508), you had provided our baby with a lovely cot, with clean sheets and towels just for her!

We had a drink in the bar once we had got settled and your bar staff were more than happy to warm milk and food for our baby, despite the bar being busy with customers watching football. Even as we walked around the hotel, staff asked us if we were enjoying our holiday, and even stopped to talk to our baby! Cleaning staff were very understanding, as I was worried about having nappies in the bin, I had been taking them out with me to dispose of them in the public street bins, but they said it was fine and emptied our bins everyday.

Parking is available under the hotel, there is a lift and staff helped us to our room with all of our luggage.

We have had a fantastic stay thanks to the lovely people this hotel employs. We would visit and again and have told all our friends what a lovely time we had.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Property: Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing