We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, was expecting better”
Review of Breeze Brasserie

Breeze Brasserie
Ranked #56 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A contemporary restaurant with a menu to suit all tastes and budgets, combining English, French and Italian cuisine. Comfortable seating, in a relaxed warm setting located in the heart of Brighton. Just a few minutes walk from the train station, and 1 minute from closest car park (trafalgar st car park). Serving cocktails seven days a week, as well a good range of beer and wine, and of course our comprehensive breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. Serving our award winning roast every Sunday as well.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average, was expecting better”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First impression was nice, the menu looked appealing and the reviews attractive. We decided to book for a Saturday night. First thing my partner criticised was the fact that an European restaurant had a Thai decoration but well, why not?!
We ordered a deep fried camember to share and were quite disappointed that the runny cheese wasn't coming with any bread...
The pork belly was pretty good though even though we were expecting bigger portions.
Service was quite good. Overall average, I don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    121
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Recent reviews led us to this gem of a restaurant, away from the mainstream of Brighton eateries. Our detour was well worth it. Interesting decor, unusually good music and friendly but not obsequious service were all an excellent start. I passed on a starter but got to taste the mussels and the spicy prawns- both excellent. My fillet steak ( a proper medium rare) with garlic prawns was one of the best steaks I have ever had! We had to try the desserts and were not disappointed with a scrumptious banoffee cheesecake and melting chocolate fondant with first-rate ice-cream. Good, reasonable wine too. All in all, one of those meals out where you are left with a good feeling- a perfect balance of excellent food and value for money, so you don't feel full but somehow guilty!! We'll be back. Soon.!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneylaBretonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Usual excellent standard”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went last Saturday late afternoon and once again the food & service were first class and excellent value for money. Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Brighton”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Since moving to Brighton 2 years ago, we've probably been to Breeze far more often than we should but Bruce (the owner) provides such consistently excellent food and such a varied menu that we find it hard to think of a reason to go anywhere else. It is a friendly, comfortable atmosphere in a great location on the edge of the North Laine, and close to the station, offering good value for money. The food is outstanding - the fillet steaks are fabulous - melt in the mouth and really generous portion sizes. The lamb miele is a favourite, but it is usually really difficult to choose as there are so many good dishes on offer. The starters are also very tempting, so much so that I frequently order multiple starters instead of a main, and the puddings always tempting. This place is equally good for couples, friends or families and it is well worth heading that bit further down Trafalgar Street to eat at this little gem of a brasserie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Withheld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the walk!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

After reading other reviews of Breeeze Brasserie, we set out to find this eaterie, tired and very hungry after a good long stint of retail therapy! Turned out to be definitely worth the walk.
Shown to a nice table by the window, with the sun & blue sky outside enhancing the light & airy setting. Lovely relaxing background music complimented well the ambiance. Service was polite, attentive but without being intrusive. Decent white house wine, (Chilean sauvignon blanc), thankfully not served in chunky wine glasses! Menu included plenty that appealed. Food beautifully presented, good size portions & absolutely delicious. (I had the Chicken Breeze which I would definitely have again, followed by a very good Bannoffee Pie.) Good coffees to round it all off.
Made to feel very welcome. Will return! Next time will sample a cocktail!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuralGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breeze Brasserie also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Breeze Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing