We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morrocan & Lebanese”
Review of Rotana

Rotana
Ranked #517 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Morrocan & Lebanese”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Went here in 2009 during UNISONs Health conference as a Morrocan virgin and was overwhelmed by the flavours. Went back this year and was so impressed went again the following night. Beautiful food with great flavours. The Tagine dishes are fantastic but the range of tastes from the mixed grill takes some beating. We are heading back down south for my birthday just to go here. If you enjoy curries this is a must for a whole new experience. The first night we went there were no tables available, so book to avoid disapointment. Take your own alcohol, the supermarket across the road has a good choice of wine and beer and makes the whole evening that much cheaper. Main courses are around £10/head inc rice, cous cous or fries.Great value for money, Not the finest of decors but very atmospheric, one of the best restaurants in Brighton.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveAstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Moroccan Food”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very good food, the pita bread a bit dry and dense but the hummus was very nice and garlicy. The entrees were very rich and tasty. We would eat there again for sure.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lot of rice and pulses for £100!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Starters were a mix of chicken wings,not spicy,falafels overdone and a small portion of cracked wheat salad but my wife's dish was very tasty.
Mains were basic tagines and had limited meat and on the bone-one dish was supposed to have a daal but we couldn't find it..!
House wine was average and the overall experience I wouldn't repeat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Tasty hot food in nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We both had really tasty lamb dishes, was good value in a chilled out atmosphere.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mjtp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was the second time we had been to Rotana and the second time we have had a lovely meal here. The restaurant is about 10 mins walk from the city centre on Preston Street - just up from the seafront beyond Regency square, and serves a mix of Persian and Lebanese food.

Despite being early on a Monday night the restaurant had a nice ambience and feel about it - something I remember from our previous visit when it was full and buzzing.

My starter of falaffel were delicious with just the right amount of spice and refreshing salad to set it off whilst my main of Kharouf Mahshi was a delicious mound of tender lamb with rice and ground meat, nuts and spices.

Portion sizes all round were very generous and thus neither of us had any room for dessert - shame as the baklava here is fabulous.

Service was good and attentive although it is worth bearing in mind that as all the food is freshly prepared, you do have to wait in between courses - Rotana is not like popping into your local kebab house!

Overall an excellent evening with great tasty food and definitely seeking out amongst the standard seaside fare.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotana also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing