We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top lunch”
Review of Plateau

Plateau
Ranked #36 of 1,139 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Independent bar à vin, restaurant & cocktail bar based in The Lanes, BrightonWe are a unique bar à vin & restaurant with a passion for great food & wine. We have put a great deal of time & love into selecting our wines. At Plateau you can discover interesting & affordable wines that you are unlikely to see on other local wine lists. Our selection is mostly natural with some biodynamic & organic examples. We have sourced wines from local Sussex producers to renowned names & newcomers. To soak up the wine we serve ‘bites’, small dishes perfect to share or great as a starter. Follow your ‘bites’ with a ‘plateau’ to share or a 'plat' & that’s our dinner experience… although don’t forget dessert! Our chefs source organic, fresh, local produce as much as possible.Did we mention the cocktails? They’re probably the best in town & although we don’t serve Carlsberg we do serve some pretty imaginative beers from around the world. We have some top quality spirits, including some rare rum, whisky & cognac…and I almost forgot, keep an eye out for the ‘cocktail de la semaine’ & ‘beer of the moment’.There is no set way to visit Plateau, you can match the wine to the food or the food to the wine. Pop in just for a drink, a few bites or a three-course meal – the idea is that you do whatever suits you.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Top lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a lovely lunch in July, was a really friendly place and the welcome on arrival was super.
Service with a smile and a great lunch with a lovely bottle of Rose :)
Was good value for money as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markh1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    174
    47
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location and trendy place in the city centre of Brighton. I would recommend to book for weekend dinner - we stopped by in the afternoon and were lucky to get a table for the same evening. Interesting wines & drink menu - the team will able to guide you through your choices and make you try new things (organic cider to start). Great sharing platters and desserts. Lovely evening in Brighton!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great French restaurant, nice good and staff”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was looking at a place to eat in Brighton on Tripadvisor and the first which came was this one with so many nice reviews ! So finally, as I always trust Tripadvisor, we went with my family.

It's quite nice inside, the decoration is very Frenchie !

Finally we realized quickly that the waiters were all French so it was nice for my parents (we're French).

All the food was really fresh, I took the crispy fish (like a fish and chips but without the chips so a little bit more healthy). The fish was really really good and fresh. My father took a bavette and my mother a salad with boudin and stuffs. Everything was really good. Only thing, the portions are very light. If you're used to eat a lot you won't be satisfied at the end of your lunch, except if you take some bites before, then it should be okay. The plate of cheeses was amazing it was so good to eat French fresh cheese !!! Not sure if English would like that because the camembert was at the limit....! Very strong then.

It's just in front of the town hall so it's nice and closed to so seaside. I recommend everybody to go there, food is really good quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolney, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very French”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Trendy, young adult venue. The metal chairs need trendy, young adult figures to fit! Very French food - we had to ask for some translation. 4 of us went for dinner. Food is not essential to a good evening here - there seemed to be plenty of people just drinking what looked like a milky cocktail which was obviously very popular. We ordered sharing platters to start (nothing terribly exciting - either fish or meat and something you could assemble at home) but the individual mains were well-executed and interesting. The wine list was interesting with natural wines on offer, but the wine buffs in our party found our red too new with little complexity, and swapped it for something else. My advice is to peruse at least the wine list in advance. Overall a very enjoyable evening and the place was buzzing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my 2nd visit to Plateau - I just had to come back for another helping! I had such a great meal the first time that I stuck to the same thing this time round - the plaice, which came with mussels, lardon, chargrilled leeks, potato galette and a delicious creamy cider sauce. It was just as good the 2nd time round. I also ordered a side of mixed vegetables which was a serving of about 5 different types of veg - delicous. The waiting staff are extremely helpful and efficient - bottled tap water is placed on the table on arrival and refilled when needed, there's an extensive wine and cocktail list - I could see there were a few people sat on stools at the bar so you really can just pop in for a cocktail and maybe a platter to share. The main room is at street level, but I think they also have a dining room upstairs and there are a few tables outside on the pavement as well. When the restaurant is full there is a buzzy atmosphere. Service is included and they even put put on the receipt the cost per person in case you are splitting the bill - very handy when there are a few of you I expect. I never know what to put for the cost per peson but for 2 mains, a side of veg, half carafe of wine, soft drink and a coffee it was £56 with service - so it's probably in the £££ range rather than my usual ££ - I definitely plan to come back and try out the rest of the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lianewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plateau also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing