We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average.”

Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina
Ranked #165 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the waterfront at Brighton Marina, Café Rouge embodies the style and je ne sais quoi of French dining, offering a winning combination of stunning sea views, great food and a unique selection of wines. With a fantastic menu filled with delicious innovative takes on the classics and dishes inspired by different regions of France, there's something to suit everyone.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Long wait for a table even though it was very empty, very slow service and we had to chase the food and drink, staff who looked as though they would rather be anywhere else. The food was ok and the marina is always a nice atmosphere but it only just scrapes an average rating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CricketJames48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    120
    59
    43
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Birthday meal..”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a great meal and service, despite there being a Christmas party in at the same time.
Good location and a nice change from the one in the centre of Brighton.
Had a voucher for a free bottle of bubbly, but forgot to bring it with us, shame, as it was a great freebie sent by email just for registering with their website, worth doing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barcelonatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can the staff ever Crack a Smile?”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I do truly think that the food at Cafe Rouge is generally very good, BUT, we are always, ALWAYS, disappointed in the service at whichever branch we have visited. This is the reason it is probably only once a year that we give the Cafe Rouge brand another go, once the bad taste in our mouths (from the staff's unsmiling faces, not the food!!) has dissipated!
Cafe Rouge at Brighton Marina was not an exception to our usual experience.
We waited at the door for several minutes before one of the 3 staff standing directly in front of us and engaged in chit chat came to greet us. The waitress vaguely flung her hand in the direction of a cluster of tables where we could (or should?) sit and then strode off. We then had another wait for the breakfast menus to arrive on flimsy, tatty & torn card.
Upon finally ordering, it was refreshing that we were able to request a slight variation on the dish that we had chosen to suit our palate better - chain restaurants are quite often so rigid about individual requests. Our lattes arrived tout suite but our eggs benedict took an age, while frustratingly, several later arrivals were being served around us! Upon arrival of said dishes, it was disappointing that to find that the food was only just luke warm. It gave the impression that perhaps the dishes had been waiting on the side to be served up for some time. As per our usual experience with Cafe Rouge service, it was impossible to catch the waitress's eye, and so we actually decided to just eat as was, rather than returning the food. Despite the temperature, it would be impossible to criticise the flavour! The sauce was exquisite with a light lemony tang to it!
We finished our breakfast rather quickly for fear of it going completely stone cold but then again were unable to catch anyone's eye to request the bill. When we did finally receive it (I think having our hats & scarves back on and shuffling our chairs back may have triggered some action!), it was amazing how quickly picking the money up from the table was actionned!!!We barely had time to register the look of disappointment at the realisation of no tip, the movement was so quick!! Had the whole of our service been as fast with perhaps the mere hint of a smile, a tip would have absolutely been on that silver dish!!!
So once again, we will probably decide not to visit Cafe Rouge as we like to feel welcome and looked after by a friendly, smiling team when we go out to eat, but I am sure that in another 12 months, we will once again feel the urge to give it another go, just in case the Tragus group have cheered their staff up!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cloud9Cheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely Food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very nice food with service to match. The only thing I would say is the portions are small for the price you pay and it would have been nice if dishes we had were served with some side salad or vegetables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes, east sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food with Great service”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We regularly visit one of the chain of Cafe Rouge, but this is my favourite. The Marina is a lovely setting and the food here is always good. We battled through the torrential rain to a very quiet restaurant, about 5. I usually have the steak but the grill was broken but was more than happy with my half roast chicken and fries, along with the starter of Camembert and a nice bottle of red wine. My wife had the Chicken Parfait followed by the Beef Bourguignon, all very good. The service was excellent, although being the only ones there, it would have been hard not to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skip091968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing