We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels authentic”

Giggling Squid Brighton
Ranked #51 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Feels authentic”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good food, realistic portion sizes for the money which gives a great variety of tastes within the set menu options. The menu is clear about the chilli heat and gets it spot on.
Service is fast and friendly with the right amount of wok noise in the kitchen! Good range of drinks.
It's taken street food just up a notch (warm/hot plates would be a bonus).
do not go here if you mind about bumping elbows with the next table or want to have a private conversation - all adds to the charm of the place - as can meet some interesting people (drop the Britishness!!).
It's a good option for a reasonable priced, quick meal with lots of flavour.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KTS_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    274
    79
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

First time diners here, arrived just after 2pm.
Both had the dish called "One Giggling Squid" which was Honey Duck, Chicken Stir Fry with Ginger, Thai Spring rolls and Jasmine Rice.
Very nice, just enough for lunch, pleasant service, enough said really.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great small restaurant!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Had one of the best thai dishes here ever ! Good service and a very interesting men.


Very small however does feel like your in someone's living room but it works !

Helpful?
Thank RoscoFaulkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
304 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Food very tasty, but service intrusive”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our first visit after reading the reviews and have to agree the food is very tasty. Sadly, the waiter who kept hovering next to our table spoilt an otherwise very pleasant lunch. The theme seems to be more of a fast food experience, rushing people and not the leisurely birthday lunch I was expecting.

When the waiter again stood next to our table waiting for me to finish my last mouthful before whisking away the dishes, I did give him a pointed look and asked if he was waiting for me. He did disappear but came back again. Didn't really understand it as it we arrived early, it wasn't that busy and there were several empty tables.

Shame as not sure we would go back for this reason only.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wishboneWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Scrummy!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was recommended by a friend so gave it a try as a reward for our Christmas shopping trip to Brighton. Very nice informal atmosphere, great choice at reasonable price. We had a Tapas set meal and an extra dish which was plenty for the two of us. The food was very tasty particularly the lamb curry. Very friendly staff. Looking forward to the new year sales as an excuse to visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandpflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giggling Squid Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Giggling Squid Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing