We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and outstanding service”
Review of The Townhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

The Townhouse Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the vibrant Kemp Town area of Brighton, The Townhouse provides a welcome change from stuffy restaurant dining, offering relaxed service and wonderful food. Utterly chilled out, The Townhouse not only has a dining room and bar in which to enjoy the company of friends, but a piano room where guests gather around the baby grand to sip wine and enjoy the tinkling of the ivories.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and outstanding service”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I visited Brighton for a short weekend break and managed to get a last minute table for 2 on a busy Saturday evening. It was our first time dining here and we were more than happy with our experience. We had duck terrine and mussels for starters...both were delicious, and pork belly & cheek for mains. What really made the evening for us was the attentive and friendly service. Nothing was too much to ask and everything was down with a smile. Thank you Townhouse, we will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilygracebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    51
    29
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediocre - promised more than it delivered”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner with high expectations based on reviews but the food was disappointing. The dishes were overly complicated, something simpler and tastier would have been much better (risotto with pork belly is a weird combination at best). It was reasonably priced but we wouldn't recommend this.

Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited for dinner having booked through Top Table which gave us 25% off the food.
I really enjoyed my meal, and the starter of prawns was excellent. I then had cod, followed by ice cream.
The Restaurant was very busy for a Monday evening, but good service.
We would return if we are in Brighton.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewell, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food outstanding and service excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Ok, so we were warned when we walked in that service might be a bit slow.
But.....it was anything but slow. On a Monday night the place was busy and the service was perfectly good and not slow in anyway whatsoever.
The food was outstanding. And the set menu which is on in the week was really great value.
Definitely a recommendation!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food and beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had an absolutely lovely meal at the Townhouse while staying near by. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was lovely - not too quiet, not too loud. The food was beautiful! We would definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29_Gems_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing