We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor room, poor hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor room, poor hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Imperial in Brighton in July 2014. The price seemed good as well as the location however after coming back to our room in the evening and spending the night my opinion was changed.

The bathroom was dirty and it was clear that the cleaners had done the minimum. The toilet and bath were both stained where they had not been cleaned regularly which is an absolute minimum that you would expect. The wallpaper on the ceiling was pealing off and the window frames looked like they'd seen better days and could definitely do with repainting.

The bedroom was also very disappointing as the room itself was advertised as a double but was more like a glorified single. Both my girlfriend and I aren't the tallest people in the world and yet we both found ourselves falling out of the bed throughout the night.

The noise was another problem. I myself was woken up a number of times by other guests coming back later in the evening. Our room was on the 4th floor and situated directly opposite the lift and the bedroom door itself had a large gap between it and the floor which meant noise could easily pass under and disturb us. The building work outside was also not mentioned when we booked and the builders woke us both us at around 8am.

I expect some real improvements to be made if they expect people to come back for another stay and will also be filling a complaint with the manager via email as a result of our stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
While we were sorry that you experienced a number of challenges with your recent stay, equally the room was provided at an extremely competitive rate and with our extensive refurbishment program it is clear that the windows will be refurbished

Room 404 offers delightful sea views and sits comfortably along the southern elevation of the hotel

We are disheartened that you did not make your concerns known during your stay which prevented our management team reaching out to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    187
    119
    72
    65
See reviews for
62
190
79
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel is located in a quiet area very close to the seafront. Was upgraded to superior room without having to pay extra. Room was really spacious with a great four poster bed, quiet and comfortable. Huge bathroom with a fantastic bath tub with massage functions, great breakfast, very nice waiters. Would stay there again any time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We were truly humbled to read such a stellar review and thank you so much

The Imperial strives to deliver a value for money experience and while the current refurbishment program imposes additional demands on the hotel and its staff, we are doing our best to make material improvements for the benefit of all our patrons

Hopefully we can see you back again before too long. The four poster is waiting.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was in this hotel with a group of people when at 8:00 AM I started to hear hammering on the outside, the facade. Later I went to talk to the manager to comment that I wanted to make a complaint about it and took me to another room for fear that other people listen to me.
I put the complaint but what has annoyed me most is that she has not asked me forgiveness.
I just wanted to comment here to let people know where you are going to come and that if they have something to say will not say anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Regrettably we cannot make any sense of this review nor can we identify with the guest concerned. This is truly disheartening as it has denied us the opportunity of reaching out to them or commenting meaningfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

web site stated extensive exterior work, Not entire Hotel covered in scaffold. Rude staff and over complicated sighn in ''you will not be given key without your code,

HOTTEST DAY IN YEAR -sign says do not open windows

staff say because it will 'make room dirty' not interest in our comfort.

Room smelt of solvent --extractor fan not working

builders using grinder

Nap.... 2 builders looking in

sleep (aloud to open window now its not hot anymore)


Morning-

Woken to men looking in window.

we complained went for breakfast

return en still there (we have politely complained)

after wandering the streets for hours we felt we could come back and asked to see the manager.

we were told he is not here not contactable but we can fill out for they will fax..... ??if he has a fax he has a phone)

at bno point listened to and they poiunted to web site as if we should have known.

our room was an horrendous mission to find as was fire escape


we continued to complain

roomm ceiling stained bed sheets stained they took our Flanell!!!! final straw was when we didnt want to go to room so sat in street......


Staff were awful total ignored everything we said and continued parroting that we knew room woiul;d be like this.


WE HAVE A RIGHT TO ENJOY OUR PURCHACE!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilbymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We consider this review to be apocryphal, at best, and have no intention commenting in respect of the 'points' raised

Regrettably, these 'guests' elected to bring their own particular problems into the hotel and in so doing have done themselves a great disservice

We have commented extensively on the important building works being completed at the Imperial which will be to the benefit of all our stakeholders. We are pleased to report good progress is being made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked by phone for two nights Sat 28th June.
When we arrived scaffolding in place to front of building: not mentioned when booking.
Double room tiny.
Bar closes 11pm but reception can supply some bottled drinks.
Woken by workers just outside our 4th floor window just after 8am Monday morning.
Lots of noise from other guests : not guests fault even walking on floor in corridor was loud with the squeeky floorboards, and just moving arounfd in adjacent room.
Would not reccomend whilst building work going on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
While you are right to highlight the ongoing works as we have done here and, importantly, on our website our builders are making good progress and we should start to see the scaffolding being lowered,floor by floor, very shortly

There is never a good time to undertake major external refurbishment works which are weather dependent but the end result will, we hope, be an even better hotel

We were of course saddened to learn you faced some challenges with your stay but even so are glad you found a number of positive aspects
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

To be fair to the Imperial, we weren't expecting too much for the price. It was one of the cheapest in Brighton at around £90 a night... and were only using it to sleep in.

The room I had was on the stairs and a little on the pokey side but it had everything you need. The sink was in the room by the bed and not the shower room, but having been to Uni it wasn't a big deal for me.

Like you could guess from the other reviews, there was a lot of scaffolding up but they're obviously renovating and you can't see it when you're staring at the back of your eye lids.

Be prepared to get taxi's to most places. It's about 25 minute walk into to town but you can't really get lost. Taxi's were about £6.50 in and about £10 back (at 4:00am). It's got a good shopping centre and it makes for a great night out. Go to Dirty Blondes if you want something upmarket (£9 a cocktail) or even the Fish Bowl was good for a casual drink. Coalition was, erm, interesting. Was nearly started on in the queue because I refused to let some chavs push in... but don't let that put you off (unless you're 30+, then maybe try somewhere else).

Anyway, aside from the decor (which was really dated), the staff were nice and helpful. I'd recommend trying to stay closer to the town centre... but when you only book three days before you can't be surprised not to find any spare room at short notice. Would like to see the whole place done out back it'll be some time before it's all complete.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid remarks which were balanced and much appreciated as a result. The Imperial is, to some extent, work in progress and we are determined to see our plans through to fruition for the benefit of all stakeholders

We appreciate there are many travel options for visiting the City so thank you for choosing the Imperial. We are delighted you are minded to return before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stay in this hotel regularly when I work in Brighton. The staff are always helpful and accommodating and it is a safe, quiet place to stay close enough to the centre to walk from the station (30 minutes walk). Towels, bedding and room are always clean and the price is amazing for a single room in Brighton. The hotel is looking a bit worn around the edges but the service is excellent and I have always been well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn so many thanks for both your kind words and your continued custom

Once the external works are complete we can turn our attention to the bedrooms which will lift the Imperial further

Meanwhile, renewed thanks for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Property: Imperial
Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing