We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topps Hotel - definitely the Top for us!”
Review of Topps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topps
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in Brighton last weekend with our friends as it was my birthday; two other couples as well as myself and hubby, all of us staying in the same hotel. I was worried by some of the reviews I'd read as I'm a light sleeper, but I slept soundly both nights. The room we were in was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom, and the shower was hot and powerful. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were rather warm and as we were on the side of the building it was difficult to get much fresh air, but I would much rather be warm than cold! The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were able to park easily in the below-ground multi-storey opposite the hotel. The hotel is situated in Regency Square where there is a nice park area to sit in the sunshine, it's also close to the seafront, literally just a few minutes walk from the Lanes and the town centre. We would definitely stay again! Next time we will ask for a sea view however as the views were fabulous on a lovely sunny day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyflower1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. the exterior is very nice, and the location is ideal, as it is right on the seafront and opposite a multistory car park (although be warned, the car park smells AWFUL). On arrival the gentleman on the front desk was extremely helpful and advised us on parking.

The building itself seemed very clean and had a friendly atmosphere, the gentleman showed me to the room and the tea/coffee making facilities (none available in the room unfortunately). The room it self was very clean and modern, although it was only small, it was suitable for a 'bed to sleep in' so to speak.
After booking on Laterooms.com, i had noted the noise warning and came prepared with earplugs. We were on the ground floor facing the back of the hotel, and although there was noticeable noise (only on the saturday night), nothing i found to be really disruptive (apart from the pigeon that decided to sit outside out window and cluck for an hour at 7am).
The bathroom was also very clean, the shower was sufficient, although there is no slip mat which could be hazardous for some.
The only complaint i have would be that our second night there, the room became very hot and stuffy due to the heating being on constantly, however this may have just been personal preference.
All in all, we had a great weekend stay. I would stay in this hotel again if the price was a little lower.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Simple and straight forward hotel. TV annoyed me as had to be turned on and off at the mains to get it working but the hotel was a nice environment and the location was great. No restaurant or bar and the hotel only offers doubles beds in all rooms which I found unique/odd. Overall, Topps is a nice hotel. Basic but very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

So I took my hubby there for 2 nights for his birthday. On arrival they were so welcoming and knew exactly who we were. They took the rest of the payment and asked to take us to our room. We were shown where we could get free tea, coffe and water. The whole place was as clean as a newly built house. Literally everything was perfect. As we arrived late we brought our own food and they happily microwaved it for us. The nite was peaceful. Just on the corner of the hotel they're Is a lovely breakfast place that sell the full English and round the back of the hotel there are countless restaurants. There are reviews on here that talk about noice and so on but honestly it's Brighton and it really isn't that bad. In fact it added to the lovely atmosphere. Over all I would rate the hotel 10 out of 10. It was a truly stunning weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheilashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this room only accomadation and really liked it. we stayed in a room not yet refurbished- they are currently doing a refurb of all rooms, our room was spacious and furnished to a high standard. Nice people too. We got a peek of one of the refurbished rooms as the door was open and it was lovely, very classy and of a high standard. We go to brighton now and again and will definatley book topps. We have stayed in several b&bs there and this was the best by far. Would definatley recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went for my birthday. Very nice clean room and so is reception ect. Free tea and coffee, staff are always willing to help. Outside the front door we had a tramp constantly asleep on the step to main door and lots of others in other door ways down the road. But overall perfect for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the top (3rd) floor room, which was clean and minimally decorated with a lovely view over the square and towards the sea to one side. The hotel is advertised with honesty and doesn't suggest it has a bar or anything else, so you shouldn't really be disappointed to find them lacking. Take any soft drinks/wine and ask at the reception for plastic cups, there is a tea/coffee machine on the ground floor, but no facilities at all in the room. It served our purposes perfectly well and I thought it was ok value for money. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluestarAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#30 of 43 in Brighton
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 43 in Brighton
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#28 of 43 in Brighton
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lanes Hotel
The Lanes Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topps

Address: 17 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $62 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topps is situated in the heart of Regency Square in three beautifully restored Regency period listed-buildings, ideally located within a short walking distance of Brighton Pier, Churchill Square Shopping Centre, Brighton Conference Centre, the Lanes and all that Brighton has to offer. The beach is less than 100 yards away and there is a multi-storey underground car park at our door-step. Regency Square is one of the oldest squares in Brighton directly opposite the old West Pier, soon to be home to the i360, a 600 foot tall observation tower.Topps has recently undergone extensive refurbishment. We have carefully restored the exterior of our buildings to their former glory. Most of our generously sized en-suite guestrooms have been renovated to a very high modern standard. Features include real wood flooring, flatscreen TVs with Freeview, comfortable new beds and well appointed bathrooms. A number of our guestrooms overlook Regency Square and have views of the sea. Some of our Executive Rooms are air-conditioned and we are working to extend this feature to all the rooms.Nearby Preston Street is home to many bars, clubs, discos and restaurants. The newly restored Victorian Bandstand is close-by where weddings and dancing fans take the center stage most weekends. If you are keen to try "Slacklining", the latest craze, you will find plenty of enthusiasts practising or showing off their skills on the beach in front of the old West Pier.Our aim is to provide our guests with modern, clean and comfortable accommodation. Based on feedbacks, our room-only rates are excellent value for money in Central Brighton for the high quality accommodation we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Topps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topps Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing