We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap renovation felt like a hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Topps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topps
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap renovation felt like a hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was big and a good location and very clean. But it felt like a poor mans ikea, cheap looking. Definitely not worth the £120 a night. If we had paid £80 then the review would have been better. Not suited for a romantic weekend. We were two friends so it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppsBrighton, Manager at Topps, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Cheap renovation? If only the writer knew how much it has costed to renovate the room in question. In any case, the reviewer also simply has no idea what is a fair price for a hotel or a hostel room in Brighton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
8
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived late i Brighton and were lucky that this hotel was available. We stayed in a double room. Plenty of space and a very nice bathroom. Owner was helpful and friendly. All we could ask for in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently for 2 nights for part of our honeymoon. It was perfect for what we needed. A very clean room, very modern.

The hotel is very basic but you couldn't ask for more on the seafront in Brighton for such a reasonable rate.

Loved the hotel, the staff were very friendly - would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My partner and I booked a two night stay here for a weekend away to Brighton. As we live in London and Brighton is only half an hour away..it was a last minute idea. When we arrived outside we didn't expect it to be as nice as it was inside. We didn't arrive until 11.30pm and they waited around to let us in (I believe last checking was 11pm) the entrance was clean and spacious and were told about the free coffee and tea vending machine. we were shown to our room which was on the ground floor right next to the entrance and I believe was a superior room. It was clean, modern and spacious. We had a lovely clean en-suite a table by the window as well as a dresser table with a mirror...so plenty of places to sit. The bed was very comfortable and even though we were right by the entrance we had a fantastic nights sleep both nights. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the new pier but when you walk along the seafront to get there it doesn't matter....the view is lovely and there were shops all along the way. We had a fantastic time and would like to thank the owner for a fantastic stay...would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamkellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Booked at the last minute to stay on a Saturday night and had a great stay.
I even got a text asking me about my ETA which was a nice personal touch
Lovely room on the top floor, low ceiling though not good if you are over 6 foot but the web site advised me of that, the room was bright, modern, very clean, well maintained and spacious. We loved the way it looked.
Friendly check-in and very helpful, I think we were checked in by the owner Mr Simon Tan
Hotel is very handy for central Brighton.
I forgot to get a receipt when I checked in and they kindly e-mailed me one.
Hope to go back

Room Tip: 168 is lovely but you need to be under 6'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Beautifully rennovated georgain house. Rooms are spacious and have a small table and chairs providing somewhere other than your bed to sit and eat. Staff very friendly.

No breakfast provided but there are plenty of lovely cafes on the beach front a few mins walk away. Quite close to central area of Brighton. Various coffee shops, pubs, cafes etc just one road over.

Pleanty of safe parking in the underground car park on the square (£12.5 per 24 hours)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowanrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked one nights stay for my boyfriend and myself, having never visited Brighton before.
For once the room was exactly as it looked in the pictures, really clean, and the Air Con was a life saver over a very hot weekend. I was warned that the room overlooked the street, and could be noisy. It was a little but not overly so- it was just music and you couldnt hear any rowdy people below, it didn't affect our stay.
A great location for wandering around, or just wanting to be by the sea.
We had a great stay, I would make sure that you are aware that it really is a 'room only' stay you will be booking- not even tea and coffee facilities. This isn't really an issue as there are so many great places to eat and drink in Brighton if you just have a little wander.
Overall we had a great stay, and will be using Topps next time we visit Brighton.

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor may have been noisy, try get a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topps

Property: Topps
Address: 17 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topps is situated in the heart of Regency Square in three beautifully restored Regency period listed-buildings, ideally located within a short walking distance of Brighton Pier, Churchill Square Shopping Centre, Brighton Conference Centre, the Lanes and all that Brighton has to offer. The beach is less than 100 yards away and there is a multi-storey underground car park at our door-step. Regency Square is one of the oldest squares in Brighton directly opposite the old West Pier, soon to be home to the i360, a 600 foot tall observation tower.Topps has recently undergone extensive refurbishment. We have carefully restored the exterior of our buildings to their former glory. Most of our generously sized en-suite guestrooms have been renovated to a very high modern standard. Features include real wood flooring, flatscreen TVs with Freeview, comfortable new beds and well appointed bathrooms. A number of our guestrooms overlook Regency Square and have views of the sea. Some of our Executive Rooms are air-conditioned and we are working to extend this feature to all the rooms.Nearby Preston Street is home to many bars, clubs, discos and restaurants. The newly restored Victorian Bandstand is close-by where weddings and dancing fans take the center stage most weekends. If you are keen to try "Slacklining", the latest craze, you will find plenty of enthusiasts practising or showing off their skills on the beach in front of the old West Pier.Our aim is to provide our guests with modern, clean and comfortable accommodation. Based on feedbacks, our room-only rates are excellent value for money in Central Brighton for the high quality accommodation we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Topps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topps Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing