We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking and great outlook.”

Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina
Ranked #151 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront at Brighton Marina, Café Rouge embodies the style and je ne sais quoi of French dining, offering a winning combination of stunning sea views, great food and a unique selection of wines. With a fantastic menu filled with delicious innovative takes on the classics and dishes inspired by different regions of France, there's something to suit everyone.
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Free parking and great outlook.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

There was a varied choice of dishes and unobtrusive background music. We enjoyed our food except the large amount of fat left floating on the top of the gravy for my Lamb shanks.
Park on Levels 5 or 6 for direct access to the upper promenade where CR is located.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PnPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    128
    65
    45
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have always been impressed by the cafe rouge but this was a letdown. There was nothing actually wrong although service was not impressive. The impression was that they had invested most of the money in writing a menu that would sell food. Presumably with Brighton's millions of visitors every year they do not feel it is necessary to worry about people revisiting. We won't be.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonethrutubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had table for ten booked for a birthday party,some travelled 300 miles from yorkshire for this special family meal,wish we have had fish and chips on the seafront instead! Starters,not too bad,but when it came to main meals,it was total disaster.After waiting nearly 1 hour between courses,6 of us got our meals,the other 4 had to wait,by the time theirs came out,the other 6 had finished,2 of the last 4 meals were Chicken,which was served nearly raw!After complaining,cafe rouge knocked 20 measly quid off the bill.Not good enuf,of course the 2 raw chicken dishes were not eaten,and after been told by management they would take the meals away and re cook them,we told them not to bother,as this was nearly another hour after the 1st lot of meals were finished.So 2 of our party,ended up leaving very hungry and ordered a takeaway when we got home.The Manager said he was sorry,but they were busy that night,NOT good ENOUGH! So,no,I would NOT recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Resored my faith in Cafe Rouge”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Popped in for a quick lunch and was pleasantly suprised after a bad experience in Portsmouth.
This restaurant is in a lovely location overlooking the Marina. I had the chicken caesar salad which was very nice. my son had the chargrilled chicken baguette and enjoyed it. Portion sizes were generous and the service was good. Overall good value for money. My only disappointment is that they no longer take the 'Tastecard' but I understand that this may no longer be possible due to the economic climate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove sussex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Oh dear food was great and with 40% off the bill you couldn't go wrong i had Lemon sole my other 6 friend had Steak,never had bad service in the Rouge always been nice,but tonight who ever the waitress was in the grey trouser suit let the Rouge down,not a smile nothing we tried to have a joke with her but nothing.Food is very good tho

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simba1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing